Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
BlueJayofEvilOffline
22 Post subject: [SOLVED] flashplugin-nonfree on amd64  PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 16:36



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 5

Status: Offline
Is there a way to install flashplugin-nonfree on an amd64 installation? Apt gives me this:
      Code:
# apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Suggested packages:
  konqueror-nsplugins x-ttcidfont-conf msttcorefonts ttf-xfree86-nonfree flashplugin-nonfree-extrasound
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  flashplugin-nonfree
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 12 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/18.0kB of archives.
After this operation, 135kB of additional disk space will be used.
Selecting previously deselected package flashplugin-nonfree.
(Reading database ... 101355 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking flashplugin-nonfree (from .../flashplugin-nonfree_1%3a2.8.1_amd64.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Setting up flashplugin-nonfree (1:2.8.1) ...
ERROR: 64 bit player temporarily not supported
More information might be available at:
  http://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer

Apt says it's installed after that, yet it doesn't work. I removed the package afterwards.
Then I thought about using nspluginwrapper, but that requires ia32-libs.
      Code:
# apt-get install nspluginwrapper
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  ia32-libs ia32-libs-gtk
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  ia32-libs ia32-libs-gtk nspluginwrapper
0 upgraded, 3 newly installed, 0 to remove and 12 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/48.6MB of archives.
After this operation, 120MB of additional disk space will be used.


Is there an "official" way to use flashplugin-nonfree on aptosid?

_________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1100T
16GB DDR3 1333MHz RAM
Integrated Radeon HD 4250
PowerColor AMD Radeom HD 6970 PCS+
Realtek ALC892 Chipset
320GB EIDE & 3TB SATA III hard drives
LITE-ON iHBS212 optical drive


Last edited by BlueJayofEvil on 15.09.2010, 17:07; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: flashplugin-nonfree on amd64  PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 16:43



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
http://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer under the header: Debian Testing 'Squeeze' amd64
be warned: you will invite all security holes that flashplugin-nonfree has to offer.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
BlueJayofEvilOffline
Post subject: RE: flashplugin-nonfree on amd64  PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 16:50



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 5

Status: Offline
Thanks, devil. I was skeptical about that page since it says to use third-party scripts and procedures. I'll give it a shot.

UPDATE: I had to slightly modify the procedure from that wiki. Here's what I did:
1)
      Code:
# apt-get install fakeroot binutils nspluginwrapper ia32-libs

2) (From the wiki) Download this script: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashplugin-nonfree/ia32-libs-workaround-499043-squeeze.sh and run it as a normal user.
3)
      Code:
# dpkg -i --force-overwrite ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+squeeze1_amd64.deb

The original command didn't work so I had to use the --force-overwite parameter.
4) Install this package: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashplugin-nonfree/flashplugin-nonfree_10.1.82.76.1_amd64.deb

After doing those steps it worked.

_________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1100T
16GB DDR3 1333MHz RAM
Integrated Radeon HD 4250
PowerColor AMD Radeom HD 6970 PCS+
Realtek ALC892 Chipset
320GB EIDE & 3TB SATA III hard drives
LITE-ON iHBS212 optical drive
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
d.v.e.Offline
Post subject: RE: flashplugin-nonfree on amd64  PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 18:34



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 7

Status: Offline
hi,don't work in my system :

dpkg: informazioni su flashplugin-nonfree_10.1.82.76.1_amd64.deb che contiene flashplugin-nonfree:
flashplugin64-installer è in conflitto con flashplugin-nonfree
flashplugin-nonfree (versione 2:10.1.82.76.1) sta per essere installato.
dpkg: errore nell'elaborare flashplugin-nonfree_10.1.82.76.1_amd64.deb (--install):
pacchetti in conflitto - flashplugin-nonfree non verrà installato
Si sono verificati degli errori nell'elaborazione:
flashplugin-nonfree_10.1.82.76.1_amd64.deb
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
BlueJayofEvilOffline
Post subject: RE: flashplugin-nonfree on amd64  PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 18:45



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 5

Status: Offline
Did you install flashplugin-nonfree from the default repos before trying this? If so, you need to remove it first.

_________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1100T
16GB DDR3 1333MHz RAM
Integrated Radeon HD 4250
PowerColor AMD Radeom HD 6970 PCS+
Realtek ALC892 Chipset
320GB EIDE & 3TB SATA III hard drives
LITE-ON iHBS212 optical drive
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: flashplugin-nonfree on amd64  PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 18:46



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
please put LANG=C in front of your command , so we get EN output.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 20:43



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 291

Status: Offline
There is a new 64 bit version for Linux
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html

I am not sure if this is affected by the latest security issues.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 20:46



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      snvv wrote:
There is a new 64 bit version for Linux
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html

I am not sure if this is affected by the latest security issues.


if that one works as advertised that could very well make the ia32 workaround hinkyjinks moot.

So I'd say there are really no apps left to prevent me from switching to 64 bit Aptosid Smile

As I really don't use Skype I won't really miss it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 20:59



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 291

Status: Offline
DeepDayze just tested. It works perfectly.
I copied the libflashplayer.so in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and chmod 755 libflashplayer.so and that's it all. Tested in all "difficult" sites, even BBC & Bloomberg.

EDIT-1
However, please first read "Security Advisory for Flash Player"
http://www.adobe.com/support/security/a ... 10-03.html

EDIT-2
This version is 10.1.82.76 and therefore is affected. However, they say the target is windows (but who knows).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
clearyOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: flashplugin-nonfree on amd64  PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 22:39



Joined: 2010-08-27
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
      BlueJayofEvil wrote:
Thanks, devil. I was skeptical about that page since it says to use third-party scripts and procedures. I'll give it a shot.
...


You're right to be sceptical - moving to Dragon's Den...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.09.2010, 01:02



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      snvv wrote:
DeepDayze just tested. It works perfectly.
I copied the libflashplayer.so in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and chmod 755 libflashplayer.so and that's it all. Tested in all "difficult" sites, even BBC & Bloomberg.

EDIT-1
However, please first read "Security Advisory for Flash Player"
http://www.adobe.com/support/security/a ... 10-03.html

EDIT-2
This version is 10.1.82.76 and therefore is affected. However, they say the target is windows (but who knows).


Good news then!

Great that it works though straight out of the box without any sort of workaround or nspluginwrapper. Hopefully they'll have a new build that is the actual latest. But for time being this build should suffice then
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
HeSaidOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.09.2010, 02:08
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 56
Location: southwest Florida, USA
Status: Offline
@ snvv
Thank you for the tip on the 64-bit flashplugin. It does indeed work well.
Hopefully a more secure version will be available in two weeks.
--
Neal

_________________
Registered Linux User # 159445
aptosid 64-bit Lenovo Thinkpad Edge
aptosid 64-bit HP dv6000 laptop
aptosid 32-bit eeePC 900A
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
d.v.e.Offline
19 Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.09.2010, 14:42



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 7

Status: Offline
      snvv wrote:
There is a new 64 bit version for Linux
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html

I am not sure if this is affected by the latest security issues.

Thx so much
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
chameleonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.09.2010, 18:55



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 8
Location: luxembourg
Status: Offline
new 64bit works for me too Cool
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
broweOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 17.09.2010, 00:41



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 152
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
I pinned the last known flash 64 -- version 10.0.42.34 and it has been working fine so far with no issues. I do look forward to removing the pin once the new flash is in the repo. Thanks for testing... anyone care to create a deb package for this?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio