Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
DionOffline
Post subject: Logitech Quickcam Pro 4000 not working [SOLVED]  PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 13:04



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 9
Location: Minderhout
Status: Offline
Last weekend I got a new PC and of course installed aptosid to it. But I can't seem to get my webcam working properly. It's a Logitech Quickcam Pro 4000 which used to work on my old PC in aptosid, but doesn't on my new one, maybe it has something to do with having a 64 bits system now?

The only application where I got the webcam working without problems is guvcview. The webcam does *not* work in:

- camorama
- kopete
- amsn
- ekiga

The command line output I get when starting the above programs (or trying to access the video settings) is:

      Code:
libv4l2: error turning on stream: No space left on device
VIDIOC_STREAMON error 28, No space left on device


Anyone has any clues on how to solve this?

Thank you!

Some relevant info:

      Code:
dion@desktop:~$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 001 Device 009: ID 0922:0020 Dymo-CoStar Corp.
Bus 001 Device 014: ID 059b:0370 Iomega Corp.
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 013: ID 046d:08b2 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 4000
Bus 001 Device 015: ID 046d:c505 Logitech, Inc. Cordless Mouse+Keyboard Receiver
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 04e8:328e Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd CLP-310 Color Laser Printer
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 058f:6377 Alcor Micro Corp. Multimedia Card Reader


      Code:
dion@desktop:~$ lsmod | grep pwc
pwc                    77112  0
videodev               63102  1 pwc
usbcore               135929  10 snd_usb_audio,snd_usbmidi_lib,usbhid,pwc,usblp,xhci_hcd,usb_storage,uas,ehci_hcd


      Code:
dion@desktop:~$ lsmod | grep video
videodev               63102  1 pwc
v4l2_compat_ioctl32     6348  1 videodev
i2c_core               18292  6 videodev,radeon,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_algo_bit,i2c_i801


      Code:
dion@desktop:~$ infobash -v
Host/Kernel/OS  "desktop" running Linux 2.6.38-2.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-01 Γῆρας - kde-full - (201102052200) ]
CPU Info        4x Intel Core i5-2500K @ clocked at [ 1900.000 MHz ]
Videocard       ATI Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5500 Series]  X.Org 1.9.5  [ 1280x1024@60.0hz ]
Processes 167 | Uptime 5:23 | Memory 1074.3/3951.7MB | HDD Size 2000GB (34%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on AMD REDWOOD | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.35


Last edited by Dion on 07.04.2011, 18:56; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: Logitech Quickcam Pro 4000 not working in most programs  PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 14:23
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Sounds like you have /tmp on an extra partition which is full.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
DionOffline
Post subject: RE: Logitech Quickcam Pro 4000 not working in most programs  PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 15:29



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 9
Location: Minderhout
Status: Offline
Hi Chris,

/tmp is on /dev/sda1, my root partition which is 14 Gb, 8,3 Gb of which is used now, so there's plenty of space left there. So the cause must be something else. Also it would not explain why the cam would function in guvcview.

I googled a bit and some suggestions led to a problem with USB 2.0 vs. USB 1.1 and UHCI or something but I don't understand it.

Greetings,
Dion
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: Logitech Quickcam Pro 4000 not working in most programs  PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 15:37
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Did you try different usb ports? If you use a port replicator, try without.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
DionOffline
Post subject: RE: Logitech Quickcam Pro 4000 not working in most programs  PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 16:22



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 9
Location: Minderhout
Status: Offline
I tried different USB ports yes, some are USB 2.0 and some are USB 3.0 here. No difference. I am not using a port replicator.

Greetings,
Dion
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
DionOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2011, 18:55



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 9
Location: Minderhout
Status: Offline
Solved: it appeared all the USB-ports on the back of my machine are on the same bus (bus 001). When I plugged in the cam on one of the USB-ports in the front (bus 002) it worked!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio