Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
seagullOffline
Post subject: [solved] Manual kvm Chapter  PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 14:47



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 42

Status: Offline
      Code:
apt-get install qemu-kvm

qemu-utils is also needed! So
      Code:
apt-get install qemu-kvm qemu-utils

should be written in the manual.


Last edited by seagull on 03.10.2010, 10:39; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject: RE: Manual kvm Chapter  PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 14:57
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
Thank you. It's noted by the manual crew.

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
bluewaterOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.10.2010, 03:32
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 58
Location: Hobart, Australia
Status: Offline
seagull,

done and online.

Thank you,
Trevor

_________________
If all else fails, get the instructions back out of the rubbish bin and read them. http://manual.aptosid.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DionOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 18:20



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 9
Location: Minderhout
Status: Offline
Another addition:

The manual states:

      Quote:
Prerequisites

To ascertain whether your hardware supports KVM, ensure that KVM is enabled in the BIOS (in some cases on an Intel VT or AMD-V system it may not evident as to where the switch is, therefore assume that it is in a KVM state). The way to check is in a console run:
cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep --color=always 'vmx|svm'

If you see svm or vmx in the cpu flags field, your system supports KVM. (Otherwise go back to the BIOS if you believe it is supported and check again, else search the internet as to where in the BIOS menus KVM 'enable' could be hiding).


I typed the command in console as stated above and got the vmx flags, but this only seems to mean the processor itself supports virtualisation on kernel base. But it doesn't tell you if the virtualisation is in fact enabled in the BIOS. I still had to enable it. This point is not very clear in the above description.

Something else: I don't really see the point in wanting to run an aptosid.iso in a VM in aptosid. A short how-to on installing windows in a VM would be much appreciated.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
ghstryderOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 18:36



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 94
Location: Detroit
Status: Offline
      Quote:
I typed the command in console as stated above and got the vmx flags, but this only seems to mean the processor itself supports virtualisation on kernel base. But it doesn't tell you if the virtualisation is in fact enabled in the BIOS. I still had to enable it. This point is not very clear in the above description.


      Quote:
ensure that KVM is enabled in the BIOS...


That seems fairly clear to me.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DionOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 20:21



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 9
Location: Minderhout
Status: Offline
The text in the manual suggests that you can check whether virtualisation is enabled in the BIOS by typing in that command, which is apparently not true. It's at least a bit ambivalent. Just trying to improve things Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
bluewaterOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.04.2011, 08:01
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 58
Location: Hobart, Australia
Status: Offline
Dion

Thanks for the comments.

Some bios manufactures have KVM switched on by defualt and others do not,

      Quote:

To ascertain whether your hardware supports KVM, ensure that KVM is enabled in the BIOS (in some cases on an Intel VT or AMD-V system it may not evident as to where the switch is, therefore assume that it is in a KVM state)

.............. (Otherwise go back to the BIOS if you believe it is supported and check again, else search the internet as to where in the BIOS menus KVM 'enable' could be hiding)


Unfortunately, like you, some users need to go on a 'search and implement mission' to get things switched on, most do not seem to have an issue as it is on by default, so I am glad that you got it sorted out without too much fuss.

Regarding putting windows in a VM , just mentally change aptosid for windows and the same for applies for any other distro you may want to have in a VM.

(heh I know someone who recently installed MS Windows to KVM, the comment was,, 'I hope i never have to do that again .... ' )

Regsrds
Trevor

_________________
If all else fails, get the instructions back out of the rubbish bin and read them. http://manual.aptosid.com/


Last edited by bluewater on 06.04.2011, 12:24; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DionOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.04.2011, 11:21



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 9
Location: Minderhout
Status: Offline
Hi Trevor,

Thanks for your reply!

Regarding installing Windows: I am on a intel i5 64 bits and have a windows 7 CD that came with the PC to install from.

As you pointed out, I could indeed just replace the aptosid parts with the windows CD, but on the KVM website http://www.linux-kvm.org/page/Windows7Install I read things about signed drivers you need for 64 bits Win7 and virtio drives that I honestly don't understand much about. So it looks a bit less simple than that. I am still studying it and if I come up with any solutions I might try to write a how-to. But any advice is appreciated already.

Thanks,
Dion
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
bluewaterOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.04.2011, 11:50
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 58
Location: Hobart, Australia
Status: Offline
Dion,
I will ask him to post what he needed to do (although he uses gentoo the concept will hold true)

BAH ,,, After doing sou chef stuff, Dion,, just do it to it, it is a VM, (just dont validate it until you have to, as you have a few days to do that, like about 30 or more ), However be prepared for a 4 to 6 hour process.

_________________
If all else fails, get the instructions back out of the rubbish bin and read them. http://manual.aptosid.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio