Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
ghstryderOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.04.2011, 01:14



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 95
Location: Detroit
Status: Offline
I'm thinking a few things too, but I'll keep them to myself.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.04.2011, 01:24



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
      ghstryder wrote:
I'm thinking a few things too, but I'll keep them to myself.


Good job, Michigan! Ohio too! Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.04.2011, 05:45



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
      Quote:
Thanks for your valuable contribution, which was a key to solve the very topic. Wink
Greetings,
Chris


I think that the misunderstandings can arise from some decisions made from aptosid team:

1) no more official solutions on the left side column in news or some other official sections, not only the forum.
2) no more support for that little app in system tray for news about dist-upgrade (hermes).

Or maybe is not a decison, it is only lack of time and contributions.

I am sure that some of us could contribute to this.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.04.2011, 11:03
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

2) I think there was never hermes on aptosid... I think qt4 transition was sidux time...
(correct me, if I'm wrong)

1) since the project moving to sidux to aptosid, forum organisation has changed,
you can see here http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2
the first three forums, "All the news about aptosid", "Upgrade warnings" and
"Bug reports <current>" are Official forums, following Support forum,
then Community forum, and Experimental forum.
I'm not a team member, but since I accepted the role of the moderator of
Official forums, I take it as... Official forum. That is:

When a team member post alarm in Upgrade warnings (like etorix did),
it is a official warning, and you should take it as it is.

And about the state of this warning, until Debian's repo is fixed,
it is not compeletely solved, and so not marked [Solved], while
aptosid's hot-fix offers temporary solution, that users with aptosid
fix-main repo activated can proceed d-u without being affected by the problem.
(correct me if I'm wrong)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.04.2011, 11:37



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
      Quote:
that users with aptosid
fix-main repo activated can proceed d-u without being affected by the problem.
(correct me if I'm wrong)


A number of us had a problem with the fix (freezing keyboard and mouse). base-files has since been upgraded and I've been OK since but there still seem to be a mix of successes and failures reading above.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Ilinsekt
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.04.2011, 05:37



Joined: 2010-10-29
Posts: 43

Just to make sure: Is there anything to say against putting udev, base-files and init-scripts on hold, then dist-upgrading as usual?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wofritzOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.04.2011, 06:00



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 30
Location: Uetze/NDS/DE
Status: Offline
      Quote:

Just to make sure: Is there anything to say against putting udev, base-files and init-scripts on hold, then dist-upgrading as usual?


If you are not having the problem right now, you can simply d-u without putting anything on hold. The issue has been fixed with a new base-files package which does not create /run.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Ilinsekt
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.04.2011, 06:18



Joined: 2010-10-29
Posts: 43

Just d-u'd without problems. Also I should say, a new version of udev (167-2) is in sid.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
micha_52Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.04.2011, 05:38



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 18
Location: Nordstemmen
Status: Offline
after a d-u this morning my keyboard and mouse were frozen (udev 167-2). So I rebooted in safe mode and performed a 'rm -rf /run' and restarted udev by invoking '/etc/init.d/udev restart'. Now the box is working as usual.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
titanOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.04.2011, 07:13



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 78

Status: Offline
I just d-u my 32 bit system and Aptosid udev was replaced with udev 167-2 with no problems, mouse works as normal ( PS2 keyboard) and no /run folder is created.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
darioOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.04.2011, 11:59



Joined: 2010-11-27
Posts: 63

Status: Offline
I confirm, d-u fine on both 32 and 64 bit this morning with udev 167-2.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
vinurOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.04.2011, 21:08



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 60
Location: Lake Oswego
Status: Offline
I can post that no problems from this.
full D-U yesterday
udev 167-2

michael@eyland:~$ infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS "eyland" running Linux 2.6.38-2.slh.3-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-01 Γῆρας - kde-lite - (201102051540) ]
CPU Info 4x AMD Phenom II X4 955 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 3215.066 MHz ]
Videocard nVidia G96 [GeForce 9400 GT] X.Org 1.9.5 [ 1920x1080@60.0hz ]
Network cards D-Link System Inc DGE-560T PCI Express Gigabit
Processes 123 | Uptime 3days | Memory 406.1/8005.9MB | HDD ST3500418AS,ST3500418AS Size 1000GB (40%used) | GLX Renderer Software Rasterizer | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.35
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
usgsOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.05.2011, 02:50



Joined: 2010-10-03
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
From some past d-u, I have udev=167-3. Minutes ago I enabled the Debian testing repo and tried to downgrade to 167-2 but cannot. I continue to have the startup problem where I'm forced to change ro to rw. Even though this startup problem is erratic (sometimes I reach X without being forced to change ro to rw), if I don't do that, I never reach X.

What should I do to make the startup go to X permanently? Is it bad that I have udev=167-3?

My kernel: Linux version 2.6.35-7.slh.1-aptosid-686 (Debian 2.6.35-3Cool
My base-files=6.3
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
CaesarTjalboOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.05.2011, 15:46



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 95
Location: Enschede
Status: Offline
I don't have a /run directory, i do see udev warnings and fallback behavior when booting.

What is the recommended fix? Manually create /run? Re-install package initscripts? Other?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
yossarianOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.05.2011, 16:03



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 35

Status: Offline
      CaesarTjalbo wrote:
I don't have a /run directory, i do see udev warnings and fallback behavior when booting.

What is the recommended fix? Manually create /run? Re-install package initscripts? Other?

http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=1193
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio