Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
se7enOffline
Post subject: kde 4.6.2  PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 17:04



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 164

Status: Offline
looks like kde 4.6.2. is just being uploaded to experimental-snapshots

_________________
Don't mention the war!
Meine Meinung steht fest! Bitte verwirren Sie mich nicht mit Tatsachen!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 18:14



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
Nice -- desktop effects working once again on my netbook (Intel Mobile 945GME).
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 19:05



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
Now is out here! Downloading almost 300 packages.

PS. No problems upgrade perfect.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
clubexOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 20:11



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 98

Status: Offline
No problems apart from losing the title bar of windows and dialogues but a reboot fixed that. I also selected No when asked to update kmrc configuration.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
merlynOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 20:47



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 76
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
No problems with the d-u here.

In fact a minor glitch I noticed with the panel under 4.6.1 is now fixed.

Cheers.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ShakaZOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 01:53



Joined: 2011-02-16
Posts: 67

Status: Offline
Doesn't work here. Dist-upgrade tells me I have the latest packages already, although this is kde 4.4.5 from june last year.
      Code:
apt-get -t experimental install kde-plasma-desktop kde-window-manager kdebase-workspace kdebase-apps kdebase-bin kdebase-data kdebase-runtime kdebase-runtime-data kdebase-workspace-bin kdebase-workspace-data kdebase-workspace-dev kdebase-workspace-kgreet-plugins kdegraphics-libs-data kdelibs-bin kdelibs-data kdelibs4c2a kdelibs5-data kdelibs5-dev kdelibs5-plugins kdepasswd kdepim-runtime kdepimlibs-kio-plugins kdesudo libakonadi-kde4 libkde3support4 libkdecorations4 libkdecore5 libkdesu5 libkdeui5 libkdewebkit5 polkit-kde-1
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
kdelibs-bin is already the newest version.
kdelibs5-data is already the newest version.
kdelibs5-dev is already the newest version.
...

Experimental repository is enabled, though apt-cache policy doesn't show any candidates for kde in experimental.

Edit : Ok found the topic about http://qt-kde.debian.net
Would have expected to have something in experimental though.


Last edited by ShakaZ on 27.04.2011, 01:57; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 01:56



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
I have it on x86_64...so far so good

EDIT: my font selections got screwed...reset them and a reboot fixed it.


Last edited by DeepDayze on 27.04.2011, 02:01; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
se7enOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 01:58



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 164

Status: Offline
you need

      Code:
#kde
deb http://qt-kde.debian.net/debian experimental-snapshots main
deb-src http://qt-kde.debian.net/debian experimental-snapshots main


enabled in your /etc/apt/sources.list/

_________________
Don't mention the war!
Meine Meinung steht fest! Bitte verwirren Sie mich nicht mit Tatsachen!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ShakaZOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 03:51



Joined: 2011-02-16
Posts: 67

Status: Offline
Feels quite sluggish after upgrading from 4.4.5.
System Load tab of System Monitor takes almost 1s to display the graphs when switching from another tab, + some visual artefacts sometimes when switching to the other tabs.
Blurry text in the task manager.
Some colours messed up in the theme I'm using, like blue tooltips.
Haven't found a cool new feature yet to balance that, but I'm sure that will come.

I put priority of that repo to 991 in /etc/apt/preferences.d/ so will be upgraded automatically with a d-u. First time I do this so I hope I chose the right number.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 07:56



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
you don't need the number or the preferences section. It will upgrade automatically.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 08:24



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
      Quote:
It will upgrade automatically.

this goes for minor upgrades, like the one yesterday. it does not neccessarily work for upgrades like from 4.5.x to 4.6.x
those should be done by: apt-get -t experimental-snapshots dist-upgrade
true is that preferences are obsolete.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ShakaZOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 12:13



Joined: 2011-02-16
Posts: 67

Status: Offline
Good to know. Is there anything else providing the functionality of preferences or does apt just automatically use the same repositories a package was installed from?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 12:27



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 326

Status: Offline
[quote="devil"]
      Quote:

true is that preferences are obsolete.


How about pinning? Should it also be done in a different way?

Thanks,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
belzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 12:57



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
gone good!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
MoDaXOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 13:05



Joined: 2011-04-27
Posts: 8

Status: Offline
      ShakaZ wrote:
Good to know. Is there anything else providing the functionality of preferences or does apt just automatically use the same repositories a package was installed from?


      Code:

apt (0.8.5) unstable; urgency=low

... snip ..
   [ David Kalnischkies ]
   * apt-pkg/policy.cc:
     - support 100-pinning in Release file with ButAutomaticUpgrades
       as requested by the backports crew (Closes: #596097)

... snip ...

 -- Michael Vogt <mvo>  Fri, 17 Sep 2010 22:05:06 +0200


qt-kde.debian.net experimental-snapshots repository has "ButAutomaticUpgrades: yes" set in the Release file hence its priority defaults to 100. This means that newer packages are installed/upgraded from it unless currently installed version has a higher priority (e.g. you have the version from unstable installed (prio 500)). Debian experimental defaults to prio 1.

That's the reason you need to use -t experimental-snapshots (equivalent of bumping repositority priority to 900 via pinning) to upgrade packages from unstable which experimental-snapshots provides newer versions for.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio