Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
cid-babaOffline
22 Post subject: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 16:18



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 24

Status: Offline
hi all,

first: congratulations! not a whole month passed and now our beloved distribution is back! I've got great respect to the dev-team - the huge amount of additional work you are doing to keep the project alive (instead of moving somewhere else) is a great thing!

second: slh wrote on the news-page: "A seamless crossgrade path from sidux to aptosid will be provided until the end of 2010. However a quick change is suggested because of potential issues outside of our influence."

will there be a howto, "how to do the change by hand and NOW"? or is it as easy as removing the sidux repos and add the aptosid repos and everything is fine?

I hope this post is not too impatient in placed in the right forum Wink (and please excuse my bad english)

lg
cid-baba
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 16:49



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
Well, here http://sidux.com/index.php?module=News& ... mp;sid=616 it is said that the next sidux upgrade will ask to change the apt/sources.list entries automatically. So it seems to be no problem to upgrade.

But in my case (with the sidux sources.list) I get some errors with apt-get update:
      Quote:

Get:33 ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/main i386 Packages
Err ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/main i386 Packages
Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '
Get:34 ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/contrib i386 Packages
Err ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/contrib i386 Packages
Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '
Get:35 ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/non-free i386 Packages
Err ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/non-free i386 Packages
Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '
Get:36 ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/firmware i386 Packages
Err ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/firmware i386 Packages
Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '
Get:37 ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/fix.main i386 Packages
Err ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/fix.main i386 Packages
Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '
Get:38 ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/fix.contrib i386 Packages
Err ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/fix.contrib i386 Packages
Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '
Get:39 ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/fix.non-free i386 Packages
Err ftp://ftp.spline.de sid/fix.non-free i386 Packages
Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '
W: Failed to fetch ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/di ... ackages.gz Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '

W: Failed to fetch ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/di ... ackages.gz Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '

W: Failed to fetch ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/di ... ackages.gz Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '

W: Failed to fetch ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/di ... ackages.gz Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '

W: Failed to fetch ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/di ... ackages.gz Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '

W: Failed to fetch ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/di ... ackages.gz Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '

W: Failed to fetch ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/di ... ackages.gz Unable to fetch file, server said 'Failed to open file. '

E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.


So I am not sure if I only have to wait for the next mirror sync or if it would be better to change the word "sidux" to "aptosid" in the /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sidux.list. This works but then I am missing a gpg key. What should I do the best way?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 17:06
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 255

Status: Offline
Do not just switch directly to an aptosid repository.

The safe option is to change to the sidux.com/debian repository directly for your final sidux dist-upgrade which will ask you if you want to switch to aptosid. That will take care of your sources.list so when you dist-upgrade again you will pull in all the aptosid packages correctly.

It depends on what mirror you were using and exactly how they changed their mirroring. Simply using sidux.com/debian is the safe option and it won't download much but it will take care of changing your system properly including apt key's and the like.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
chhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 17:09



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 1

Status: Offline
arwa: Have a look at the manual for the new aptosid.list file
Simply changing the "spline" lines from sidux to aptosid gives me an error, so I commented it out for now

Christian
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 17:12



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
Ah, great. Thanks, bfree, this did work. I will now do the big distro-change uprade.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mogogowOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 17:21



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 1
Location: Dublin
Status: Offline
Just dist-upgraded a few minutes ago and now running 2.6.35-4.slh.6-aptosid-686 kernel. Using Aptosid repository with no problems. Congrats to all the Devs!!!

Mike Very Happy Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 17:26



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
Yes, everything went smooth. Only one warning occured:
      Quote:

Processing triggers for menu ...
warning, in file '/var/lib/dpkg/updates/0020' near line 5 package 'udev-config-aptosid':
missing description
warning, in file '/var/lib/dpkg/updates/0020' near line 5 package 'udev-config-aptosid':
missing maintainer
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ajmateusgOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 17:39



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 11
Location: Bogotá, D. C.
Status: Offline
For me it did not work.

I had to do the following:

1. Edit the source-list and change the word sidux for aptosid for fit.
2. I ran apt-get update (there were errors reading my secondary mirror)
3. I ran apt-get dist-upgrade
4. find the new kernel linux-image-2.6-slh-aptosid-amd64
5. Install the new kernel with its headers
6. reboot and select the new kernel and I'm in aptosid.
7. I removed the slh-sidux kernel and headers. Easy. easy.

Thank you, thank our Devs.


Last edited by ajmateusg on 13.09.2010, 17:43; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 18:50
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
      ajmateusg wrote:
4. find the new kernel linux-image-2.6-amd64

You successfully found the debian kernels… They are okay most of the time, but if i would have the option, i would prefer slhs kernels… Try the linux-image-2.6-aptosid-amd64 metapackage Smile

In general, it should really work out of the box -- if not you should switch mirror instead of changing sidux to aptosid by hand.

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
KilluaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 20:10



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 2

Status: Offline
upgrade works fine Very Happy

Big thx Wink

Killua
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dark_rayOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 20:26



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 3
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Status: Offline
upgrade works fine here 2 Smile
thanks for great distro.

Small question - can I delete packages like:
apt-conf-sidux 0.2.0 aptosid defaults for apt
transitional metapackage to pull in apt-conf-aptosid
?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
LanziOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 20:34



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 126
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
So, please, can we have an official "yes you can" upgrade allowance.
Is it now safe to upgrade to aptosid now?

_________________
Urlaub im Harz? http://pension-grueneinsel.de
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
saxxonianOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 20:36



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 28
Location: Brasov, Romania
Status: Offline
smooth transition here, repos, grub, no hickups. great!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 20:41
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
      Lanzi wrote:
So, please, can we have an official "yes you can" upgrade allowance.
Is it now safe to upgrade to aptosid now?

"Yes, you can" as the first newsentry says.

Or it should be, yes. Some mirrors seem to have a little hickup through, so you maybe need to change your mirror, but at least for me it was as easy as
apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade
and saying 'yes' a few times…
(in init 3 as always of course)

If you get errors in the first command, just try changing mirror…

@dark_ray: Yes, you can remove the transition packages if you want, but they doesn't hurt nor harm anyone, so just keep them around a little while longer until the dust has settled. Wink

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
LanziOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.09.2010, 20:51



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 126
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
@donkult:
Thanks for the quick anwswer!

_________________
Urlaub im Harz? http://pension-grueneinsel.de
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio