Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
kermOffline
15 Post subject: (solved) k3b & hal impasse: reboot  PostPosted: 18.06.2011, 21:53



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
OK: apologie to all. Locally I'm known as a troublemaker (politica). Which I'd like to get back to, soon as I have k3b working.
But I'm sorry if I incited a stir here.

Only a green guess: some bit of upgrade magic has broken hal's lock on some folks' k3b. But not on mine.

Find here: http://wiki.debian.org/HALRemoval

"Packages with Depends: hal: k3b Fixed in 2.0.2-1- "

My rig doesn't agree that it's fixed.

I'll answer dibl's question now.(Use ps to check your list of running processes).

      Code:
ps aux | less
: Returns a full screen of running processes. But absolutely nothing relative to hal /hald.
I'll be glad to send the output if asked.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject: RE: k3b & hal impasse: reboot  PostPosted: 18.06.2011, 22:15
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 251

Status: Offline
What version of k3b do you have installed?

Do you have udisks installed (though it's not in k3b depends maybe it is really required)?

Does it offer any clues if you go into the devices section via the Configure k3b option in the Settings menu?

What about Setup System Permissions also from the settings menu?

You can also try running k3b from the command line, it might spit out a more useful message there.

The other thing you could try is booting a livecd (or usb) and seeing if it has any problems seeing your drive. At least checking some way that it's not a hardware problem is worthwhile.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject: RE: k3b & hal impasse: reboot  PostPosted: 18.06.2011, 22:24
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
Hmmm ... the k3b version in SID does not depend on hal:
      Code:
$ apt-cache rdepends hal
hal
Reverse Depends:
  hal-cups-utils
  vodafone-mobile-connect
  dvdrip
  wmbattery
  virt-manager
  thoggen
  synce-hal
  sleepd
  libqtserviceframework1
  pulseaudio-module-hal
  olpc-kbdshim-hal
  moovida-plugins-good
  mic2
  lxde
  laptop-mode-tools
  hal-info
  hal-info
  flumotion
  awn-applets-python-core
  apcupsd

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.06.2011, 22:53



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
Friends:
Further to my last.

My system appears to have complied with the command:
      Code:
/usr/sbin/hald


But then, no running processes relative to hal or hald are reported in response to
      Code:
ps aux | less


And k3b still demands hal.

File search shows:
hal: 4 KiB in each of etc/ usr/share usr/lib usr/share/doc
hald: var/cache (4 KiB) and usr/bin (314.1 KiB)

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.06.2011, 23:06
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
Could you please give your version number of k3b, that's the output of
      Code:
apt-cache policy k3b
Further: start your k3b in a konsole and copy/paste the output into a codebox.

It also might be of interest at which stage your k3b is complaining (starting it, trying to burn a CD/DVD/BRD?).

At the moment I only can give you one answer: I use k3b all the time and it works flawlessly. But that does not help you. It's just: without more information I cannot say more.

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.06.2011, 01:11



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
hubi:

Thank you for replying.

      Code:
root@debboxa:~# apt-cache policy k3b
k3b:
  Installed: 2.0.2-2
  Candidate: 2.0.2-2
  Version table:
 *** 2.0.2-2 0
        500 http://cdn.debian.net/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
root@debboxa:~#


kde complains straightaway, soon as I've opened it in X comes the popup.

In konsole, as root:
      Code:
root@debboxa:~# k3b
unnamed app(4147): KUniqueApplication: Cannot find the D-Bus session server:  "Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken."

unnamed app(4146): KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly.

root@debboxa:~#


In konsole as user:
      Code:
ubdino@debboxa:~$ k3b
KGlobal::locale::Warning your global KLocale is being recreated with a valid main component instead of a fake component, this usually means you tried to call i18n related functions before your main component was created. You should not do that since it most likely will not work
QStringList Solid::Backends::UDisks::UDisksManager::allDevicesInternal()  error:  "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown"
ubdino@debboxa:~$ k3b(4204)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "view_projects" with KXMLGUIFactory!
k3b(4204)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "view_dir_tree" with KXMLGUIFactory!
k3b(4204)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "view_contents" with KXMLGUIFactory!
k3b(4204)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "location_bar" with KXMLGUIFactory!


My system qvetsches about several other things in bootup. Takes a long time choosing an nvidia driver; takes even longer figuring out the USB setup. And soon as KDE opens, it complains about power management.I merely mention that in passing; I have no idea if any of that is in any way connected to the k3b thing.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.06.2011, 01:53



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
this error:

      Code:
QStringList Solid::Backends::UDisks::UDisksManager::allDevicesInternal()  error:  "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown"


leads me to suggest you need to install the udisks package and also make sure the polkit-kde-1 package is also installed

Udisks replaces hal (sort of)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.06.2011, 03:12
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
http://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/udisks

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.06.2011, 04:55



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
@ piper:
A pipe kind of guy, you won't mind, I'm sure, if the cigar goes to DeepDayze.

@DeepDayze:
Your advice fixed a number of things! The biggie: k3b has quit qvetsching for hal. It looks ready to work.
Also: no more popup when KDE opens nagging about power management.
Plus my rig booted up a lot faster. I haven't looked yet to see what complaints have diasppeared.
Nice work, DeepDayze.Félicitations!
And many thanks to you and all.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.06.2011, 18:31



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      kerm wrote:
@ piper:
A pipe kind of guy, you won't mind, I'm sure, if the cigar goes to DeepDayze.

@DeepDayze:
Your advice fixed a number of things! The biggie: k3b has quit qvetsching for hal. It looks ready to work.
Also: no more popup when KDE opens nagging about power management.
Plus my rig booted up a lot faster. I haven't looked yet to see what complaints have diasppeared.
Nice work, DeepDayze.Félicitations!
And many thanks to you and all.

kerm


Anytime and glad to help...does K3B see your burner now? For power management you should have upower installed too
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject: k3b & hal impasse: reboot : SOLVED  PostPosted: 20.06.2011, 01:06



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
Friends:

To tidy things up: the solution suggested by DeepDayze fixed the k3b/hal thing, along with a number of others:
-slow bootup,
-long time spent looking for my nvidia driver,
-longer trying to resolve USB,
-KDE complained about a power management challenge.
Happy day! It fixed 'em all.
kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.06.2011, 04:02



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
Yes, DeepDayze:
k3b is seeing my drives and the media in them- without hesitation- and burning fine.
I had installed a commercial burning app after k3b quit on me. It also refused to work.But after your suggested changes, it now also works.
And I've installed upower.

Everything is looking really good.I'm glad to put this annoyance behind.
Thank you and all our other bright friends who commented.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.06.2011, 13:21



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
If all's good now you can mark it [Solved] in the thread title Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.06.2011, 14:53
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      kerm wrote:
@ piper:
A pipe kind of guy, you won't mind, I'm sure, if the cigar goes to DeepDayze.

@DeepDayze:
Your advice fixed a number of things! The biggie: k3b has quit qvetsching for hal. It looks ready to work.
Also: no more popup when KDE opens nagging about power management.
Plus my rig booted up a lot faster. I haven't looked yet to see what complaints have diasppeared.
Nice work, DeepDayze.Félicitations!
And many thanks to you and all.

kerm


I don't mind at all Wink, Glad it's fixed. I didn't think of polkit-kde-1 because I don't have it installed and I can burn with kb3 no problem
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio