Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
jheaton5Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2011, 14:03



Joined: 2010-09-18
Posts: 33

Status: Offline
I have installed the aptosid udev with patch. My wireless returned just fine. To activate the usb mouse I have to unplug/replug it. The keyboard, however, does not work in X. it does work in terminal.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2011, 14:14



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
Try booting with "rw" instead of "ro" in the kernel boot line. It fixes the keyboard and mouse on my netbook. The new udev alone does not fix the issue in all cases, apparently.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
jheaton5Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2011, 14:51



Joined: 2010-09-18
Posts: 33

Status: Offline
      dibl wrote:
Try booting with "rw" instead of "ro" in the kernel boot line. It fixes the keyboard and mouse on my netbook. The new udev alone does not fix the issue in all cases, apparently.

That worked for me. Thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wofritzOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2011, 15:04



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 30
Location: Uetze/NDS/DE
Status: Offline
A new base-files package arrived and seems to fix the problem.

I removed /run, dist-upgraded and rebooted. Keyboard and mouse is working.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
neOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2011, 17:00



Joined: 2010-11-22
Posts: 4
Location: Oregon, USA
Status: Offline
      drb wrote:
Didn't work here initially with a PS2 mouse . . . installing the aptosid udev immediately froze the mouse and keyboard forcing a hard reset . . .


Same here with PS2 mouse and keyboard.

Edit: booted with an old liveCD and removed /run, then booted aptosid. Everything seems to be working.


Last edited by ne on 07.04.2011, 17:42; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Mte90Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2011, 17:15



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 51
Location: Rieti
Status: Offline
i have fixed the problem removed the run folder.
i have the fixed package but not fix the problem.

_________________
I'm an italian Aptosid user!!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
oldieOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2011, 17:30



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 24

Status: Offline
MEZ 18:26 DU, PS2 mouse and keyboard, 64 bit - no problems, everything ok.

Oldie
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.04.2011, 11:06



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
What is the state of this issue? Is everything ok again for sure? Then this thread should be marked solved. Or is it still risky to upgrade?

Thanks,
arwa
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.04.2011, 20:17



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 146
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
Dist-upgraded ten minutes ago, and all is fine. My system is AMD64.

Regards.

Luis_P.

Edit: And the my wife's laptop (32 bit) also, and also fine.


Last edited by Luis_P on 08.04.2011, 22:02; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
oldieOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.04.2011, 21:28



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 24

Status: Offline
We are still trying it with aptosid without admin + service from the aprtosid team - aptosid still a name - not alive!

Try or die.

sorry , Oldie
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.04.2011, 21:44
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      oldie wrote:
We are still trying it with aptosid without admin + service from the aprtosid team - aptosid still a name - not alive!

Try or die.

sorry , Oldie


??? the first two posters of this thread are aptosid team members, you know? ???
and the problem is temporary solved by aptosid team's hot-fix...
I don't understand what you are talking.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.04.2011, 08:01
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
      oldie wrote:
We are still trying it with aptosid without admin + service from the aprtosid team - aptosid still a name - not alive!

Try or die.

sorry , Oldie
Thanks for your valuable contribution, which was a key to solve the very topic. Wink
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
spockOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.04.2011, 17:49



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Near Milton Keynes, UK
Status: Offline
      Luis_P wrote:
Dist-upgraded ten minutes ago, and all is fine. My system is AMD64.

Regards.

Luis_P.

Edit: And the my wife's laptop (32 bit) also, and also fine.


All working fine here now as well, thanks to slh's temporary udev fix. I just DU'ed my two workstations (one 64-bit and one 32-bit).

Before this DU my 64-bit machine had major GRUB problems (stopping bootup even before GRUB menu) following a DU last week amidst all these changes. So I dived in with aptosid live USBstick and chrooted to update-grub, as in the fine manual. I don't know if this was a related issue, but all OK now. Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.04.2011, 17:55
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      muchan wrote:
      clubex wrote:
An explanation for the new /run directory from the systemd maintainer.

http://lwn.net/Articles/436012/

It's addressed to Fedora but I think it would also apply to other distros including Debian.


On Debian:
BTS http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=620191
debian-devel http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/20 ... 01150.html


now better version of explanation on Debian site.
http://wiki.debian.org/ReleaseGoals/RunDirectory
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
oldieOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.04.2011, 19:48



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 24

Status: Offline
sorry - but

I think my contribution was but even more beautiful alarm clock for the forum + aptosid

thanks for the wake.

oldie
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio