Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
arwaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.04.2011, 09:17



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
      devil wrote:
the cause for this is clearly dbus/libdbus: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=623492


As described there the bug seems to be corelated to powerdevil (Hi, devil Wink ). As my old system is not capable of doing power management things and the systemsettings for power management are deactivated (I cannot turn them on), this might be the reason why I am not affected by this problem.

@kilgoretrout: Which version oflibdbus do you have installed now?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
SantaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.04.2011, 15:18



Joined: 2011-04-22
Posts: 10
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Hello,

      Quote:

[14:33] <xTs> santa_: the weird thing is that I didn't update kdebase workspace
[14:35] <santa_> xTs: well. its a bug in kdebase-workspace. however, what triggered this was the upload of dbus (which is a bit stricter than the previous version)
[14:35] <xTs> ah, i see
[14:36] <xTs> i updated dbus yesterday Smile


This is suposed to be fixed in kdebase-workspace-bin 4:4.4.5-9.

You can see the status of the building here:
https://buildd.debian.org/status/packag ... -workspace
As soon as it hits the 'Installed' status for your architecture it could be copied to your local mirror. The mirrors are usually updated about 3:00, 9:00, 15:00, 21:00 (all of them zulu)[1].

Sorry for the inconvenience.

[1] I't talking about Debian, I have no clue how aptosid works.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
kilgoretroutOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.04.2011, 16:29



Joined: 2011-04-20
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
arwa I have dbus 1.4.8-2 and it appears I spoke too soon. On a fresh boot this morning I ran into the same problem. Odd thing is, I killed kdm with an init 3 from a terminal and restarted kdm with init 5. I logged into LXDE fine then logged out and tried logging in to KDE and was able to do so without issue.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.04.2011, 16:39



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      kilgoretrout wrote:
arwa I have dbus 1.4.8-2 and it appears I spoke too soon. On a fresh boot this morning I ran into the same problem. Odd thing is, I killed kdm with an init 3 from a terminal and restarted kdm with init 5. I logged into LXDE fine then logged out and tried logging in to KDE and was able to do so without issue.

That shows this bug is an intermittent one, one that shows up when certain conditions occur at the right time to trigger the bug. Hopefully with the fixed kdebase-workspace will fix it once it becomes available
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.04.2011, 18:25



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      Santa wrote:
Hello,

      Quote:

[14:33] <xTs> santa_: the weird thing is that I didn't update kdebase workspace
[14:35] <santa_> xTs: well. its a bug in kdebase-workspace. however, what triggered this was the upload of dbus (which is a bit stricter than the previous version)
[14:35] <xTs> ah, i see
[14:36] <xTs> i updated dbus yesterday Smile


This is suposed to be fixed in kdebase-workspace-bin 4:4.4.5-9.

You can see the status of the building here:
https://buildd.debian.org/status/packag ... -workspace
As soon as it hits the 'Installed' status for your architecture it could be copied to your local mirror. The mirrors are usually updated about 3:00, 9:00, 15:00, 21:00 (all of them zulu)[1].

Sorry for the inconvenience.

[1] I't talking about Debian, I have no clue how aptosid works.


Santa, Aptosid is a distro that's based on debian sid and is 100% compatible with it so your post is still quite relevant
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.04.2011, 18:32



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
thxx Santa,

as we use debian unstable, we should be the first to know Smile

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
PraxisOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.04.2011, 08:38



Joined: 2011-04-23
Posts: 2

Status: Offline
I did a DU 04-22 at about 19:00 UTC, I can't log in to KDE, I had to use XFCE. Not a very new install, 32 bit:
sidux 2008-01 ÎÏξ - kde-full - (200804120009)
vmlinuz-2.6.38-4.slh.1-aptosid-686

Just a data point.

Edit:
DUed the 23rd, KDE is working again, whoppee.

</rant> Still 4.4.5 more than 2.5 months after Squeeze went stable. Breaking, occasionaly, but still 4.4. I've played with 4.6.2, I know KDE 4 still doesn't stack up to 3.5 for me two years after it hit the sid repos, but I'm getting slightly weary of 4.4.<rant>


Last edited by Praxis on 24.04.2011, 03:52; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
maxxedoutOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.04.2011, 12:34



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
Was having the problem of Kwin and krunner seg faulting on a 32bit system. After a DU this morning all seems to be OK
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
vachiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.04.2011, 00:55



Joined: 2011-04-23
Posts: 7

Status: Offline
I just DU last evening. Everything seems fine.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio