Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
lkrubnerOffline
Post subject: How do I install Google Chrome?  PostPosted: 25.04.2011, 23:03



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 7
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
I am a beginner. I apologize if these are especially stupid questions.

I tried installing Google Chrome. It didn't work. I tried both the 32 bit and 64 bit versions. I got messages about archive formats not being recognized, though I thought I had decompressed everything.

I looked at /proc/cpuinfo to figure out the cpu type:


processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 37
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G6950 @ 2.80GHz
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 2793.000
cache size : 3072 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 11
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov$
bogomips : 5586.36
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:



Can anyone think of anything magic I need to do to get Google Chrome installed?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: How do I install Google Chrome?  PostPosted: 25.04.2011, 23:37



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
apt-get install chromium-browser
done.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 00:32



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
If you need the 64-bit browser, you need to enable frickelplatz repo.

deb http://frickelplatz.de/debian/ sid main contrib non-free
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 01:27



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 731

Status: Offline
      dibl wrote:
If you need the 64-bit browser, you need to enable frickelplatz repo.
This statement is wrong, chromium 10.0.648.205~r81283-1 for amd64 and i386 is available in Debian/main (and yes, the amd64 bit version really is pure64), there is no need to use 3rd party sources.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 09:24



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
Upppppppppps - sorry, I missed the good news. Embarassed
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
lkrubnerOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 15:52



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 7
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Wow, crazy how easy they make this. Thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alexkOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 21:13



Joined: 2010-10-01
Posts: 185
Location: Bay state
Status: Offline
And now, as slh indicated, the package has been renamed "chromium" and the game is called "chromium-bsu", though "chromium-browser" still works as a transitional package. How many people thought they were installing a browser and ended up with an arcade-style space shooter game? Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio