Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: live xfce cd on old asus laptop,trouble with intel graphics.  PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 13:33



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
trying to run the geras xfce-i386 cd on this computer

      Code:
System Name   PC2011011517YLR
System Manufacturer   ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
System Model   M2N
System Type   X86-based PC
Processor   x86 Family 6 Model 9 Stepping 5 GenuineIntel ~1600 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date   American Megatrends Inc. 0206, 6/10/2003
SMBIOS Version   2.3

Name   Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller
PNP Device ID   PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3582&SUBSYS_17121043&REV_02\3&267A616A&0&10
Adapter Type   Intel(R) 82852/55 Graphics Controller, Intel Corporation compatible
Adapter Description   Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller
Adapter RAM   64.00 MB (67,108,864 bytes)
Color Planes   1
Color Table Entries   4294967296
Resolution   1024 x 768 x 60 hertz
Bits/Pixel   32

Name   [00000001] Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Adapter Type   Ethernet 802.3
Product Type   Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC

Driver   c:\windows\system32\drivers\nic1394.sys (5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-0852), 60.38 KB (61,824 bytes), 4/14/2008 7:21 AM)
   
Name   [00000011] Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter
Adapter Type   Ethernet 802.3
Product Type   Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter


cd burned with burniso script, md5 checks out and cd runs fine on desktop.

get to bootscreen fine, but after hitting "enter" get only a blinking cursor.

cheatcodes of "3", vga=0 and i915modeset=0 and various combinations result in either a blank screen or blinking cursor.

"vga=1024x768x32" gets some text offering various cheatcodes, but none i have tried worked for me.

if someone could help me out i would really appreciate it.

thanks! ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 14:01



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
xmodule=vesa is usually worth a try

EDIT : FORGET THE ABOVE if the blank screen is that early
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ShakaZOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 14:09



Joined: 2011-02-16
Posts: 67

Status: Offline
If you haven't run linux on that pc before it could be a BIOS setting that you need to change.
Other possibility, there can be such issues with livecd's burned at full speed. As they're are heavily compressed they can easily get corrupted or of low quality if burned too fast. And one cd drive may handle a burned cd better than another, so I usually limit the writing speed to x4.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 15:51
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

aptosid-2011-01 release note:
http://aptosid.com/index.php?module=new ... amp;sid=21
      Quote:

KMS support is required by xserver-xorg-video-intel, which means kernel parameters like "i915.modeset=0" or "vga=791" are no longer valid and actively break starting X on intel graphics cards. Given that i915/ xserver-xorg-video-intel doesn't require any kind of firmware, there should no longer be KMS related bugs in relation to intel graphics.

So, if the intel driver in the ISO supports this card, then you should not use "vga=" nor "i915modeset=0" with this kernel.
If the driver does not work with the card, you would start with "xmodule=vesa" option, then need "i915modeset=0".
If both do not work, then I don't have any idea... given that md5sum is OK and CPU is i686/amd64 and your ISO match with CPU...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 18:49



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
thank you all for the suggestions.

i tried "xmodule=vesa" and i915.modeset=0 alone and in that order in combination, without success.

i will try digging around in the BIOS settings.

thanks again, ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
dieresOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 21:35



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
give your m2n someone who wants to run win xp, the intel linux driver does not support this old graphic chip.(perhaps only a problem of the asusbios?) I had the same trouble with my m2400n from asus. NO CHANCE.
win7 doesn,t work either.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 22:02



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 689

Status: Offline
i855 (and even my older i830) is formally supported by i915.ko and xserver-xorg-video-intel, it has just been plagued by regressions recently; unfortunately no one in our team has access to that chipset (my i830 works well) to debug the issue.

This bug might have already been fixed with kernel 2.6.38 and X.org 1.9.5, but this might be hard to confirm if the install already fails.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
oldhogheadOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.04.2011, 22:35



Joined: 2010-11-26
Posts: 1
Location: DFW
Status: Offline
ikeinthai,

Try this cheat

      Code:
agp=off



cheers,
ohh
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: try an upgraded external HD install?  PostPosted: 27.04.2011, 07:48



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
thank you so much for all the help and suggestions.

though it may be the most practical solution, i surely do hate to abandon a working piece of hardware to BadBilly and his minions.

i tried agp=off without success.

      slh wrote:
This bug might have already been fixed with kernel 2.6.38 and X.org 1.9.5, but this might be hard to confirm if the install already fails.


so now i will try to boot to a fully upgraded external HD install done with another machine. (and await with the required and customary eager anticipation the next aptosid release 8D)

thank you again, ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio