Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
johnlittle001Offline
Post subject: Icedove  PostPosted: 14.05.2011, 12:47



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 15
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Status: Offline
After doing a dist-upgrade last weekend Icedove no longer works. I did another dist-upgrade this morning but the problem persists. I have a 32 bit aptosid system with the latest kernal.

I did some Googling and I suspect that it has something to do with libc6 and some sort of problem with symlinks (not being a tech expert the solution is a bit above my pay grade).

I downloaded Thunderbird from the Mozilla site and I'm back in business but I'd like to use Icedove. Perhaps others are having the same problem.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
se7enOffline
Post subject: RE: Icedove  PostPosted: 14.05.2011, 13:08



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 164

Status: Offline
And what problem would that be?

_________________
Don't mention the war!
Meine Meinung steht fest! Bitte verwirren Sie mich nicht mit Tatsachen!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
johnlittle001Offline
Post subject: RE: Icedove  PostPosted: 14.05.2011, 13:45



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 15
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Status: Offline
      Quote:

And what problem would that be?

The problem is that Icedove no longer loads when I click the icon.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
johnlittle001Offline
Post subject: RE: Icedove  PostPosted: 14.05.2011, 13:58



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 15
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Status: Offline
Here is the error message that appears when I attempt to evoke Icedove from a terminal

/usr/lib/icedove/icedove-bin: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/icedove/components/libimgicon.so: undefined symbol: NS_GetServiceManager
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
se7enOffline
Post subject: RE: Icedove  PostPosted: 14.05.2011, 14:31



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 164

Status: Offline
try
      Code:
 apt-get reinstall icedove


that might fix the problem

_________________
Don't mention the war!
Meine Meinung steht fest! Bitte verwirren Sie mich nicht mit Tatsachen!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
NnitisOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.05.2011, 15:59



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 19
Location: New York, New York
Status: Offline
I had a similar problem with icedove in 64-bit aptosid running on a T400 laptop. After updating to libc6 and rebooting, icedove would stall and close when starting with the following error message:

      Code:
icedove: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/icedove/components/libdbusservice.so: undefined symbol: NS_Alloc


Googling also led me to think that the problem was related to libc6 2.13-4. Re-installing icedove did not resolve the problem.

I downgraded libc6 and libc-bin to version 2.11.2-11, which was wheezy at the time, and rebooted. Icedove then ran correctly, but many other apps would not start (not surprisingly) -- e.g., conky. I upgraded libc6 and libc-bin to current versions, rebooted, and all apps worked. System has functioned fine since I did this about three days ago

I haven't been able to find an explanation for why this worked, but it did. The devs may know reasons why no one should do what I did, and I may have been lucky in not totally borking my system by doing this. It was, however, the only solution I found.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.05.2011, 17:04
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

AFAIK the reason to update libc6 was because of memcpy problem with new gcc,
and debian decided to use a version of libc on sid for some time which makes the
detection of problematic programs easier.
So, I think it's the code of icedove which has memcpy problem, and the problem
is manifested with new libc6.
IMHO, tt's good idea to report bug to icedove maintainer.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
johnlittle001Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.05.2011, 19:07



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 15
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Status: Offline
Thanks. I guess I'll just stick with Thunderbird for now until the Icedove maintainers figure this out.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
se7enOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.05.2011, 11:46



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 164

Status: Offline
I had the same problem with icedove and qbittorrent-nox and reinstall did the trick.

_________________
Don't mention the war!
Meine Meinung steht fest! Bitte verwirren Sie mich nicht mit Tatsachen!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
vinurOffline
Post subject: icedove fails to run after d-u tonight ver. 3.10-1  PostPosted: 17.05.2011, 06:55



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 60
Location: Lake Oswego
Status: Offline
      se7en wrote:
I had the same problem with icedove and qbittorrent-nox and reinstall did the trick.
just did a d-u on one of my systems and indeed icedove 3.10.1-1 fails to load application.
the system was functional with the previous icedove 3.9.1

icedove 3.1.9 on a different system works - one day difference between d-u almost identical systems. only icedove is different.
tried reinstall but it still does not run
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
se7enOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 17.05.2011, 07:30



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 164

Status: Offline
I am not quite sure where the version numbers come from
I have:
      Code:
apt-cache policy icedove
icedove:
  Installed: 3.1.9-2
  Candidate: 3.1.9-2

and they both work on 32/64bit after reinstall

EDIT: sorry 3.1.10-1 is just downloading ...

_________________
Don't mention the war!
Meine Meinung steht fest! Bitte verwirren Sie mich nicht mit Tatsachen!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 17.05.2011, 22:55
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
under kde menu editor make sure icedoves command is icedove %u

any shortcuts (desktop, daisy, panel, etc) make sure the command is icedove

if using daisy, you have to restart x for the icedove icon to work

      Code:
piper@x1:~$ apt-cache policy icedove
icedove:
  Installed: 3.1.10-1
  Candidate: 3.1.10-1
  Version table:
 *** 3.1.10-1 0
        500 http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
heidieboeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.05.2011, 09:36



Joined: 2011-01-09
Posts: 5
Location: Verden (Aller)
Status: Offline
I've got the same problem as johnlittle001 with a recent update to 3.1.10-1 (32bit, latest kernel), identical behaviour and error messages.

Removing and reinstalling icedove did not help. Icedove dies during startup.

My workaroung for the time being: Using a usbstick based aptosid/icedove (3.1.10-1, 64bit) with a symbolic link to original <myhomedir>/.icedove directory.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
delectoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.05.2011, 12:18



Joined: 2011-05-19
Posts: 2

Status: Offline
look here:

http://www.aptosid.de/index.php?name=PN ... &t=934


best regards
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.05.2011, 14:02
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
      delecto wrote:
This is an English speaking forum, linking into German forums is no help to most of our readers. Instead of linking, please post the solution you found.

Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio