Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
Sir_SidOffline
Post subject: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 14:21



Joined: 2011-06-04
Posts: 3
Location: Salerno - Italy
Status: Offline
Hello, How do I install ATI Catalyst Aptosid up?
Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 16:25



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
After adding non-free to your Sources

apt-get install fglrx-driver.

Make sure, radeon is blacklisted and you have a xorg.conf stanza in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d for your device.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 16:25



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
apt-get install fglrx-control (Catalyst Control Center)

I would also recommend:

apt-get install fglrx-control fglrx-glx fglrx-atieventsd fglrx-modules-dkms xvba-va-driver fglrx-driver (full fglrx suite)

But be careful! fglrx is very buggy at some times and I have only installed it for experimental purposes!

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64


Last edited by sx9 on 04.06.2011, 16:30; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 16:29



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
Oh, we have posted at the same time Smile

But how do I blacklist radeon and what is this blacklisting and how should the xorg.conf look like?

I've tried it with the aticonfig --initial command, but it didn't work somehow.

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 16:34



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
echo blacklist radeon >> /etc/modprobe.d/radeon.blacklist

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-fglrx.conf should look like
      Code:

Section "Device"
    Identifier      "Device 0"
    Driver          "fglrx"
EndSection
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 16:55



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
Thanks Smile

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
Sir_SidOffline
Post subject: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 18:54



Joined: 2011-06-04
Posts: 3
Location: Salerno - Italy
Status: Offline
Thanks for reply Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 08.06.2011, 16:51



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
Do I also have to blacklist with a graphic card from nVidia?

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 08.06.2011, 20:38



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
      sx9 wrote:
Do I also have to blacklist with a graphic card from nVidia?

Then you have to blacklist nouveau, if you want to use the binary blob.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
seasonsOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Ati Catalyst  PostPosted: 14.06.2011, 13:32



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 92

Status: Offline
I have overhauled the ATI wiki. Suggestions welcome. http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Debian
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio