Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
krisbeeOffline
Post subject: [Solved-ish]High CPU usage and freezes after KDE 4.6.3 D-U  PostPosted: 02.06.2011, 17:56



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 49
Location: London
Status: Offline
I'm seeing higher CPU usage and momentary desktop freezes after a series of D-Us last weekend which included KDE 4.6.3, upower, and the latest kernel.

      Code:
infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "sweep" running Linux 2.6.39-0.slh.8-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2009-03 Μώμος - kde-full - (200911110039) ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400+ 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 2300.000 MHz ]
Videocard       nVidia NV43 [GeForce 6600 GT]  X.Org 1.10.2  [ 1280x1024@50.0hz ]
Network cards   nVidia MCP55
Processes 140 | Uptime 3:19 | Memory 687.5/2013.3MB | HDD WDC WD6400AAKS-0 Size 640GB (8%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce 6600 GT/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 2.1.2 NVIDIA 270.41.19 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.36



One of the most noticeable problems is maximising an open Konsole window, this causes the system to freeze for up to 6 seconds. And for example, using Iceweasel to browse typically results in 10-20% higher cpu usage than before.

I have gkrellm running and have noticed a lot of cpu usage spikes at greater 80% during typical desktop activity, (opening, closing and moving windows). Desktop effects are enabled.

With many changes happening at once during the upgrades, I'm not sure what is going on. I have a 32bit non aptosid install which is running kde 4.6.3 and kernel 2.6.38.5 and nvidia 270.41.19 and have not seem the same behaviour ( I can't remember which xorg.is installed)

Any ideas?


Last edited by krisbee on 10.06.2011, 19:06; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: High CPU usage and freezes after KDE 4.6.3 D-U  PostPosted: 02.06.2011, 23:55
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
have you du'ed since last weekend ? kernel is now 2.6.39-0.slh.10

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
krisbeeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.06.2011, 06:31



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 49
Location: London
Status: Offline
Du'ed to latest kernel etc. It makes no difference, the reported behaviour is just the same.

      Code:
infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "sweep" running Linux 2.6.39-0.slh.10-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2009-03 Μώμος - kde-full - (200911110039) ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400+ 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 1000.000 MHz ]


I went through all the kwin desktop effects to see if there was a culprit here. Apart from wobbly windows which has always munched CPU usage, there wasn't anything of note. However, "wobbly windows" is now consuming > 90% on grabbing and moving windows as opposed to something like 45% previously.

Turned that off, but overall CPU usage still remains a lot higher than before. Is it due to X11, or X11 combined with nvidia driver?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
krisbeeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.06.2011, 16:29



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 49
Location: London
Status: Offline
OK, I found a previous aptosid image and restored it on a different drive, it's kde 4.4.5 with hald and not upower.

      Code:
infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "sweep" running Linux 2.6.37-0.slh.18-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2009-03 Μώμος - kde-
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400+ 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at
Videocard       nVidia NV43 [GeForce 6600 GT]  X.Org 1.9.4  [ 1280x1024@50.0hz ]                       
Network cards   nVidia MCP55                                                                           
Processes 123 | Uptime 8min | Memory 384.0/2013.6MB | HDD Hitachi HDT72502 Size 250GB (20%used) | GLX RNVIDIA 270.26 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.35 


On my hardware this desktop system is snappier. Even with wobbly windows enabled there are no massive jumps in kwin and/or X11 CPU usage.

It seems in my case the latest sofware (kde, upower, X11, nvidia etc.) have degraded performance.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 10:31



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
I have an nvidia card NV44A [GeForce 6200] installed, but I am using nouveau since the compilation problems with nvidia in AFAIR february. With this constellation KDE became _much_ faster with version 4.6 than it was with 4.4.

Maybe I will try the nvidia driver again, especially for probably a better power management. If so, I will report how it behaves.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
LatOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 14:44



Joined: 2010-09-19
Posts: 167

Status: Offline
Hopefully not related, I did noticed a high cup usage since I got KDE 4.6
If I ran "w" in a console, I would fine two instances of kdeinit4: kded4

      Code:
user       pts/0    :0               Mon22    4days  0.00s  3.41s kdeinit4: kded4 [kdeinit]
user       pts/1    :0               Mon22    4days  0.00s  3.41s kdeinit4: kded4 [kdeinit]


Kill -9 one of them makes the CPU to relax
NOTE: I haven't distupgraded since last Sat, maybe 4.6.3-2 fixes this behaivor
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
LatOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 18:31



Joined: 2010-09-19
Posts: 167

Status: Offline
I dist-upgraded and the kdeinit4 duplication is still there
      Code:
$ w
 14:24:36 up  3:35,  4 users,  load average: 0.19, 0.07, 0.06
USER     TTY      FROM              LOGIN@   IDLE   JCPU   PCPU WHAT
root     tty1                      11:10    3:07m  0.39s  0.35s -bash
user     pts/0    :0               10:49    3:34m  0.00s  0.45s kdeinit4: kded4 [kdeinit]
user     pts/1    :0               11:17    3:07m  0.00s  0.90s kdeinit4: kded4 [kdeinit]                     
user     pts/2    :0               14:24    0.00s  0.15s  0.00s w

I ran
init 3
apt-get dist-upgrade
init 5

If I press ^+ALT+F1 I go back to tty1
Pressing ^+ALT+F7 I see a blinking cursor in a blank screen
^+ALT+F8 sends me back to X
^+ALT+F9 ditto to ^+ALT+F7
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
LatOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.06.2011, 18:37



Joined: 2010-09-19
Posts: 167

Status: Offline
wow, k. what's going on?. My last post is from a different machine than the first one. In the machine of the second post I went to tty1 and run init 3 ; /etc/init.d/kdm stop then ran init 5 and now I have 3 kded4
      Code:
w
 14:33:37 up  3:44,  5 users,  load average: 0.55, 0.13, 0.08
USER     TTY      FROM              LOGIN@   IDLE   JCPU   PCPU WHAT
root     tty1                      11:10   13.00s  0.48s  0.44s -bash
user     pts/0    :0               10:49    3:43m  0.00s  0.45s kdeinit4: kded4 [kdeinit]                     
user     pts/1    :0               11:17    3:16m  0.00s  1.10s kdeinit4: kded4 [kdeinit]                     
user     pts/2    :0               14:33    3.00s  0.00s  0.24s kdeinit4: kded4 [kdeinit]                     
user     pts/3    :0               14:33    0.00s  0.14s  0.00s w
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
krisbeeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.06.2011, 08:14



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 49
Location: London
Status: Offline
I have swtiched from OpenGL to XRender and turned off animation in desktop effects and oxygen style. This has reduced the CPU load to something like before KDE 4.6.3. etc.

I cannot say this issue is solved for me.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
krisbeeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.06.2011, 16:56



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 49
Location: London
Status: Offline
After changing the look of my desktop I discovered by accident that "oxygen windows decorations" seems to be the culprit regarding freezes when maximising Konsole. Not using oxygen windows decoartions has resulted in fasting app loading, e.g. vlc, and overall system loads returning to something like before the big kde 4.6.3 upgrade.

May be there are some bug reports out there, to be honest I didn't look that hard. But I think I read somewhere that the oxygen theme has been troublesome with nvidia drivers in the past.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.06.2011, 19:35



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 316

Status: Offline
Could you tell me where is that setting (oxygen windows decorations)?

Thanks,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.06.2011, 20:03
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      finotti wrote:
Could you tell me where is that setting (oxygen windows decorations)?

Thanks,

Luis


system settings > workspace appearance and behavior > workspace appearance > windows decorations
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.06.2011, 20:28



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 316

Status: Offline
      piper wrote:

system settings > workspace appearance and behavior > workspace appearance > windows decorations


Thanks!

I have been having some problems (but not as bad as the OP), so I will try that. It's too bad as the Oxygen decorations look great...

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio