Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
arwaOffline
Post subject: Should I run upgrade-from-grub-legacy?  PostPosted: 20.09.2010, 09:10



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
Hello,
in a dist-upgrade last week grub2 came in and was configured to chainload the old grub1. Everything was fine, the rebooting did work.

Today I made another dist-upgrade and grub-pc (aka grub2) asked me where to install itself to. I did choose the MBR of my hard disc. Everything was fine, the rebooting did work again.

No I wonder if I still should execute upgrade-from-grub-legacy? (I did not yet.) The script looks like cleaning up old grub-configs?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Should I run upgrade-from-grub-legacy?  PostPosted: 20.09.2010, 09:14



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
yes, the script finalizes the grub2 installation. the chainload mode you are using is just a intermediate phase to secure, everything boots as it should. if that is the case, as seems for you, you should run it.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
broweOffline
Post subject: RE: Should I run upgrade-from-grub-legacy?  PostPosted: 20.09.2010, 17:29



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 155
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
After the system is confirmed working after 'upgrade-from-grub-legacy' are there any files / cruft that should be manually cleaned from the system?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Should I run upgrade-from-grub-legacy?  PostPosted: 20.09.2010, 18:01



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
all remains from grub-legacy have been removed on all systems here.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject: RE: Should I run upgrade-from-grub-legacy?  PostPosted: 22.09.2010, 08:24



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
Did run the script and everything is still working. *phuu*
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio