Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
krisbeeOffline
Post subject: approx v. apt-cacher-ng  PostPosted: 19.07.2011, 09:47



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 49
Location: London
Status: Offline
I've not used any kind of apt proxy before, but I'm about to put aptosid on two PCs and a laptop (non roaming) so I want to download updates just once. While the manual has info on using “approx” there's nothing about one of the possible alternatives, “apt-cacher-ng”.

I've read there are problems with “approx”, and “apt-cacher-ng” may be a better choice.

Is anyone using apt-cacher-ng with aptosid? What additional configuration, if any, is needed?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject: RE: approx v. apt-cacher-ng  PostPosted: 19.07.2011, 11:45
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 247

Status: Offline
There's nothing special about aptosid in this regard and yes there are people using apt-cacher-ng (but I'm not one of them).

I tried a few different approaches, then wrote my own and finally just gave up and started using squid for apt caching. Just an idea Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dpdt1Offline
Post subject: RE: approx v. apt-cacher-ng  PostPosted: 19.07.2011, 11:48



Joined: 2010-09-27
Posts: 48

Status: Offline
apt-cacher-ng works great with minor configuration changes.
check these instructions here :
http://acidborg.wordpress.com/2010/06/2 ... ver-10-04/
(remove the ubuntu repo)
should work fine.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: approx v. apt-cacher-ng  PostPosted: 19.07.2011, 12:21
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Both are fine, atm I am using apt-cacher-ng. The configuration is quite self explaining in the config files. If you need help with it, feel free to ask here. Just make sure to give your cache sufficient hdd space - it can grow a lot over time.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
krisbeeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.07.2011, 14:43



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 49
Location: London
Status: Offline
OK, I've installed apt-cacher-ng on the machine that will act as the apt-cacher-ng server.

Assuming I've understood dpdt1's ref and comment, the /etc/apt-cacher-ng/acng.conf can be as simple as:

      Code:
CacheDir: /var/cache/apt-cacher-ng
LogDir: /var/log/apt-cacher-ng
Port:3142
BindAddress: 0.0.0.0
Remap-debrep: file:deb_mirror*.gz /debian ; file:backends_debian
PidFile: /var/run/apt-cacher-ng/pid
ExTreshold: 4

But is there nothing to add about the various repositories used in in your sources.list.d, e.g.

deb http://ftp.spline.de/pub/aptosid/debian/ sid main fix.main
and
deb http://frickelplatz.de/debian/ sid main contrib non-free
and
deb http://deb.opera.com/opera/ stable non-free?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dpdt1Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.07.2011, 15:23



Joined: 2010-09-27
Posts: 48

Status: Offline
if you added the 02proxy file as stated in the link, then those are automatically added everytime you use apt-get/synaptic/whatever..
open your browser at localhost:3142 to see some more details and perform some actions from within the browser. remove expired (like apt-get autoclean) etc.

_________________
# apt-get remove frontiers
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
krisbeeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.07.2011, 16:15



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 49
Location: London
Status: Offline
Looking at the files created in /var/cache/apt-cacher-ng/ I see all my repos appeared to have been added automatically.

And, if you do not apt-clean, then you'll have two copies of downloads.

I think I have it working OK, on a quick test with the internet disconnected PC2 pulled two small package updates from PC1.

Will see what happens with today's large KDE update.

Thanks for the tips.

UPDATE: Lastest circa 200Mb DU cached and applied to 2nd PC OK.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio