Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
snvvOffline
Post subject: power_profile is missing [solved]  PostPosted: 07.08.2011, 06:28



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 295

Status: Offline
My laptop has very high temps and I attempted to test the dynpm and mid profile to see if it will be any better ( according to this post: http://www.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature )

However there is no /sys/class/drm/card0/device/ directory. on the other hand in my desktop there is. What might be wrong here?

My card is a Radeon HD 5470.

Thank you
snvv


Last edited by snvv on 07.08.2011, 15:54; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject: RE: power_profile is missing  PostPosted: 07.08.2011, 09:14
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 254

Status: Offline
I guess you are missing firmware-linux-nonfree which includes the non-free firmware for amd/ati devices. The firmware is needed for 3d and video acceleration.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.08.2011, 11:14



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 295

Status: Offline
firmware-linux-nonfree is installed. I reinstalled it anyway but nothing happens. The system is 64 bit kde-full Ημέρα.

OK Solved. I created radeon-kms.conf in /etc/modprobe.d/ with
options radeon modeset=1

Then
echo "profile" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method
echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile

GPU temperature is lower than with fglrx and the screen is quite fast (with dynpm flickers).

Regards
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio