Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
spockOffline
Post subject: [FIXED] hdspmixer broken in alsa-tools-gui  PostPosted: 04.08.2011, 13:52



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Near Milton Keynes, UK
Status: Offline
After a DU on 2011-08-03 02:00GMT, which seemed to go without issue, I now find that my 64-bit studio workstation is now unable to make sound Crying or Very sad because the file /usr/bin/hdspmixer has been removed due to not working with new kernels (although the file is still mentioned in my non-updated locate database).

Google shows me some hints:

In May, a temporary fix for Ubuntu users was to use the Sid package, but this no longer works even for Sid Sad
http://www.linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic ... amp;t=7098

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=629911
"you need alsa-tools 1.0.24.2 (yes .2) for correct operation, unfortunately, this version isn't released, yet."

Currently sid only has alsa-tools (1.0.24.1-1)
http://packages.debian.org/source/sid/alsa-tools

Does anyone have any suggestions of how to get hdspmixer back again, even an old version on an old kernel? I tried copying the file from my other 32-bit system, but that failed of course! Embarassed I'm not quite sure how to use git and make my own package. But I do still have alsa-tools-gui versions 1.0.23-3+b1, 1.0.23-4 and 1.0.23-5 packages in /var/cache/apt/archives

This is a major issue for me, as without hdspmixer my music studio is without sound, and my new sweetheart is coming round to stay at the weekend and I wanna serenade her... Razz


Last edited by spock on 09.09.2011, 20:01; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
spockOffline
15 Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.09.2011, 19:59



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Near Milton Keynes, UK
Status: Offline
[Devs please ignore this post, as clearly nobody here uses RME Hammerfall DSP soundcards, which are a niche product for multi-channel recording. Since this is hardly an aptosid problem, more an issue with Sid/upstream, I'm just replying here to point any Googlers straight to a temporary solution pending an upstream release, to save them hours of wading through links...]

Well, after a sadly silent month (!) in the studio Sad and much head-scratching, I have finally got sound working again Very Happy

http://packages.debian.org/sid/alsa-tools-gui
I excitedly thought this week's update in Sid of alsa-tools-gui to the required version 1.0.24.1-2 might fix the issue of hdspmixer not working, but alas no. Although now the hdspmixer binary is back in /usr/bin where it should be, the command fails, despite having already invoked hdsploader at bootup:

      Code:
malc@audentity:~$ ls -al /usr/bin/hdsp*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 155792 Sep  5 18:00 /usr/bin/hdspconf
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root   7688 Sep  5 18:00 /usr/bin/hdsploader
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 377536 Sep  5 18:00 /usr/bin/hdspmixer


malc@audentity:~$ hdspmixer
HDSPMixer 1.6 - Copyright (C) 2003 Thomas Charbonnel <thomas@undata.org>
This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
HDSPMixer is free software, see the file COPYING for details
Looking for RME cards :
Card 0 : RME Hammerfall DSP + Digiface at 0xfe6f0000, irq 21
Uninitialized HDSP card found.
Use hdsploader to upload configuration data to the card.
Card 1 : HD-Audio Generic at 0xfe9bc000 irq 85
No RME cards found.


malc@audentity:~$ hdsploader
hdsploader - firmware loader for RME Hammerfall DSP cards
Looking for HDSP + Multiface or Digiface cards :
Card 0 : RME Hammerfall DSP + Digiface at 0xfe6f0000, irq 21
Upload firmware for card hw:0
Hwdep ioctl error on card hw:0 : Device or resource busy.
Card 1 : HD-Audio Generic at 0xfe9bc000 irq 85

The answer was, strangely, to install the older version 1.0.23-3 from Squeeze, as suggested in the first post here:
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=637260
http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/alsa-tools-gui

HTH somebody!

Now I can make music again and serenade my goddess Cool
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
plutekOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.08.2012, 02:09



Joined: 2012-08-24
Posts: 4
Location: Toronto
Status: Offline
hi spock!

i also use hdsp hardware on aptosid! (a Multiface)

recently i've been doing some testing...

for me, alsa-tools-gui 1.0.25-2 is fine with kernel 3.1-6.slh.1, but fails with kernel 3.2.0-3-rt and kernel 3.5-2.slh.3 -- specifically, on the bad kernels, hdspmixer fails with a "HwDep ioctl failed. Metering stopped" error. the same version of hdspmixer is (so far!) completely solid with the 3.1.6 slh kernel.

i'm going to test with horo's most recent kernel as well -- that's 3.0.9.

please let me know if you have any interesting results with recent alsa-tools-gui or kernels, which might shed any light on any of this!

cheers!
.pltk.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
spockOffline
Post subject: [Necropost alert!]  PostPosted: 12.05.2013, 23:17



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Near Milton Keynes, UK
Status: Offline
Hi plutek, if you're still awake Cool

After sid unfroze and all upgrades passed without issue, I finally found the balls to remove the hold I'd had on alsa-tools-gui, and tonight took the plunge and installed version 1.0.27-2 replacing my olde (but working) version 1.0.23-3. Great! It works, along with a shiny new GUI for HDSPmixer, along with many other changes:

http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index. ... DSP_Loader

I'm seeing one tiny (new) issue in HDSPmixer: there is no signal moving in the level meter for my headphone output's right channel (#26), which is labelled "AN R". It just looks like silence without drawing any graphics in the channel, although sound passes OK and the fader works as it should raising and lowering volume. The level above it reports "minus infinity dB", which is obviously what it's drawing as a graphic (i.e., silence), but I am certainly hearing sound.

The left channel is fine, and the level meters in Ardour are of course both fine too. This happens using a variety of sound sources, both via JACK and without. Not a dealbreaker, but curious. There are no Debian bugs mentioning this, just another unrelated issue I'm not seeing.

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/pkgrepor ... -tools-gui

Is anyone else seeing this? Worth filing a report for?

P.S. Congratulations for the new aptosid and Debian Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio