Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
serega386Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 31.08.2011, 14:19



Joined: 2011-08-29
Posts: 8
Location: Санкт-Петербург
Status: Offline
i use gnome.
xrandr return only 1024x768 mode, and no variants.
don't determine second monitor.
... --addmode ... i'll know
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 31.08.2011, 14:46
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      serega386 wrote:
downgrade how-to:

1. create file /etc/apt/sources.list.d/testing.list with
deb http://ftp.ru.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
2. create file /etc/apt/preferences with
Package: xserver-*
Pin: release a=testing
Pin-Priority: 700
3. apt-get update
4. aptitude install xserver-xorg-core/2:1.10.4-1 xserver-common/2:1.10.4-1
5. apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-all firmware-linux xserver-xorg-input-all
6. apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-nvidia libgl1-nvidia-glx/testing nvidia-alternative/testing nvidia-glx/testing
7. cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf.2011.08.29 /etc/X11/xorg.conf
8. reboot
9. rm /etc/apt/sources.list.d/testing.list
10. rm /etc/apt/preferences
11. ./xorg-hold (http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&p=11372#11372)

resume: if you want something done, do it yourself.


You have been told once already that this is not recommended so please STOP posting it.

aptitude is also not recommended and will remove things it shouldn't have removed

Considering you only have 5 posts and a fairly new user (aptosid) and probably haven't read the manual, I strongly suggest you do so.

You want to do the above on your machine that is fine, we don't support it and won't help/recommend/encourage our users to do that and if they do, they are on there own, just like you.

Debian don't support this either.

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dieresOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.09.2011, 15:36



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
if the resolution of second screen is the only thing you belive to must install prop. nvidia driver and downgrade xorg, you should try to play with nouveau and xrandr.
If you have found the xrandr syntax for your needs you only have to search where in gdm config files you have to add them.

Or simple create a 2 line bashscript and link it to gnome autostart
or to your desktop and click on it.
By the way, waht is the output of xrandr without any parameters?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dieresOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.09.2011, 16:37



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
you use gdm3? Put the two lines before the last "exit 0" in
/etc/gdm3/Init/Default
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sunratOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2011, 09:32



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 7
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
I'm another dummy who stuffed up blob by D-U when I should not have (must not drink bourbon and do system maintenance Rolling Eyes ).I followed the wiki instructions that piper posted on page2 of this thread and now have my X back with nouveau.
Don't forget to remove nvidia traces in the config files as mentioned.
I don't think streaming flash video is acceptable, but it was borderline before anyway. Haven't tested any 3D. However X is better than no X.
Thanks to those who have contributed useful advice on this problem.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
msm-xOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.09.2011, 11:18



Joined: 2011-09-22
Posts: 1
Location: MSK
Status: Offline
Hello all!
I'm trapped in this issue too after D-U on new fresh system.

I'm using aptosid on five boxes for a last two years and everywhere Xorg version is 1.10 now.
Just after I got my brand new i7-2600, 12 GB of Corsair XMS-3 RAM box, with GTX580.
I've installed Imera, installed nvidia's drivers (just to look how my GPU working) and upgraded the system.
Epic fail! =((

There's no reason to use nouveau or other "driver" with the incredible power of GTX580 with 2GB GDDR5. It's just stupid =|
And, of course, I tried using "ignoreAbi" flag. There's sooooo many glitches and lags.

So, sadly, I reinstalled Imera again (in reason of very tricky downgrades) and next D-U will be moved to the long future.
It's the only way if you're using really powerful cards.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.09.2011, 14:34



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
      msm-x wrote:
Hello all!

installed nvidia's drivers (just to look how my GPU working) and upgraded the system.
Epic fail! =((



I have a GTX480, so I cannot say for certain about a GTX580, but you should try it this way:

1. Install *and update* the OS first
2. Follow the well-written procedure in the aptosid manual, to install dmakms and the nvidia-glx driver

It is working perfectly on my system.


      Code:
Host/Kernel/OS  "aptosidbox" running Linux 3.0-4.slh.4-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-02 Ἡμέρα - kde-lite - (201107131633) ]
CPU Info        8x Intel Core i7 950 @ 8192 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 2533.000 MHz ]
Videocard       nVidia GF100 [GeForce GTX 480]  X.Org 1.11.0  [ 1920x1200@50.0hz ]
Network cards   Marvell 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
Processes 280 | Uptime 17:35 | Memory 1087.5/5978.7MB | HDD OCZ-REVODRIVE,OCZ-REVODRIVE,WDC WD1002FAEX-0,WDC WD1002FAEX-0,KINGSTON SS100S2 Size 2136GB (2%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce GTX 480/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 4.1.0 NVIDIA 275.28 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.37
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Mte90Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.10.2011, 08:14



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 51
Location: Rieti
Status: Offline
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepor ... =643903#25
this as a tutorial for a downgrade of xserver...

_________________
I'm an italian Aptosid user!!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio