Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
fowlermOffline
Post subject: help loading module for Realtek 8169  PostPosted: 24.09.2010, 19:29



Joined: 2010-09-24
Posts: 1

Status: Offline
I am having a problem were the Realtek network cards are not seen in aptosid. I've used these same exact NIC's in a previous server running Debian 5 but they are not being seen now.

it appears the modules are installed:

/lib/modules/2.6.35-4.slh.11-aptosid-amd64/kernel/drivers/net/r8169.ko

but for some reason my two network cards are not seen. Any idea how I can get them working?

uname -a
Linux drblsrv 2.6.35-4.slh.11-aptosid-amd64 #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Sep 16 01:04:13 UTC 2010 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Interesting they are not even seen:
root@drblsrv:/lib/firmware# lspci
00:00.0 Memory controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 Memory Controller (rev a3)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 ISA Bridge (rev a3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation CK804 SMBus (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 IDE (rev f2)
00:07.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
00:19.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:19.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:19.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:19.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
05:05.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
0a:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7800 GT] (rev a1)


Thanks!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
lumaOffline
Post subject: RE: help loading module for Realtek 8169  PostPosted: 17.02.2011, 05:44



Joined: 2011-02-17
Posts: 1

Status: Offline
Bump. Same problem with Aptosid 2011 (KDE full) with a EVGA E758 board.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: help loading module for Realtek 8169  PostPosted: 17.02.2011, 08:16



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
there is one big difference in that regard between debian 5 and aptosid (or debian6 as well) you need to provide nonfree firmware by yourself.
on the other hand your kernel is quite old.
but the card not being seen is a different story
according to lspci your ethernet card is: 00:0a.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: help loading module for Realtek 8169  PostPosted: 17.02.2011, 16:33



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      devil wrote:
according to lspci your ethernet card is: 00:0a.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)

greetz
devil


That card uses the forcedeth driver not the realtek one. Also definitely a good idea to update the kernel as well
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio