Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
dragoncityOffline
Post subject: no sound on hp dv6-6102AX AMD 4 core laptop  PostPosted: 05.09.2011, 03:26



Joined: 2011-03-09
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
Hi, yet another 'sound' problem Smile

I can run sound test option using KMIX, and a simple tune is played, however I cannot get any audio software to connect to the 4 inbuilt speakers.

Using VLC to play a music CD, the program shows the tunes, times, etc, and appears to play as it shows a progress meter.

However no sound is heard.

If I try kaffeine , then it complains with 'cannot create audio output' error message.

I've looked at a number of sound related posts and have collected some similar output like those posts and it seems that the system should be making sounds Smile

I have no idea what I should be doing to get sound to function.

==============================================
brett@aptosid64:~$ lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_idt 46830 1
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 19568 1
snd_hda_intel 18941 4
snd_hda_codec 64524 3 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 4567 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 56977 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_seq 39264 0
snd_timer 14839 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 4196 1 snd_seq
snd 40935 17 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore 4410 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 5653 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
brett@aptosid64:~$ head -n 1 /proc/asound/card0/codec*
Codec: ATI R6xx HDMI
brett@aptosid64:~$ head -n 1 /proc/asound/card1/codec*
Codec: IDT 92HD81B1X5
brett@aptosid64:~$ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Generic ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xf0444000 irq 53
1 [Generic_1 ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xf0440000 irq 16
brett@aptosid64:~$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:01.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Device 1714
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Hudson Azalia Controller (rev 01)
brett@aptosid64:~$ uname -r
2.6.39-3.slh.1-aptosid-686
======================================================
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: no sound on hp dv6-6102AX AMD 4 core laptop  PostPosted: 05.09.2011, 10:01
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

Isn't the audio device muted?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dragoncityOffline
Post subject: RE: no sound on hp dv6-6102AX AMD 4 core laptop  PostPosted: 05.09.2011, 22:43



Joined: 2011-03-09
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
As far as I can tell sound is not muted.

VLC displays a 'sound on' icon ( no litle red 'x') and the slider slope is coloured and filled to the right ( max volume).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: no sound on hp dv6-6102AX AMD 4 core laptop  PostPosted: 06.09.2011, 09:19
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Use (in cli) alsamixer to control your sound hardware, and (as root) do alsactl store to make them permanent.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
dragoncityOffline
Post subject: RE: no sound on hp dv6-6102AX AMD 4 core laptop  PostPosted: 07.09.2011, 04:10



Joined: 2011-03-09
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
chris,
I opened up up two konsoles ( one as root), in user konsole I ran alsamixer, (what a terrible interface Smile,
and after some mucking about set the sound card to device 0 ( not default), I exited assuming some info had been set somewhere, then I entered the root konsole
and ran "alsactl store 0" -- is this what you meant ??

In any case no sound is heard VLC, volume set high, not mute, track slider moves, etc.

As an aside : sound control in Linux appears to be a massive mess Smile

I installed a copy of MEPIS 64, find sound options different to aptosid, Amorak plays its default tune, but refuses to play off the CD, Kaffeine plays a VIDEO , shows pictures, but no sound !

BTW: sound system worked fine under Windows 7 Smile [ Since deleted as I want the laptop to be Linux only ]
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dragoncityOffline
Post subject: RE: no sound on hp dv6-6102AX AMD 4 core laptop  PostPosted: 07.09.2011, 08:30



Joined: 2011-03-09
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
Some success ! I have finally managed to get Kaffeine working ! Unfortuately
I have no real idea why ! I removed/reinstalled Kaffeine, updated a few libs
and installed "volumecontrol.app" at the suggestion of a friend who had had
similar problems with a Mandriva installation.

Not all tools tried are functioning however. Below are most of the packages I installed
in a effort to get "something" toplay CD's !

==========various software tools tried to get a cd played =======

kaffeine : did not work initially , works now, I did remove & reinstall it.

vlc : looks good but did not make a sound, and still does not.

kmix : played the test 'tune', fairly low volume, but
hearable, now plays loudly.

========== various tools & libraries installed =========

csound-data

libcsound64-5.2

lib64asound2-plugins

lib64asound2

libasound2

esound-common

alsaplayer-alsa

snd

volumecontrol.app

alsa-utils

linux-sound-base

There are of course also the standard ones installed with the installation
of aptosid.


========================

I think installing volumecontrol.app ( suggested by a friend ) probably was the reason
the on-board speakers started working. I doubt that I would have found "volumecontrol.app"
by myself.

Some of the programs are still not working, and it would be nice to sort out why as vlc
looks more versatile than Kaffeine.

But Kaffeine is working as expected , both on the 4 on-board speakers, which arn't
too bad quality surprisingly and the external speakers via the Audio Headphone jack.

So its sort of solved, but still many unanswered questions.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio