Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
dptOffline
Post subject: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 13.09.2011, 10:29



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
Once upon a time there was an option to add nonfree to sources.list during istallation.

Do we take it that this option has been intentionally removed?

Thanks.

dpt

EDIT: First what I have to go for is flashplugin (nonfree)

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 13.09.2011, 13:48
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

It was intentionary removed. I think it was even before the transition to aptosid.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 13.09.2011, 13:57
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
You may still simply edit your sources manually (and install flashplugin-nonfree) before starting the installer. All your changes you do in live mode will be on your installation, too.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: RE: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 13.09.2011, 15:37
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

no it's not removed but only added when it makes immediately sense
if yor system needs firmware and you install it ( the installer offers also that possibility ) it will add the needed sources.

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 13.09.2011, 17:03



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
      slam wrote:
You may still simply edit your sources manually (and install flashplugin-nonfree) before starting the installer. All your changes you do in live mode will be on your installation, too.
Greetings,
Chris


I had thought about it (like setting the language and time-zone at time of boot of Live CD) but wondered how I could do it with a Live CD. I thing I have done it for WLAN (this install today was with LAN, which just worked). I will see by running Live CD tomorrow how to edit the sources.list.

One more issue is NTFS. Reading as I recall is not a problem, writing has suddenly become one. Even if I use NTFS-3G. I do not like to open Dolphin as root (using Alt+F2 and kdesu) to write after changing 'ro' to 'rw' in fstab. And the funny part is and 'move to trash' takes infinite time.

Can we have, by default (maybe with option to change to read only), NTFS rw enabled in all partitions (except maybe the 1st)on installation?

Thanks.Have a nice day.

dpt

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 13.09.2011, 21:55
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
fstab
      Code:
UUID=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx   /media/disk?part?    ntfs-3g    rw,uid=1000,gid=1000,dmask=0002,fmask=0003    0    0
reboot

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 13.09.2011, 22:34
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
      dpt wrote:
Can we have, by default (maybe with option to change to read only), NTFS rw enabled in all partitions (except maybe the 1st)on installation?


As far as i know NTFS isn't an open filesystem, but reverse engineered. Reading can fail - at least this doesn't break data, but given that a write operation could destroy the entry partition because some cornercase wasn't properly "guessed" (nothing else is reverse engineering) this isn't a risk we should expose users to by default. It's better to raise awareness for these kind of issues rather than hiding them even if it is inconvenient. If you possibly want to destroy your system, you should at least approve this.
(Remember that many applications will create files automatically for you in a folder, so just opening the drive in your filemanager might create a file and therefore possibly destroys the data…

Drivers to implement ext{2,3,4} on windows exist on the other hand…

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 15.09.2011, 15:23



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
      Quote:

All your changes you do in live mode will be on your installation, too.


I always thought the installer would extract the SquashFS (including some modifications) and ignores new packages and changes made in Live-Mode Embarassed

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: adding nonfree during install of aptosid  PostPosted: 15.09.2011, 17:40



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
[quote="sx9"]
      Quote:

All your changes you do in live mode will be on your installation, too.


Good, one can see better before installation.

dpt

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio