Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
arwaOffline
Post subject: [SOLVED] chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 08:00



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
After D-U chromium still starts up, but the only thing it displays is "Aw, Snap! Something went wrong while displaying this webpage. ..." This message occurs as start screen as well when trying to open a web page.

      Code:
# dpkg -l "*chromium*" | grep ii
ii  chromium                                   15.0.874.106~r107270-1       Google's open source chromium web browser
ii  chromium-inspector                         15.0.874.106~r107270-1       page inspector for the chromium browser
ii  chromium-l10n                              15.0.874.106~r107270-1       chromium-browser language packages
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 12:53



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
I had installed chromium once.
Did not exactly like. Maybe some problems.

So I have stuck to basic rules and use what has always worked well- iceweasel.

Can anyone tell me why chromium may be used?

Thanks.

Have a nice day.

dpt

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 13:00



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 41

Status: Offline
I've been trying chromium quite a bit lately and I like it. Not sure how to downgrade to the previous version in sid though. Are previous versions in sid available somewhere? If I can get that, I suppose I could use dpkg to install it.

thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 13:10



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 41

Status: Offline
sorry to answer my own post, but fyi if someone doesn't know how to do this. Used apt-get to remove chromium and chromium-inspector. Then downloaded the .deb of each from testing. Then install chromium-inspector, then chromium.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
noxOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 13:52



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 45

Status: Offline
Hi,

I've got the same problem...

      Quote:
Can anyone tell me why chromium may be used?


1. Well chromium for me is much faster then iceweasel, where switching between tabs while browsing sometimes takes 2-4 seconds !!!

2. I'm currently working on some chromium-extensions...

and today is a very sad day for me...

Crying or Very sad
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 15:37
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

Downgrading to the version of testing did not solve the problem itself.
I think some config file was updated/corrupted while upgrading to the new version on sid.
After downgrading, renaming the folder ~/.config/chromium, then restarting, I don't see
"Aw, snap" any more. I copied bookmarks back...

Not digging exactly where is problem. May be new version can work with empty config folder, too.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 16:06



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 497
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
Even after deleting ~/.config/chromium the browser can't render any site.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 16:10



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 41

Status: Offline
Don't know, downgrading worked for me.

I'm sure it will be fixed in Debian soon. Version 15.0.874.106 works without problems on my Arch box so I doubt it's an upstream problem.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 16:26
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
The new version in Sid is broken. Latest version from testing does well with a fresh config. If you use Chromium, wait till it is fixed.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 09.11.2011, 01:51



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      slam wrote:
The new version in Sid is broken. Latest version from testing does well with a fresh config. If you use Chromium, wait till it is fixed.
Greetings,
Chris


Any bug report on this?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
deachOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 09.11.2011, 04:11



Joined: 2010-09-18
Posts: 31

Status: Offline
I got caught by it too. Just enabled testing and got chromium and chromium-inspector from there. The testing version is working fine till they get it fixed.

Regards,
Deach
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 09.11.2011, 06:47



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
      DeepDayze wrote:
Any bug report on this?

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=647992
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alexkOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: chromium browser does not work anymore  PostPosted: 09.11.2011, 15:29



Joined: 2010-10-01
Posts: 181
Location: Bay state
Status: Offline
The previous Sid version is now the testing version and it works fine, so I'm staying with that. I noticed that the current google-chrome-stable is the same version as the current chromium in Sid, I don't know if it suffers from the same problems, but I expect they'll be fixed soon. I know that chromium is the freer, less encumbered version.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 21.11.2011, 22:08



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
To whom do we owe the thanks for the fixed chromium-browser in the aptosid repo? I really appreciate it -- I can't believe debian has left that known-broken package in their sid repo over 1 week now.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.11.2011, 07:31



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
/usr/share/doc/chromium/changelog.Debian.gz
      Code:
chromium-browser (15.0.874.106~r107270-1+c0.aptosid.1) unstable; urgency=low

  * Non-maintainer upload.
  * Revert "Merge 104421 - Fix library paths for preloading NSS on Ubuntu
    11.10." from Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>.

 -- Stefan Lippers-Hollmann <s.l-h@gmx.de>  Mon, 21 Nov 2011 15:20:32 +0100

Thank you, Stefan.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio