Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
finottiOffline
Post subject: ia32-libs (again)  PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 12:50



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 326

Status: Offline
Dear all,

It seems that a new ia32-libs-gtk is in the frickelplatz repository, which I assume fixes the previous conflict with ia32-libs. So I did a DU, but had a problem (see below). Here is some info:

      Code:


root@t510[/home/finotti]# apt-cache policy ia32-libs-gtk
ia32-libs-gtk:
  Installed: 20100908
  Candidate: 20100908
  Version table:
 *** 20100908 0
        500 http://frickelplatz.de/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     20090804 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
root@t510[/home/finotti]# apt-cache policy ia32-libs
ia32-libs:
  Installed: 20090808
  Candidate: 20100908
  Version table:
     20100908 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
 *** 20090808 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


      Code:

root@t510[/home/finotti]# infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "t510" running Linux 2.6.35-4.towo.3-frickel-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2010-01 Ύπνος - kde-full - (201006131622) ]
CPU Info        (1) Intel Core i5 M 520 @ 3072 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 2400.000 MHz ]
                (2) Intel Core i5 M 520 @ 3072 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 2400.000 MHz ]
Videocard       nVidia GT218 [NVS 3100M]  X.Org 1.7.7  [ 1366x768@50.0hz ]
Network cards   Intel 82577LM Gigabit
                Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200
Processes 149 | Uptime 12min | Memory 503.9/3829.0MB | HDD ST9320423AS Size 320GB (21%used) | GLX Renderer NVS 3100M/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 3.2.0 NVIDIA 195.36.31 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.31


The problem:
      Code:

root@t510[/home/finotti]# apt-get dist-upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
You might want to run 'apt-get -f install' to correct these.
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 ia32-libs-gtk : Depends: ia32-libs (>= 20100908) but 20090808 is installed
E: Unmet dependencies. Try using -f.


root@t510[/home/finotti]# apt-get -f install
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  ia32-libs
The following packages will be upgraded:
  ia32-libs
1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 97 not upgraded.
13 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0B/33.6MB of archives.
After this operation, 8,184kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
(Reading database ... 222271 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to replace ia32-libs 20090808 (using .../ia32-libs_20100908_amd64.deb) ...
Unpacking replacement ia32-libs ...
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/ia32-libs_20100908_amd64.deb (--unpack):
 trying to overwrite '/usr/lib32/libnspr4.so.0d', which is also in package ia32-libs-libnspr4 4.8.4-0.0
configured to not write apport reports
                                      dpkg-deb: subprocess paste killed by signal (Broken pipe)
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/ia32-libs_20100908_amd64.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)


Is there a fix, or should I just wait?

Thanks,

Luis

P.S.: I know that the frickelplatz repository is not official, so it's OK if I don't get support... Smile I just thought there was a good chance I would.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: ia32-libs (again)  PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 15:36



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 500
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
Remove all the decentralized ia32-libs-foo, they are not in any repo.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
pumrelOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 18:43



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 117
Location: Czech Republic
Status: Offline
I've had the same problem
This was the solution:
      Code:
dpkg -i --force-overwrite /var/cache/apt/archives/ia32-libs_20100908_amd64.deb
apt-get -f install
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
clearyOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 23:01



Joined: 2010-08-27
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
I've moved this here for a several reasons
* 3rd party repo packages
* the colourful history of ia32-libs
* the recommendation of the --force-overwrite dpkg flag...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aylaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 06:41



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 50
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Hi,

after d-u this morning the situation seems to be lightly better.

      Code:
apt-cache policy ia32-libs
ia32-libs:
  Installiert: 20100914
  Kandidat:    20100914
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 20100914 0
        500 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
l# apt-cache policy ia32-libs-gtk
ia32-libs-gtk:
  Installiert: 20100914
  Kandidat:    20100914
  ....


Apt was complaining about the situation with the "workaround".
      Code:
dpkg --purge ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1

-I had to do this multiple times?-
and an
      Code:
apt-get -f install


setting things right again.

Flashplugin of the "workaround" -flashplugin-nonfree:
Installiert: 2:10.1.82.76.1- is working again.

greets
ayla
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 11:42



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 326

Status: Offline
Thanks towo for the help!

I removed all ia32-libs-* and I had to remove all packages that depended on them. After that the new packages installed without a problem.

After that I could reinstall all packages removed, except for "flashplayer-mozilla", from the infamous French repository, which was what I used to install flash (on AMD64 with nspluginwrapper). I cannot install it now:

      Code:

root@t510[/home/finotti]# apt-get install flashplayer-mozilla
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Recommended packages:
  gsfonts-x11
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  flashplayer-mozilla
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/4,724kB of archives.
After this operation, 12.0MB of additional disk space will be used.
Selecting previously deselected package flashplayer-mozilla.
(Reading database ... 236274 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking flashplayer-mozilla (from .../flashplayer-mozilla_2%3a10.1.82.76-0.1_amd64.deb) ...
Setting up flashplayer-mozilla (2:10.1.82.76-0.1) ...
nspluginwrapper: no appropriate viewer found for /usr/lib/flashplayer/libflashplayer.so
dpkg: error processing flashplayer-mozilla (--configure):
 subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1
configured to not write apport reports
                                      Errors were encountered while processing:
 flashplayer-mozilla
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)


So, I've purged it and tried the workaround from http://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer, but:

      Code:

root@t510[/home/finotti]# dpkg -i ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+lenny1_amd64.deb
(Reading database ... 236274 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking ia32-libs-workaround-499043 (from ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+lenny1_amd64.deb) ...
dpkg: error processing ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+lenny1_amd64.deb (--install):
 trying to overwrite '/usr/lib32/libplds4.so.0d', which is also in package ia32-libs 20100914
dpkg-deb: subprocess paste killed by signal (Broken pipe)
Errors were encountered while processing:
 ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+lenny1_amd64.deb


Again, not necessarily expecting support (thanks for moving this to the appropriate area), but I'd appreciate if anyone would have any suggestions.

Thanks,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 13:17
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

now you can see youtube using gnash:
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... highlight=
so I'd suggest saying bye to non-free flash player and start using gnash
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 14:46



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 300

Status: Offline
muchan I wish gnash to be more mature for everyday use, but it doesn't play most of the sites i visit.

btw I have similar problems with the flash workaround.

Please note, Adobe admitted latest flash for all OS's have several vulnerabilities that they will fix during the next weeks Shocked
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 14:56



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
So hopefully Adobe will fix such bugs you mention, but don't hold your breath Very Happy

Lightspark and gnash still are works in progress, don't forget. At some point they'll be at the stage that these plugins will play just about any Flash content thrown at them so then we all can say bye-bye to Adobe Flash Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
doctordruidphdOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.09.2010, 22:10



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 22
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Status: Offline
There still seems to be a problem with 32-bit applications, somewhere.
I got the ia32-lib-gtk package to load just fine, and I also reloaded ia32-libs, which also went perfectly.

But I still cannot run firefox (the 32 bit version, downloaded from mozilla).
Today's update removed some ia32 packages:

ia32-libs-libcurl3
1a32-libs-libidn4
ia32-libs-libnss3
ia32-libs-libnspr4
ia32-libs-ssh2

When I try to run firefox, I get the following error, and an immediate crash:

/opt/firefox/firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libcairo.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I tried making a symbolic link from /usr/lib32/libcairo.s0.2 to /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2, and now I get the error

/opt/firefox/firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libcairo.so.2: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

and an immediate crash, no further warnings.

This all did work before the ia32-libs-gtk problem.

Is this something that will iron out with time, or is there some fix I need to apply?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
myloOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.09.2010, 23:16



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 116
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline
      doctordruidphd wrote:
...
But I still cannot run firefox (the 32 bit version, downloaded from mozilla)....


iceweasel is the official version for this browser under aptosid os. you shuld use the browser that comes with aptosid, that makes it troublefree and suppportable. I think it is better you convert or purge and replace it!

_________________
Regards
mylo

Linux 3.1-6.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64[2010-03 Ἀπάτη (201012262151)]
Intel Core2 Duo E6550 @ Cache/Ram 4MB/4GB nVidia G72 7300 nouveau 2*250GB
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
doctordruidphdOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 17.09.2010, 01:38



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 22
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Status: Offline
Official or not, I do not like iceweasel at all. It is several versions behind firefox, so the extensions do not work. It was working fine until the ia32-libs problems. Also thunderbird does not work, and no, the ice* version of thunderbird is also not what I want to use. I haven't tried wine since the upgrade, but I suspect if anything in ia32-libs is broken, it might not work either. So abandoning firefox is not much of a solution.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
clearyOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 17.09.2010, 01:58



Joined: 2010-08-27
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
      doctordruidphd wrote:
Official or not, I do not like iceweasel at all. It is several versions behind firefox, so the extensions do not work. It was working fine until the ia32-libs problems. Also thunderbird does not work, and no, the ice* version of thunderbird is also not what I want to use. I haven't tried wine since the upgrade, but I suspect if anything in ia32-libs is broken, it might not work either. So abandoning firefox is not much of a solution.


Iceweasel 3.6.9 is in debian experimental -

There is a little discussion on maintiaining it at:
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... c&t=76
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alexkOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.10.2010, 22:34



Joined: 2010-10-01
Posts: 192

Status: Offline
      doctordruidphd wrote:
When I try to run firefox, I get the following error, and an immediate crash:

/opt/firefox/firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libcairo.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

This all did work before the ia32-libs-gtk problem.

Is this something that will iron out with time, or is there some fix I need to apply?

I had the same error trying to get Adobe Reader 9 to run the other day. I found out that libcairo isn't in towo's frickelplatz ia32-libs-gtk package, version 20100914-1, but it's in the 20100914 version from Debian Sid. When I downgraded to the Sid version, all was well.

Is there some reason for libcairo missing from towo's package, or is this an omission?
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
doctordruidphdOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 01:36



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 22
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Status: Offline
Thanks for the information; downgrading ia32-libs-gtk (and ia32-libs as well) solved the problem.

I am trying to pin them to sid; did I do this right?

In the file /etc/apt/preferences.d/ia32-libs:
      Code:

Package: ia32-libs ia32-libs-gtk ia32-libs-xulrunner ia32-sun-java6-bin
Pin: release a=sid
Pin-Priority: 100

Followed by:

apt-get update
apt-get install --reinstall ia32-libs/sid ia32-libs-gtk/sid
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio