Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
orinocoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.12.2011, 15:11



Joined: 2011-01-28
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
      orinoco wrote:
What's wrong with libxine1?


Wrong xine version. Now it works.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
detaosOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.12.2011, 18:07
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 166
Location: floating in the ether
Status: Offline
From the debian-kde mailing list:

4.7.2 won't be uploaded to sid.
4.7.3 won't be uploaded at all.
4.7.4 will be uploaded to qt-kde.debian.net soon.

_________________
#aptosid-art ftw!
(what would cleary do?)
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.12.2011, 07:31



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
If 4.7.2 will never be uploaded to sid, why is it uploaded to experimental? Is there an technical advantage of having the packages in experimental instead of experimental-snapshots?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.12.2011, 17:10
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 480

Status: Offline
A few more people testing it - and it's build on more architectures (debian is mostly the first "user" complaining about build-failures on arm{el,hf} or mips{,el}, even through (more or less) mainstream hardware exists for those (e.g. your android phones are arm-hardware), this hardware isn't powerful enough to build big stuff like KDE on it - but it can be used on them. And you want to find this buildfailures better now than in the middle of the transition (as KDE takes at least two weeks to build on all architectures; and each buildfailure would reset the counter…).

And the package(names) moved through NEW, so in case 4.7.4 or on of the following versions gets a slot by the release team, an upload to sid directly would be possible (Provided that it doesn't add new package names)

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
hefeeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.12.2011, 03:06



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 26

Status: Offline
And another advantage is, that you can file and find bugs via bugs.debian.org (aka bts) for these packages.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.12.2011, 08:00



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
Thank you for the answers. It is interesting to read about the reasons for experimental packages..
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
belzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.12.2011, 15:37



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
according to http://anonscm.debian.org/gitweb/?p=pkg ... 3b8068ee73 and http://anonscm.debian.org/gitweb/?p=pkg ... 4a25e59ddb kde 4.7.4 is coming to experimental
We're not going to have a Christmas gift for unstable. Let's see if it become true before the end of the year!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.12.2011, 16:24



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
With KDE SC 4.8 release on the horizon, I'm sure this could be the release that can hit Sid directly provided that no new or changed package names are encountered as well as major showstopper bugs detected.

It sure has been a really long road in getting 4.7 to debian and likewise with KDE 4.6.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
belzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.12.2011, 16:54



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
      DeepDayze wrote:

It sure has been a really long road in getting 4.7 to debian and likewise with KDE 4.6.

True. How can I, a simple enthusiastic user, help debian to make next version faster to come to sid? Do anyone have a tip?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.12.2011, 17:08



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      belze wrote:
      DeepDayze wrote:

It sure has been a really long road in getting 4.7 to debian and likewise with KDE 4.6.

True. How can I, a simple enthusiastic user, help debian to make next version faster to come to sid? Do anyone have a tip?


if you aren't a developer type you could help with testing at least
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
domiciusOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.12.2011, 17:54



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 35
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Status: Offline
      belze wrote:
How can I, a simple enthusiastic user, help debian to make next version faster to come to sid? Do anyone have a tip?

Take a look at http://pkg-kde.alioth.debian.org/join.html

_________________
domicius
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
belzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.12.2011, 10:34



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
      DeepDayze wrote:

if you aren't a developer type you could help with testing at least

for testing it would be nice to have packages to test first... and if you ask for packages, than you are disturbing devs.


      domicius wrote:

They ask for bug fixing. I don't have any coding skill.

P.S. it seems that 4.7.4 entered experimental. Downloading right now.

edit: in i386 it wants to remove A LOT OF STUFF! DO NOT UPGRADE if you have experimental kde installed! Don't knmow about amd64.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.12.2011, 12:32
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
      belze wrote:
edit: in i386 it wants to remove A LOT OF STUFF! DO NOT UPGRADE if you have experimental kde installed! Don't knmow about amd64.
Whoever gave you the advice to dist-upgrade against the experimental repo is not your friend. NEVER DO THAT! Instead, simply do
      Code:
apt-get install kde-window-manager -t experimental
in init 3. That way the upgrade runs without problems.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
belzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.12.2011, 12:43



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
slam, i did install kde packages previously, when released by qt-kde devs. It is an automatic task to upgrade them from experimental. I think other users did it too, and I am warning them about the incomplete upgrade status, I am not suggesting anyone to upgrade the system using -t experimental! And this discussion is under "Experimental Forums » User Scripts & Dragons"!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.12.2011, 12:51
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 480

Status: Offline
      belze wrote:
      domicius wrote:

They ask for bug fixing. I don't have any coding skill.

Thats a misunderstanding. You don't need to be a coder to fix bugs. Many debian maintainers are non-coders. At least half of fixing a bug is getting it into a state in which a coder can have a look at it. E.g.: Is it reproducible? How? Fixed in newer versions? In fact a user error/question? Already reported upstream? (Forwarded) The pro's call that bug-triage.

Also, there are non-coding bugs: Typo in documentation. Missing documentation. Incomplete translation, …

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio