Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
finottiOffline
Post subject: recovery partition not showing up in grub  PostPosted: 06.12.2011, 05:01



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 294

Status: Offline
Dear all,

I've just installed aptosid in a Lenovo Thinkpad W520. All seems to be working, but grub does not show the recovery partition:

      Code:

root@w520[/home/finotti]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x8132d846

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048     2459647     1228800    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2         2459648   416739327   207139840    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3       944003072   976771071    16384000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda4       416739328   944003071   263631872   83  Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order


I am pretty sure sda3 is the recovery partition...

      Code:

root@w520[/home/finotti]# cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="0"
if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  insmod vbe
  insmod vga
  insmod video_bochs
  insmod video_cirrus
}

insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835
if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
  set gfxmode=640x480
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  insmod part_msdos
  insmod ext2
  set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835
  set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.1-4.slh.3-aptosid-amd64' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835
        echo    'Loading Linux 3.1-4.slh.3-aptosid-amd64 ...'
        linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.1-4.slh.3-aptosid-amd64 root=UUID=f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835 ro  quiet
        echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd  /boot/initrd.img-3.1-4.slh.3-aptosid-amd64
}
menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.39-3.slh.1-aptosid-amd64' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835
        echo    'Loading Linux 2.6.39-3.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 ...'
        linux   /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.39-3.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 root=UUID=f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835 ro  quiet
        echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd  /boot/initrd.img-2.6.39-3.slh.1-aptosid-amd64
}
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835
        linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835
        linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, experimental multiboot)" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835
        multiboot       /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200, experimental multiboot)" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='(hd0,msdos4)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f648ea5c-16fd-4b2e-bfec-f996d6f6f835
        multiboot       /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda1)" --class windows --class os {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ntfs
        set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root CC16DEA916DE93B4
        chainloader +1
}
menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda2)" --class windows --class os {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ntfs
        set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0252E2B152E2A89D
        chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###


I will eventually need to wipe this installation and return it to original installation, so I need access to the recovery partition... Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Best to all,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alexkOffline
Post subject: RE: recovery partition not showing up in grub  PostPosted: 06.12.2011, 17:54



Joined: 2010-10-01
Posts: 177
Location: Bay state
Status: Offline
Not sure why update-grub isn't picking up that partition, but you could probably boot it from the Grub command line with something like:
      Code:
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
parttool (hd0,msdos3) hidden-
parttool (hd0,msdos3) boot+
set root=(hd0,msdos3)
chainloader +1
boot

You could type at the Grub command line:
      Code:
set root=(hd0

followed by <TAB> to see available partitions by argument completion. You could also try:
      Code:
ls
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: recovery partition not showing up in grub  PostPosted: 06.12.2011, 19:30



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 294

Status: Offline
      alexk wrote:
Not sure why update-grub isn't picking up that partition, but you could probably boot it from the Grub command line with something like:
      Code:
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
parttool (hd0,msdos3) hidden-
parttool (hd0,msdos3) boot+
set root=(hd0,msdos3)
chainloader +1
boot

You could type at the Grub command line:
      Code:
set root=(hd0

followed by <TAB> to see available partitions by argument completion. You could also try:
      Code:
ls


Thank you for your reply!

Following your commands, I get:

      Code:

BOOTMGR is missing
Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart


I have no error message when issuing those commands, and <TAB> does show that msdos3 has label "Lenovo_Recovery". Any ideas?

Thanks,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: recovery partition not showing up in grub  PostPosted: 06.12.2011, 21:02



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 294

Status: Offline
OK, it seems that the Recovery utility is not installed by default. Since I did not use Windows at all (went straight to installing Linux) I did not realize that.

Now, I tried to install it from Windows, but it gave an error regarding writing to the MBR, as now it is taken by grub. I think I might need to install Windows bootloader in the MBR, install the recovery software, then reinstall grub (from the live CD). Or does anyone have any other ideas?

Thanks for the help,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: recovery partition not showing up in grub  PostPosted: 06.12.2011, 23:47



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 689

Status: Offline
Usually, recovery partitions have their own (often DOS based) bootloader (in partition), so just chainmounting should work (also read http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Hidden_Protected_Area), however fun like HPA (host protected area) and the like might make it a little difficult.

Disclaimer: I haven't dealt with recovery partitions myself so far - and when I do encounter them, I usually blow them away (install media on external/ optical media and current drivers are imho more convenient to deal with).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ConvBSDOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.12.2011, 05:00



Joined: 2010-09-16
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
Hi,

An idea:
Why you won't mount the recovery partition to see what's there.
Maybe it's empty.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alexkOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.12.2011, 15:54



Joined: 2010-10-01
Posts: 177
Location: Bay state
Status: Offline
I can't say I have experience booting recovery partitions, either, sorry. Just based on some experience booting OS's from Grub, I can think of trying the old trick of hiding the other Windows partitions:

      Code:
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
parttool (hd0,msdos3) hidden-
parttool (hd0,msdos1) hidden+
parttool (hd0,msdos2) hidden+
parttool (hd0,msdos3) boot+
set root=(hd0,msdos3)
chainloader +1
boot

I assume /dev/sda1 (msdos1) is a small Windows boot partition and is what you use to boot Windows.

If you can't find a way to activate the rescue partition, I believe you can generally order recovery DVDs, though probably for a fee.

Boot Info Script may also be useful (though of course use at your own risk).
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: recovery partition not showing up in grub  PostPosted: 08.12.2011, 02:14



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      slh wrote:
Usually, recovery partitions have their own (often DOS based) bootloader (in partition), so just chainmounting should work (also read http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Hidden_Protected_Area), however fun like HPA (host protected area) and the like might make it a little difficult.

Disclaimer: I haven't dealt with recovery partitions myself so far - and when I do encounter them, I usually blow them away (install media on external/ optical media and current drivers are imho more convenient to deal with).


Most systems have an option in Windows to create recovery CD/DVD's which will place all the data in the recovery partition onto the media where you can then recover systems where the disk has failed completely. I generally do that then blow all the partitions away and install Aptosid. IBM/Lenovo systems have HPA and there's most likely a setting in the BIOS to turn HPA off on such systems so that you can then utilize the whole disk
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio