Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
someoneanywhereOffline
15 Post subject: No X : FIXED  PostPosted: 13.12.2011, 20:16



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 49
Location: usa
Status: Offline
Hello.
I've a problem that I am unable to untangle. I have not got access to the machine in question at the moment so cannot attach /var/log snippets.
The story so far: Replaced mobo due to voltage regulator failure. The new board is several versions newer, also has 2@ dual core amd64's versus the other board with 2@ single Opterons. No issues with the processor side of things. The aptosid system boots just fine except no X. Geforce 8800 Ultra card with the 290.xxx nividia driver from the .run installer.
What I've tried:
Saw the below quoted thread.
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... amp;t=1961
Copied a known good /etc/X11/xorg.conf-bu-2011-09-30:sometime into /etc/X11/xorg.conf (first editing the PCI: address designators per the out put of #:lspci). I did the mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d and continued per the instructions in the above quoted forum topic.

reboot, and of course no X, #: init 3 check lsmod, /var/log/kdm.log (EE No devices found no screens..), /var/log/xorg.0.log (No device no screens......etc).

I tried the #:apt-get install nvidia-glx which pulled in a bunch of nvidia-alternative stuff (mesa) and yanked out all the nvidia.run installation. Reboot.....NO Soap!!!

Okay, let us do a dist upgrade which will pull in the 3.1-5.slh-1-aptosid-amd64 kernel and then reinstall directly from nvidia ftp. Which did purge the free stuff but alas still no X on reboot. The module is loaded but the /var/log/kdm.log and Xorg.0.log throw the same errors. Drat!!!!
Reboot, this time an CAE Linux installation (Ubuntu 10.04 LTS): Wham....it all just works... no reconfig of anything???? But of course it is a much distant kernel and Xorg version than our aptosid.

Any ideas, I need to stay with nvidia prop. drivers for CAD/SIM work.

Please forgive the length and likely typos.... Thank you.


Last edited by someoneanywhere on 14.12.2011, 07:21; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.12.2011, 22:06



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
If you don't need/want 3D graphics, then the recommendation would be to follow this and use the radeon driver:

http://aptosid.com/index.php?module=wik ... g=GoNvidia


If you need/want the Nvidia proprietary driver, then follow this exactly, and it works every time:

http://manual.aptosid.com/en/gpu-en.htm#nvidia
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
someoneanywhereOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.12.2011, 22:26



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 49
Location: usa
Status: Offline
      dibl wrote:
If you don't need/want 3D graphics, then the recommendation would be to follow this and use the radeon driver:

http://aptosid.com/index.php?module=wik ... g=GoNvidia


If you need/want the Nvidia proprietary driver, then follow this exactly, and it works every time:

http://manual.aptosid.com/en/gpu-en.htm#nvidia


Well, that is what I thought I'd done. I really DO need the proprietary driver for my work. I never had this m-a a-i stuff before, just ran the nvidia-installer -update after a reboot into the new kernel. I really hate all the junk debian wants to pull in as alternative nvidia-glx.
I'll try again: EXACTLY, as you suggest.
Why did this end up moved from usual aptosid forums?
Thank you.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
someoneanywhereOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.12.2011, 22:34



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 49
Location: usa
Status: Offline
[quote="someoneanywhere"]
      dibl wrote:
proprietary driver for my work. I never had this m-a a-i stuff before,
Thank you.

Ah, I see what all the module assistant goodness is about now (wiki.debian.ModuleAssistant.
Shocked
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.12.2011, 22:53



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
[quote="someoneanywhere"]
      dibl wrote:

Why did this end up moved from usual aptosid forums?


I would suppose the mod saw "downloaded .run file" and sent you to the Dragons Dept., since that is not the supported method. I originally used the downloaded driver on sidux, but after trying it the m-a a-i way, it is well worth the initial setup time because it avoids new driver installations after kernel updates.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
someoneanywhereOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.12.2011, 07:35



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 49
Location: usa
Status: Offline
[quote="dibl"]
      someoneanywhere wrote:
      dibl wrote:

Why did this end up moved from usual aptosid forums?


I would suppose the mod saw "downloaded .run file" and sent you to the Dragons Dept., since that is not the supported method. I originally used the downloaded driver on sidux, but after trying it the m-a a-i way, it is well worth the initial setup time because it avoids new driver installations after kernel updates.

Well on sidux I was using smxi or sfgxi...and I´d not remembered it.
Well actually all I needed to do was: #:init 3 <> #:cd /etc/X11 <> then #:Xorg-configure <> and #:init 5 <>. And away we went.
I did find that for some reason the output of lspci and what Xorg-configure sets as the BusID is different.

Yes, you are certainly correct the Module Assistant method is nice and slick...and has a lot of power!
Thank you for helping. Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio