Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
barbasla
Post subject: rsync + samba + NAS freecom dual network : rsync errors  PostPosted: 06.01.2012, 20:19



Joined: 2011-01-27
Posts: 41

To perform a manual backup nas samba and rsync as follows:

I mount the folder "prova" of the NAS / media / NAS

smbmount //ip address/prova /media/NAS -o netdev

Then:

rsync-a -v --delete /home/Desktops /media/NAS

Result:
sending incremental file list
Desktops/
rsync: failed to set times on "/media/NAS/Desktops": No such file or directory (2)
Desktops/Desktops.exe
Desktops/Eula.txt
Desktops/prova da pdf
rsync: failed to set times on "/media/NAS/Desktops/.Desktops.exe.gVTPWq": No such file or directory (2)
rsync: failed to set times on "/media/NAS/Desktops/.Eula.txt.p00Nqt": No such file or directory (2)
rsync: failed to set times on "/media/NAS/Desktops/.prova da pdf.QXlpWv": No such file or directory (2)

sent 123414 bytes received 73 bytes 82324.67 bytes/sec
total size is 123141 speedup is 1.00
rsync error: some files/attrs were not transferred (see previous errors) (code 23) at main.c(1070) [sender=3.0.9]

The backup is carried out both on / media / NAS (which I avoid if I wanted to save the folder "/" I ballooned the folder / media / NAS), and also runs on the NAS in the folder "prova", but an hour later with files on the NAS.

What is wrong?
How can I avoid that the backup is also performed in the mount folder / media / NAS?

The NAS is a Freecom NAS dual-drive network center with a disk formatted by the same NAS as XFS.

Thank you for your attention and for the help that you will grant me.

Crying or Very sad


P.S. I forgot, in the NAS, are installed only the services ftp and samba, but unfortunately it is not installed rsync.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: RE: rsync + samba + NAS freecom dual network : rsync errors  PostPosted: 06.01.2012, 21:26
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

you are mising some "--exclude pattern" or "--exclude-from FILE" options on your call.

you could give luckybackup a try

      Code:
~$ apt-cache show luckybackup
Package: luckybackup
Version: 0.4.6-1
Installed-Size: 1264
Maintainer: Patrick Matthäi <pmatthaei>
Architecture: amd64
Description: rsync-based GUI data backup utility
 luckyBackup is an application that backs-up and/or synchronizes any
 directories with the power of rsync.
 Its main features are: backup, safety, synchronization, exclude/only include
 options, allows custom rsync options, remote connections, restore and dry-run
 operations, scheduling, profiles and command line mode.
 .
 It is simple to use, fast (transfers over only changes made and not all data),
 safe (keeps your data safe by checking all declared directories before
 proceeding in any data manipulation ), reliable and fully customizable.


_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
barbasla
Post subject: RE: rsync + samba + NAS freecom dual network : rsync errors  PostPosted: 07.01.2012, 00:29



Joined: 2011-01-27
Posts: 41

I do not think the problem is that.
For now I'm saving just a folder with 3 files.
I'd rather avoid running rsync saving also in a position to mount / media / NAS.
Appearance other suggestions.

I tried Luckybackup , but I could not configure a backup for this.

Thank you.


Hello.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
luckybOffline
Post subject: Re: rsync + samba + NAS freecom dual network : rsync errors  PostPosted: 07.01.2012, 15:39



Joined: 2010-09-17
Posts: 25
Location: Athens, Greece
Status: Offline
      barbasla wrote:
I mount the folder "prova" of the NAS / media / NAS

smbmount //ip address/prova /media/NAS -o netdev
. . .
The backup is carried out both on / media / NAS (which I avoid if I wanted to save the folder "/" I ballooned the folder / media / NAS), and also runs on the NAS in the folder "prova", but an hour later with files on the NAS.

What is wrong?
How can I avoid that the backup is also performed in the mount folder / media / NAS?

Do you mean that the same data can be found both under /media/NAS/ and at the remote folder itself, even when the remote folder is not mounted ?
Because if it is, it's normal to see "prova"'s contents from within it's mount point (/media/NAS/). It doesn't mean that you have the same data at 2 places. It means that you look at the same place from 2 different perspectives Wink

PS than you X for suggesting LB Rolling Eyes
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
barbasla
Post subject: RE: Re: rsync + samba + NAS freecom dual network : rsync err  PostPosted: 07.01.2012, 23:21



Joined: 2011-01-27
Posts: 41

Thanks lucky!
It 'just as you say.
When you unmount the NAS / media / NAS disappears everything; actually under / media / NAS there is nothing!
Now I have left to resolve the error rsync:
rsync: failed to Set times on "/ media / NAS / Desktops": No such file or directory (2)
rsync error: some files / attrs Were not Transferred (see previous errors) (code 23) at main.c (1070) [sender = 3.0.9].

As already said everything is saved with the date and time of the hard drive of the NAS.
Pending on your suggerimentim, continues searching with google.


Thank you.
Hello. Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
luckybOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: rsync + samba + NAS freecom dual network : rsync err  PostPosted: 08.01.2012, 17:32



Joined: 2010-09-17
Posts: 25
Location: Athens, Greece
Status: Offline
Do actual file transfers take place (Are there any files inside /media/NAS/that have been copied from source) ?

Do the files:
".Desktops.exe.gVTPWq"
".Eula.txt.p00Nqt"
".prova da pdf.QXlpWv"
actually exist at your source (/home/Desktops) ??

Could you try the argument -rlpgoD instead of -a

Note: -a is equal to -rlptgoD
What I'm actually suggesting is to omit the -t (--times argument) though it seems to be an issue of files that were supposed to be there ("/media/NAS/) but they aren't for some reason !!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
barbasla
Post subject: RE: Re: rsync + samba + NAS freecom dual network : rsync err  PostPosted: 08.01.2012, 21:23



Joined: 2011-01-27
Posts: 41

Unfortunately I need to keep the dates of files and folders, or what kind of backup would be, all with today's date, and then what happens next in sync everything is rewritten as a new full backup?

To solve the problem, unfortunately, I have created another.
I reset the NAS, a few days ago I had hacked to enable the ssh service, but I did not need more, and noticing that the time of the NAS was not updated, I reset and recreated the same configuration.

I can sign in with koqueror smb: / / ip of the NAS, but if I try to mount the NAS on media / NAS with the usual smbmount / / ipNAS / test / media / NAS-o netdev, I have the following response:
Password:
mount error(13): Permission denied
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)
I tried no password, the password by putting the user of the NAS, the NAS administrator; nothing to do I can not mount it.
Of course if I try a backup with rsync, really now saves / media / NAS which is mounted by samba.
I do not know which way to head.
Suggestions?
Thank you for your attention, in particular luckyb.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
luckybOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: rsync + samba + NAS freecom dual network : rsync err  PostPosted: 09.01.2012, 17:02



Joined: 2010-09-17
Posts: 25
Location: Athens, Greece
Status: Offline
no prob Smile
I wish I was more forum active but...

The reason I suggested to omit --times was to make sure that the problem was not time related.

anyway, try to add a "user" as argument to the mount command:
      Code:
smbmount //ipNAS/test /media/NAS -o user=username

      Quote:
user=arg
specifies the username to connect as. If this is not given, then the environment variable USER is used. This option can also take the form "user%password" or "workgroup/user" or "workgroup/user%password" to allow the password and workgroup to be specified as part of the username.


Before you proceed to any mounting make sure your mount point (/media/NAS directory) is clean (empty if nothing is mounted there) and that you (the simple user that will use the mount command) has full (read/write/execute) access to it.

Also note that since your NAS supports ssh you can directly use the rsync command without having to first locally mount it !!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
barbasla
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.01.2012, 05:01



Joined: 2011-01-27
Posts: 41

      Code:
smbmount //ipNAS/test /media/NAS -o user=username



I was able to mount the NAS!
Thank you. the suggestion.

Then:

rsync -rlpgoD -v --delete /home/Desktops /media/NAS

The result is slightly different:

sending incremental file list
Desktops/
rsync: chgrp "/media/NAS/Desktops" failed: No such file or directory (2)
Desktops/Desktops.exe
Desktops/Eula.txt
Desktops/prova da pdf
rsync: chgrp "/media/NAS/Desktops/.Desktops.exe.MOEdlB" failed: No such file or directory (2)
rsync: chgrp "/media/NAS/Desktops/.Eula.txt.SxVeoY" failed: No such file or directory (2)
rsync: chgrp "/media/NAS/Desktops/.prova da pdf.AWuSsl" failed: No such file or directory (2)

sent 123414 bytes received 73 bytes 246974.00 bytes/sec
total size is 123141 speedup is 1.00
rsync error: some files/attrs were not transferred (see previous errors) (code 23) at main.c(1070) [sender=3.0.9]

rsync: chgrp?

You're right; the problem was not time related.

However, the NAS does not automatically update the date and time.
I need to update in the appropriate section for the management of the NAS.
I have to report the problem to Freecom, maybe I'll explain how to solve it.


The NAS does not natively support ssh, I was able to activate it by following a guide in the forum freecom.
However when I tried to rsync with ssh, as it gave me error that rsync could not find (in the NAS is not activated).

I am seriously thinking of maybe using an old computer of small size with FreeNAS
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
luckybOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.01.2012, 09:36



Joined: 2010-09-17
Posts: 25
Location: Athens, Greece
Status: Offline
The facts:
When rsync transfers a file (eg file.txt) over to the destination it temporarily renames it as hidden (eg .file.txt.XYZQWY -> starts with a dot) until the full transfer is finished.
Then it changes the file's attributes (eg owner-group-last mod time etc according to the arguments given).
Finally, it renames it back to its original filename (eg file.txt).

What happens here is:
1. There is no error that the file failed to get transferred
2. You get a "No such file or directory" error when rsync tries to change the attributes of the temp files (either "time" or "group").

some loud thinking:
I would suspect that there are either mount permission issues or that the xfs filesystem does not support such attributes but you would get an "operation not permitted" error.
Again, I might be wrong.

a couple of suggestions:
To confirm whether data transfer takes place and the issue has to do with attribute changing (or not).
1. Try using rsync without -tgop (times, group, owner, permissions):
      Code:
rsync -rlD -vv --delete /home/Desktops /media/NAS

(the double "v" is not a typo, it will provide info on what files are being skipped)
Are files transferred ??

2. Try to transfer a big file that will take some time to transfer.
Then notice the destination during the transfer. Is there a hidden file created (dolphin -> "show hidden files"=CHECKED) ??
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
barbasla
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.01.2012, 04:45



Joined: 2011-01-27
Posts: 41

      luckyb wrote:

1. Try using rsync without -tgop (times, group, owner, permissions):
      Code:
rsync -rlD -vv --delete /home/Desktops /media/NAS

(the double "v" is not a typo, it will provide info on what files are being skipped)
Are files transferred ??


Yes, all files have been transferred!

# rsync -rlD -vv --delete /home/Desktops /media/NAS
sending incremental file list
delta-transmission disabled for local transfer or --whole-file
Desktops/
Desktops/Desktops.exe
Desktops/Eula.txt
Desktops/prova da pdf
total: matches=0 hash_hits=0 false_alarms=0 data=123141

sent 123391 bytes received 73 bytes 246928.00 bytes/sec
total size is 123141 speedup is 1.00
      luckyb wrote:

2. Try to transfer a big file that will take some time to transfer.
Then notice the destination during the transfer. Is there a hidden file created (dolphin -> "show hidden files"=CHECKED) ??


Big file is Quaresimale-con-madre-Ignazia-Angelini.mpg 770 MB

# rsync -rlD -vv --delete /home/Quaresimale-con-madre-Ignazia-Angelini.mpg /media/NAS
sending incremental file list
delta-transmission disabled for local transfer or --whole-file
Quaresimale-con-madre-Ignazia-Angelini.mpg
rsync: close failed on "/media/NAS/.Quaresimale-con-madre-Ignazia-Angelini.mpg.EVbSGr": Input/output error (5)
rsync error: error in file IO (code 11) at receiver.c(752) [receiver=3.0.9]
rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (28 bytes received so far) [sender]
rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(605) [sender=3.0.9]

The big file has not been passed, and there are no hidden files.

I await your response.
Thank you.
Hello.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
barbasla
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.01.2012, 17:26



Joined: 2011-01-27
Posts: 41

No one can help me?
I'm beginning to think it's a lost cause.

Aptosid can be assembled with a NAS gets old PC?
Or is it better to rely on FreeNAS?

Thank you for your attention.

Hello.
Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.01.2012, 20:59
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

      barbasla wrote:

Aptosid can be assembled with a NAS gets old PC?
Or is it better to rely on FreeNAS?



you can found your answer asking aunt google about it

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
barbasla
Post subject:   PostPosted: 29.01.2012, 20:31



Joined: 2011-01-27
Posts: 41

But "aunt google" is magic?

However renounce the Freecom NAS and throw myself on a PC with aptosid.

Thank you for your help.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio