Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
kermOffline
Post subject: On Moving Home  PostPosted: 08.02.2012, 03:30



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
Friends:

I have newly installed the latest iteration of aptosid to a new 1 TB SATA hdd. In the machine remained only one other Hdd, a 400 GIB SATA, containing a pooched aptosid install, including a roughly 74 GIB home in its own partition.

My object now is to move that home over to the partition created for it in the new installation (which partition is now occupied by the new home installed there in the new installation.

I must ask this first. I understood that aptosid (or sidux) quit some time ago supporting building a reinstallation around directories in their own partitions (home and Windows, for example).

Q1. Is that still possible ?

I ask because the new installation did copy over a "stub" of a Windows share from my earlier hdd and put it in the partition I'd created for it on the new hdd. And that surprised me.

In next, sda is disk1, sdb is disk 2. sda contains the new installation. The /homes are in sda7 & sdb7



      Quote:
root@debBoxA:~# cat /etc/fstab
UUID=0538-1408 /media/disk1part1 vfat auto,users,rw,quiet,umask=000,shortname=lower 0 0
UUID=B5C9-10B5 /media/disk1part3 vfat auto,users,rw,quiet,umask=000,shortname=lower 0 0
UUID=73ccddf9-aa69-4b04-b99b-1009d49fb3c3 /media/disk1part5 ext4 auto,users,rw,exec,relatime 0 0
UUID=78ad61a6-7ead-40a2-aa7a-632a59516c27 none swap sw 0 0
UUID=63bc3d23-a769-4c93-bf56-98fe1817d824 /media/disk1part7 ext4 auto,users,rw,exec,relatime 0 0
UUID=9a4e2463-cca2-40e0-b4a6-dda302cf57c6 /media/disk1part8 ext4 auto,users,rw,exec,relatime 0 0
UUID=7127-52FE /media/disk2part1 vfat auto,users,rw,quiet,umask=000,shortname=lower 0 0
UUID=7A83-B029 /media/disk2part3 vfat auto,users,rw,quiet,umask=000,shortname=lower 0 0
UUID=d7bd5248-b355-41db-8cb7-062b82694392 / ext4 defaults,relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
UUID=94a20c59-0b6d-470c-ab3e-81861871e995 none swap sw 0 0
UUID=ce12f4ef-8570-4b1a-9ad4-5474293d99e3 /home ext4 defaults,relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 2
UUID=07a2d7bd-c7b5-4f3c-834b-5292bc4f82f9 /media/disk2part8 ext4 auto,users,rw,exec,relatime 0 0
root@debBoxA:~#


Now I'd like to ask some clarifying questions about the Manual's "Moving Home" guide. And I hope I don't give offense.

Q2. as long as I work in init1, does it matter whether I get there via the grub box using livecd, or through the system commandline ?

Q3. Do the cp first? Or change fstab first?

Q4. I'm an absolute virgin at commandline text editing. So far I've only used kwrite 'til now.
While I've shown my fstab UUIDs using cat, when I ask
      Code:
mcedit /etc/fstab
, that does not show UUIDs on my machine.
Will you please confirm that that is correct ... that I'm not mistaken ?

I think if you'll kindly answer these questions, I ought to be able to muddle through.

And I thank you in advance.
Mit freundlichsten Grüßen,
kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: Re: On Moving Home  PostPosted: 08.02.2012, 16:46
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

      kerm wrote:


Q1. Is that still possible ?

No. Installer was changed to not allow reusing an old home - that is an already existing user.

      kerm wrote:

I ask because the new installation did copy over a "stub" of a Windows share from my earlier hdd and put it in the partition I'd created for it on the new hdd. And that surprised me.


The installer can (if user say so) erase/format the root partition.

All other partitions are not touched at all.
The home partition if you have set one get's the home directory of the user and there the initial user configurations are written.
All other existing files/directories are untouched.

      kerm wrote:

Q2. as long as I work in init1, does it matter whether I get there via the grub box using livecd, or through the system commandline ?
...
Q3. Do the cp first? Or change fstab first?


Choose whatever you want.


      kerm wrote:


Q4. I'm an absolute virgin at commandline text editing. So far I've only used kwrite 'til now.
While I've shown my fstab UUIDs using cat, when I ask
      Code:
mcedit /etc/fstab
, that does not show UUIDs on my machine.
Will you please confirm that that is correct ... that I'm not mistaken ?


you posted the fstab and it contains UUID's, so when editing it must show them...

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject: On Moving Home  PostPosted: 09.02.2012, 03:59



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
@ x-un-i:

Nice, clear answers; and much appreciated.

The rest I ought to be able to handle.
But only after I've figured out how to manipulate mc . Which may take some time Rolling Eyes

Thank you very much.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2012, 18:23



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
x-un-i


      Code:
Debian GNU/Linux wheezy/sid debBoxA tty1
debBoxA login: root
Password:
Lastlogin: Fri Feb 10 01:08:09 MST 2012 on tty1
Linux debBoxA 3.1-6.slh.1-aptosid-686 #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 22 21:31:50 UTC 2011 i686
root@debBoxA:~# mount /dev/sda7 /media/disk2part7
mount: mount point /media/disk2part7 does not exist
root@debBoxA:~#


Perhaps you will tell me how I have erred, x-un-i

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
spockOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.02.2012, 23:32



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 80
Location: Near Milton Keynes, UK
Status: Offline
I'm guessing you meant to type 1 not 2:

      Code:
mount /dev/sda7 /media/disk1part7


...since /media/disk2part7 is not mentioned in your /etc/fstab quoted above. If you want to add that, find the UUID to add to /etc/fstab using:
      Code:

ls -l /dev/disk/by-uuid/


And I'd suggest trying nano as a simple editor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.02.2012, 02:08



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
@spock:

I'm very glad to hear from you. I presume I've worn out x-un-i's patience with my dummheit, and he's wandered off to soak his head.
I hope that translates as humour in German.

I really am as IT-dumb as I appear.
Yet I profit from using aptosid. And I only call home (here) a couple of times yearly for a fix to something that's pretty simple for you advanced users.

The ability to move one's home, in my opinion, is a necessity for us in the slower class. Reinstalling is often far simpler for us than finding what's broke in the system and fixing it.

The aptosid guide for moving home is the soul of simplicity: two lines of code, and one "#" added, and one "#" removed.
So once I've done it correctly, I ought always to be able to do it.

So I ask patience. When you folks have helped me do this, I'll go away and stop "beink a bovver". 'Til the next time.

You wrote:

      Quote:
I'm guessing you meant to type 1 not 2:

Code:
mount /dev/sda7 /media/disk1part7


No. That was my deliberate choice (as I understood the guide).
But since it didn't work, one assumes I chose wrongly.

As you obviously have seen my fstab above:
"/media/disk1part7" is the default mount point for "/dev/sda7"

Assuming that you are suggesting that the /dev/sda7 mount ought correctly to be:
      Code:
mount /dev/sda7 /media/disk1part7


...I have run that, with response that /dev/sda7 is already mounted there. So that's OK (I presume).

Now the "cp" line. Do you suggest it ought to read(?):

      Code:
cp -pr /home /media/disk2part7


Whether it makes a difference (or not) I don't know: both my homes have same username + passwords.

On mcedit. I was wrong saying that mcedit does not show my UUIDs. Obviously, when I asked mcedit to display fstab, I had a pertial screen open, cutting off display of UUIDs. When I went back later, mcedit opened full-screen and the UUIDs showed.
Further, I've been able to enable mouse in mcedit that greatly simplifies things. And I can see now how to comment/uncomment, edit lines, save and quit.
So I'm OK with mcedit.
But thank you for suggesting trying nano. Next time.

spock: Thank you for replying. Thank you in advance for your help.
And to all: best regards.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.02.2012, 11:10
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

How many partitions does disk2 have? you start counting from part1...

1. your "sda" is dist1, and "sdb" is disk2, so mounting sda7 as disk2partX does not make sense.
It's just pretending as if the partition on disk1 is on disk2, but you don't gain anything
by lying to yourself.

2. you need to create the mount point before mounting, that is, mkdir /media/disk2part7,
but intention of mount is to see original home as source/reference, isn't it,
in this case you should mount sda2 as disk1part2, that is mkdir /media/disk1part2.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.02.2012, 05:15



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
muchan:

Thank you very much for replying.

      Quote:
How many partitions does disk2 have? you start counting from part1...

Guessing that this is not a rhetorische Frage, I answer:

/dev/.......mountpoint-media/disk2part:

sdb1......,,,,..1
sdb2..(extended)
sdb3............3
sdb5............/
sdb6...(swap)
sdb7........../home
sdb8............8
-------
sda was set up similarly 2 years ago. At that time, it appears from fstab that the default mount point for sda5 (containing root dir.) was disk1part5; and for sda7 (containing home dir.): disk1part7.

      Quote:
1. your "sda" is dist1, and "sdb" is disk2, so mounting sda7 as disk2partX does not make sense.
It's just pretending as if the partition on disk1 is on disk2, but you don't gain anything
by lying to yourself.


OK. The guide confuses me. The line looked strange to me at the time. But it was my best guess at what the guide was instructing. So now you, I and my rig are all agreed it was quatsch: let's kindly move on.

      Quote:
2. you need to create the mount point before mounting, that is, mkdir /media/disk2part7
Good. I can/will do that.

      Quote:
but intention of mount is to see original home as source/reference, isn't it,
in this case you should mount sda2 as disk1part2, that is mkdir /media/disk1part2.

Also! I must mount my extended partition. Very good. I can/will do.

That covers everything up to the cp line, doesn't it?
Will you kindly tell me how that ought to read?

And I thank you in advance.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.02.2012, 11:17
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

I think I made typo...
"in this case you should mount sda2 as disk1part2, that is mkdir /media/disk1part2."
should be (probably):
"in this case you should mount sda2 as disk1part7, that is mkdir /media/disk1part7."

in other word, I didn't intend to say you must mount your _extended_ partition.
Just mount the partition on disk1 as "disk1partX", instead of disk2partX.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.02.2012, 15:49
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

      kerm wrote:


I'm very glad to hear from you. I presume I've worn out x-un-i's patience with my dummheit, and he's wandered off to soak his head.


no not yet but i don't follow the forum very close, meanwhile some other try to help, let's see what's going... Smile

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.02.2012, 20:19



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
@ x-un-i: Glad to see you took my coarse humour well.

@ muchan:
Thank you for staying with this.

So, IIUC, I must first mkdir:

      Code:
mkdir /media/disk1part7
mkdir /media/disk2part7


Then I must mount:
      Code:
 mount /dev/sda2 /media/disk1part7


And then I mount: /dev/what? on /media/disk2part7 (?)
I could guess: /dev/sdb7. But I think we've already concluded I'm a very poor guesser.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio