Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
wildwaldbiberhirteOffline
15 Post subject: phonon-backend-vlc, vlc upgrade -> no more sound  PostPosted: 24.03.2012, 17:26



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 8
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline
Hi!
As the title suggests, the last upgrade of vlc broke my sound, using the vlc backend of phonon.

I pinned vlc to testing to solve the problem for now.

Anybody else with the problem?

Regards!


Last edited by wildwaldbiberhirte on 25.03.2012, 12:01; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ghstryderOffline
Post subject: RE: phonon-backend-vlc, vlc upgrade -> no more sound  PostPosted: 24.03.2012, 19:20



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 91
Location: Detroit
Status: Offline
No issues here, 32 bit
      Code:
root@computer:/home/dir# apt-cache policy phonon-backend-vlc
phonon-backend-vlc:
  Installed: 0.5.0-1
  Candidate: 0.5.0-1
  Version table:
 *** 0.5.0-1 0
        500 http://debian.lcs.mit.edu/debian/ sid/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
RoEnOffline
Post subject: RE: phonon-backend-vlc, vlc upgrade -> no more sound  PostPosted: 25.03.2012, 08:25
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 15

Status: Offline
No issues here, 64 bit

      Code:
apt-cache policy phonon-backend-vlc
phonon-backend-vlc:
  Installiert: 0.5.0-1
  Kandidat:    0.5.0-1
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 0.5.0-1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
wildwaldbiberhirteOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.03.2012, 10:01



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 8
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline
Interesting.

What causes the problem for me isn't the phonon-backend, but libvlc.

      Code:

apt-cache policy libvlc5
libvlc5:
  Installiert: 2.0.0-6
  Kandidat:    2.0.0-6
  Paket-Pinning: 2.0.0-6
  Versionstabelle:
     2.0.1-2 2000
        500 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
 *** 2.0.0-6 2000
        400 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ testing/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wildwaldbiberhirteOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.03.2012, 12:01



Joined: 2011-04-25
Posts: 8
Location: Munich, Germany
Status: Offline
Problem solved, thank you guys! You made me think that the problem was selfmade, which it was.

It was a problem with my configuration of the hda-intel module.
My machine is a thinkpad t420 with a conexant CX20590 Chip.

I used the "model=thinkpad" parameter to load the snd-hda-intel module, which is plain wrong for this model. Although it is a thinkpad.

New /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
Problem solved! I wonder why it worked before.

      Code:
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
Mod's edit by RoEn: fixed code box
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio