Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
titanOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: pixels everywhere  PostPosted: 08.03.2012, 07:45



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 78

Status: Offline
I don't use a modem but to me unless you can log in to your ISP account you will never get online. Life is much simpler with a modem/router where all the connection details are made and you are just making a lan connection to your pc, plus you have the added benefits of a firewall and multiple machine connections. Can you find some way of installing network manager, using your other pc maybe. Is there an interface you can access on your modem via a web browser to set your username and pasword.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: pixels everywhere  PostPosted: 08.03.2012, 10:32



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 315

Status: Offline
You seem to be connected. To check if your DNS is working, try

      Code:


If this works (without taking a long time), you are connected, so it is not a network problem, but a browser problem. (Did you change proxy settings?) Try a different browser and/or try a different profile (create one clean).

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
PedroskiOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: pixels everywhere  PostPosted: 08.03.2012, 23:38



Joined: 2012-03-03
Posts: 11
Location: Nanjing
Status: Offline
That's what I thought from the beginning: pppoeconf has connected to the net. I tried Konquerer and Ice Weasel, which come with the disc. Neither works.

This, from my past experience with Debian, must be a permissions thing: I do not have permission to access the web. That's a bit silly, as it is a dvd version of aptosid, where accesss for any user is important.

I'll try to toggle the user groups, see if I can make it work. I don't want to install a Linux that cannot access the web!!

Addendum: today I started the AMD64 kernel, ran pppoeconf, brought up the net.

I could ping www.google.com

I started the browser, and it worked!! I did not change anything, except I booted the 64 bit kernel. So now I will try an install.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio