Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
apogarteOffline
Post subject: [closed : reinstalled] du removed the kde environement  PostPosted: 06.03.2012, 11:18



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
hi

after a fresh install of kdefull (aptosid 2011-03) on a dell vostro laptop i did an init 3 and then apt-get update and apt-get dist-upgrade (aptosid-amd64)

during installation of update i noticed all kde was removed i thought it was normal before reinstallling new packages...

also i noticed many messages during download AND during installation telling me something like

      Code:

5619:071780 sd 5.0.0.0 [sdb] asking for cache data failed
5619:071780 sd 5.0.0.0 [sdb] asuming drive cache : write through


while there is no sdb on system (nor in fstab), sdb was device (usb key) where aptosid iso was during install, any
relation ?

new kernel is 3.2-9.slh.2-aptosid-amd64

after finishing the dist-upgrade i did a reboot

reboot gave me a login in a console, i did login, ok, and then startx started fluxbox...

as i am not sure if this is my error or something else i request some help, thank you. please tell me if i may add any usefull info

thanks,

apog


Last edited by apogarte on 12.03.2012, 11:04; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject: RE: du removed the kde environement  PostPosted: 06.03.2012, 11:52
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
This is the transition to a new version of KDE. Not all packages are yet uploaded to the mirrors. We recommend not to dist-upgrade until the transition is complete:
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... amp;t=2196

Please read the upgrade warning section always before upgrading your system. It's the nature of Debian Sid that during transitions not all packages might be in sync.

Also keep in mind: we do not track all Debian packages. So always be careful if apt-get wants to remove packages.

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: du removed the kde environement  PostPosted: 07.03.2012, 11:45



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
      hubi wrote:
This is the transition to a new version of KDE. Not all packages are yet uploaded to the mirrors. We recommend not to dist-upgrade until the transition is complete:
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... amp;t=2196

Please read the upgrade warning section always before upgrading your system. It's the nature of Debian Sid that during transitions not all packages might be in sync.

Also keep in mind: we do not track all Debian packages. So always be careful if apt-get wants to remove packages.

hubi


hi hubi thanks for the info.

i actually did check BEFORE and the warning was not posted yet so i suppose things happens quasi simultaneously

do you think i can get my system working ok in a few days after re-upgrading, or do you recommend a full reinstall ?

by the way anything concerning the other item ? error messages with "sdb" ?

thanks

apoG
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: du removed the kde environement  PostPosted: 07.03.2012, 14:15
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
      apogarte wrote:
do you think i can get my system working ok in a few days after re-upgrading, or do you recommend a full reinstall ?

I cannot offer a recommendation, just what I would try: I'd set /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list from unstable to testing, reinstall the missing KDE packages, reset to unstable and then wait. It should work, your milage may vary. I definitely would avoid a reinstallation (running two laptops with five and four year old installations respectively).

About the other issue I cannot say anything, but you may open a new thread to find people who know more.

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: du removed the kde environement  PostPosted: 08.03.2012, 10:16



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
ok. this anyways was a fresh install, so i will try your suggestion and if it's going wrong would probably renew installation (no customization done yet).

by the way do you think this kde "instability period" will last for long ?

thanks

EDIT : after changing to testing in the debian.list cannot get anything installed for kde... i'll wait a few days not in a hurry

Arrow
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: du removed the kde environement  PostPosted: 08.03.2012, 12:31
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
You've got probably new packages already, then the testing branche does not install anymore. That's right.

Sid looks quite good already on my mirror, just wait another day or two and keep watching this thread: http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... amp;t=2196

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio