Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
tux09Offline
15 Post subject: solved: graphic issue on 3.5.x  PostPosted: 08.09.2012, 06:44



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Hi,

since kernel 3.5.2 i have big black artefacts in kde, size of half the screen, so that work in kde is impossible.
      Code:
running Linux 3.5-3.slh.3-aptosid-686 i686 [ aptosid 2011-02 Ἡμέρα - kde-lite - (201107131633) ]
CPU Info        Intel Pentium M 1024 KB cache flags( sse2 ) clocked at [ 600.000 MHz ]
Videocard       Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Radeon RV250 [Mobility FireGL 9000]  X.Org 1.12.3.902  [ 1400x1050@50.0hz ]


Problem seems to be this:
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=54129

That fits it perfectly.

I solved the issue with
      Code:
radeon.modeset=0


but it seems to make work slower, esp Gimp.
After an upgrade to 3.5.3 problem persists.
any hope of being solved or other ideas?

Help much appreciated!


Last edited by tux09 on 07.10.2012, 05:29; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tux09Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.09.2012, 19:01



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Problem is still there with new kernel 3.5.4

The Bug report gives a possible solution with a kernel patch, but I am afraid that is a bit beyond me, I have never done that before.

Nobody has any idea what else could be done to solve the problem?
Thanks, tux09
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.09.2012, 19:32



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 758

Status: Offline
      Code:
    - drm-radeon-fix-fence-related-segfault-in-cs
    - drm-radeon-fix-bo-creation-retry-path
    - drm-radeon-try-harder-to-avoid-hw-cursor-ending-on-a-multiple-of-128-columns
    - drm-radeon-fix-non-revealent-error-message
    - drm-radeon-fix-hotplug-of-dp-to-dvi-hdmi-passive-adapters-v2
    - drm-radeon-on-hotplug-force-link-training-to-happen-v2
    - drm-radeon-fix-dpms-on-off-on-trinity-aruba-v2
Have been added in linux-aptosid (3.5-3).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tux09Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.09.2012, 16:13



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Hi, slh, thanks for answering!
That 's the relevant kernel patches?

      slh wrote:
Have been added in linux-aptosid (3.5-3).

my kernel:
      Code:
3.5-4.slh.2-aptosid-686


sorry, I 'm at a loss: What to do next?

Greetings, tux09
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tux09Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.10.2012, 05:31



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Prob is solved since 3.5-4.slh.6-aptosid-686.

Did not affect the problem with Gimp 2.8 working over slowly, though. There it helped to remove the old 2.6- configfiles.

Greetings, tux
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio