Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
manulOffline
Post subject: Virtualbox fails with Linux 3.11-0.slh.1 [Solved]  PostPosted: 03.09.2013, 22:49



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
I dist-upgraded yesterday, all went fine.

This brought Linux 3.11-0.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 kernel.

With this kernel, machines in Virtualbox refuse to start (pop up message that can't configure network eth0, suggest manually modprobing vboxnetflt which is loaded).

When starting machines, log shows something like

      Code:

............
00:00:01.199735 IntNet#0: szNetwork={HostInterfaceNetworking-eth0} enmTrunkType=3 szTrunk={eth0} fFlags=0x8000 cbRecv=325632 cbSend=196608 fIgnoreConnectFailure=false
00:00:01.199826 VMSetError: /tmp/buildd/virtualbox-4.2.16-dfsg/src/VBox/Devices/Network/DrvIntNet.cpp(1718) int drvR3IntNetConstruct(PPDMDRVINS, PCFGMNODE, uint32_t); rc=VERR_INTNET_FLT_IF_NOT_FOUND
00:00:01.199847 VMSetError: Failed to open/create the internal network 'HostInterfaceNetworking-eth0' (you might need to modprobe vboxnetflt to make it accessible)
00:00:01.199908 VMSetError: /tmp/buildd/virtualbox-4.2.16-dfsg/src/VBox/Devices/Network/DevE1000.cpp(7680) int e1kConstruct(PPDMDEVINS, int, PCFGMNODE); rc=VERR_INTNET_FLT_IF_NOT_FOUND
00:00:01.199913 VMSetError: Failed to attach the network LUN
00:00:01.199927 PDM: Failed to construct 'e1000'/0! VERR_INTNET_FLT_IF_NOT_FOUND (-3600) - The networking interface to filter was not found.
00:00:01.261658 VNC: port = 3389
00:00:01.262021 VNC: Configuring password
00:00:01.262626 ERROR [COM]: aRC=NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005) aIID={db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392} aComponent={Console} aText={Failed to open/create the internal network 'HostInterfaceNetworking-eth0' (you might need to modprobe vboxnetflt to make it accessible) (VERR_INTNET_FLT_IF_NOT_FOUND).
00:00:01.262693 Failed to attach the network LUN (VERR_INTNET_FLT_IF_NOT_FOUND)}, preserve=false
00:00:01.303557 Power up failed (vrc=VERR_INTNET_FLT_IF_NOT_FOUND, rc=NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0X80004005))
00:00:01.346213 ERROR [COM]: aRC=E_ACCESSDENIED (0x80070005) aIID={db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392} aComponent={Console} aText={The virtual machine is not powered up}, preserve=false
00:00:01.480429 VNCServerImpl::VRDEResize to -57937504x32767x773745378bpp
00:00:01.480547 VNCServerImpl::VRDEResize to 640x480x32bpp
00:00:01.486870 VNCServerImpl::VRDEResize to -57937392x32767x773745378bpp



Issue affects both Linux & Windows virtual machines, both 32 and 64 bit.

Booting the previous kernel 3.10-9.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 solves the issue.

      Code:
Host/Kernel/OS  "siduxbox" running Linux 3.10-9.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2009-03 Μώμος - kde-lite - (200911110039) ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+ clocked at [ 2700.000 MHz ]
Videocard       NVIDIA C77 [GeForce 8200]  X.Org 1.12.4  [ 1280x1024@60.0hz ]
Processes 169 | Uptime 14min | Memory 1542.1/3833.9MB | HDD Size 1660GB (40%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NVAA | GLX Version No (If you want to find out why, try setting LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose) | Client Shell | Infobash v3.46


Last edited by manul on 23.09.2013, 20:53; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Virtualbox fails with Linux 3.11-0.slh.1-aptosid-amd64  PostPosted: 04.09.2013, 01:04



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 736

Status: Offline
This is apparently https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/12001, I would suggest to report a bug against Debian's "virtualbox-source" package ("virtualbox-dkms" respectively, if you used that). Add the link to the upstream vbox ticket, I'd suggest to use "normal" as priority (as Debian/sid is still on kernel 3.10, but it's already borderline "important") and tag it "patch".

Given that Debian's virtualbox packages no longer pass the dfsg and are not part of Debian/main anymore, there's nothing we could do. But in the mean time you can patch the module build yourself (this expects that you use module-assistant and have its package and virtualbox-source installed):
      Code:
$ mkdir -p /tmp/pkg/usr_src/
$ cd /tmp/pkg/usr_src/
$ tar -xjf /usr/src/virtualbox.tar.bz2

$ edit ./modules/virtualbox/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c # just apply the patch by hand, by changing the file accordingly; pick your preferred editor
$ LANG= MODULE_LOC=/tmp/pkg/usr_src/modules/ m-a -O --kvers-list $(uname -r) --kernel-dir /usr/src/linux-headers-$(uname -r)/ --userdir /tmp/pkg/ --text-mode build virtualbox-source

$ su
# dpkg -i /tmp/pkg/virtualbox-modules-$(uname -r)*.deb

# reboot
This should result in a functional virtualbox kernel module.

Considering that your hardware appears to support hardware virtualisation (AMD-V/ svm), we'd strongly suggest to use qemu(-kvm) instead of virtualbox. KVM is supported by the mainline kernel (no out-of-tree modules) and tends to be more performant/ less troublesome, at the expense of not providing a nice GUI.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
manulOffline
Post subject: RE: Virtualbox fails with Linux 3.11-0.slh.1-aptosid-amd64  PostPosted: 04.09.2013, 02:45



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
Thanks slh,

As you advised, I reported a bug against virtualbox-dkms, here it is
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=721786

I dared to use the "important" severity (b/c the problem renders the package unusable).

I'd rather keep the older kernel until a fixed VB version comes down, as opposed to patch modules myself for every kernel.

As about qemu/kvm: I'm aware for the advantages and I use KVM everywhere else; but these VM's are development machines where I need the GUI - for the sake of which I consider VB preferrable.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Virtualbox fails with Linux 3.11-0.slh.1-aptosid-amd  PostPosted: 04.09.2013, 10:29
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
//edit 05.09.13 00:34:57 GMT+2: The following is actually bullshit. You COULD do it the way I thought slh has suggested it, but he was actually carefully avoiding this (=modifying files owned by dpkg). So lets just pretend I have never said anything Embarassed


      manul wrote:
I'd rather keep the older kernel until a fixed VB version comes down, as opposed to patch modules myself for every kernel.

For the record: slh described how to patch the module source, so this should be a one-time change for the lifetime of Linux for Workgroups (3.11) – aka: with the described change module-assistant and dmakms should do there work as usual and build the module again for you.

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
kenyeeOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Virtualbox fails with Linux 3.11-0.slh.1-aptosid-amd  PostPosted: 23.09.2013, 01:27



Joined: 2010-09-29
Posts: 85

Status: Offline
      manul wrote:

I dared to use the "important" severity (b/c the problem renders the package unusable).


I'd consider this high severity as well, so that's probably fine Smile
Thanks for the warning about it...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Virtualbox fails with Linux 3.11-0.slh.1-aptosid  PostPosted: 23.09.2013, 08:27
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
The bug (#721786) is marked as done in virtualbox/4.2.16-dfsg-3 (uploaded ~4 days ago).
So is this still an issue?

If so, please reopen the bug, otherwise everything fine and we can mark the thread as solved, right?

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
manulOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Virtualbox fails with Linux 3.11-0.slh.1-apt  PostPosted: 23.09.2013, 20:57



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
      DonKult wrote:
The bug (#721786) is marked as done in virtualbox/4.2.16-dfsg-3 (uploaded ~4 days ago).
So is this still an issue?

If so, please reopen the bug, otherwise everything fine and we can mark the thread as solved, right?


Yes - all works after full d-u.

I did not expect so blazingly fast fix from debian package maintainer.

I edited the starting post subject to mark the thread as solved.

Many thanks to everyone!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio