Rootserver Sponsor

webtropia"

Donations

Please support your operating system's further development:

donate"

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
hyOffline
Post subject: [SOLVED]No sound after new install  PostPosted: 25.02.2015, 10:38



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 194
Location: Costa Teguise
Status: Offline
Hi,
I made a complete new install on a new laptop from iso and d-u.
Sound doesn't work.
lspci -nn gives me:
      Code:

00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller [8086:8c20] (rev 05)
00:03.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller [8086:0c0c] (rev 06)


systemsettings shows lot of devices:
http://abload.de/image.php?img=audio1ozrqc.png
Testing any of them results in an error:
http://abload.de/image.php?img=audio2s4utp.png

What can I do to get sound?
P.S. The only 'dirty' thing I have done [AFAIR] was copying my home-directory from another machine. But hardware settings should be somewhere different...


Last edited by hy on 25.02.2015, 21:51; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hyOffline
Post subject: RE: No sound after new install  PostPosted: 25.02.2015, 11:19



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 194
Location: Costa Teguise
Status: Offline
Following the advice of finotty I created a /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
After a reboot it did actually work but it's almost inaudible

running 'kmix' nothing happens - it's installed.

running it from a console it works... but emits the following message:
      Code:

QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.

The controls are on max but still almost inaudible... )-;
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: No sound after new install  PostPosted: 25.02.2015, 11:36



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 516
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
cat /proc/asound/cards

I would oracle default device is HDMI and you want analouge output.
If so, i would use Pulseaudio and with pavucontrol deactivate the HDMI output.

_________________
      Code:

System:    Host: Defiant Kernel: 4.9.1-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7
           Distro: siduction 13.2.0 December - xfce - (201312310323)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hyOffline
Post subject: RE: No sound after new install  PostPosted: 25.02.2015, 11:44



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 194
Location: Costa Teguise
Status: Offline
Thanks towo.

      Code:

$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7a10000 irq 33
 1 [PHC            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
                      HDA Intel HDMI at 0xf7a14000 irq 34

Well actually pulseaudio did the trick
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio