Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
na5mOffline
Post subject: .sidconf, grub, and partition  PostPosted: 15.10.2010, 08:02



Joined: 2010-10-15
Posts: 8
Location: California
Status: Offline
I have four partitions:
/dev/sda1 Win7 (NTFS)
/dev/sda2 Win7 (NTFS)
/dev/sda3 /boot (reiserfs)
/dev/sda4 / (encrypted root)

I want aptosid's installer to put grub in /dev/sda3
but I think it's installing grub in /dev/sda4 (the
root file system). I set "Installation-target = partition"
in the installer program. When I examine the .sidconf file right before committing to the install, I see
      Code:
BOOT_WHERE='partition'
EDIT: How should I modify .sidconf to specify exactly which partition I want grub installed to?
Thanks!


Last edited by na5m on 15.10.2010, 08:14; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: .sidconf, grub, and partition  PostPosted: 15.10.2010, 08:07



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
sure, its a conf file.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: Re: .sidconf, grub, and partition  PostPosted: 15.10.2010, 12:12
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

      na5m wrote:
EDIT: How should I modify .sidconf to specify exactly which partition I want grub installed to?
Thanks!



when installing over partition the root partition is used.
when installing MBR uses MBR of the first hard disk.
Otherwise the MBR of the disk you give is used

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
na5mOffline
Post subject: Re: .sidconf, grub, and partition  PostPosted: 15.10.2010, 16:32



Joined: 2010-10-15
Posts: 8
Location: California
Status: Offline
      x-un-i wrote:
      na5m wrote:
EDIT: How should I modify .sidconf to specify exactly which partition I want grub installed to?
Thanks!



when installing over partition the root partition is used.
when installing MBR uses MBR of the first hard disk.
Otherwise the MBR of the disk you give is used


So, is there no way to alter the destination partition of grub during an aptosid installation?
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: RE: Re: .sidconf, grub, and partition  PostPosted: 15.10.2010, 19:04
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

      Quote:

So, is there no way to alter the destination partition of grub during an aptosid installation?


Installing grub on a different partition (from the install one) does it make any sense?

imho no. ( from some boot place you ask one partition to boot something else that is fully installed on a different partition)


That's why you only have those 3 possibilities

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
broweOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: .sidconf, grub, and partition  PostPosted: 15.10.2010, 19:53



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 152
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
In his setup na5m wants linux boot in sda3, and that is the proper place for it, not the MBR since that would interfere with win7. I would have placed boot in sda1 however just so it's at the start of the disk. I have one question though... why reiserfs? If you use ext2 or ext3 you could edit boot from within windows if needed.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
na5mOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.10.2010, 07:26



Joined: 2010-10-15
Posts: 8
Location: California
Status: Offline
Every other distro I've installed gave you the choice of exactly which partition to install grub into.
I'm a bit perplexed as to why aptosid limits grub exclusively to either / or to MBR.
I'll probably wind up using ext3 or 4.

Please, does anyone know of a way to edit .sidconf to specify which partition to install grub into?
Or maybe there's a way to pass the partition info to the grub installer itself?
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.10.2010, 07:57



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
I don't know how to modify the sidconf, but in the gui-installer you can adapt the installation destination of certain folders to the connected drives/partitions.
I think it's on page 2.
Example:
/opt -> /dev/sda5
/var -> /dev/sda3

EDIT: Example modfied!


Last edited by sx9 on 16.10.2010, 22:49; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.10.2010, 08:53



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
i know, its just an example, but to avoid misunderstandings.
putting /usr on a separate partition is a very bad idea.
how would partitions be mounted if mount lives unter /usr/bin/?

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.10.2010, 19:04
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 255

Status: Offline
      devil wrote:
i know, its just an example, but to avoid misunderstandings.
putting /usr on a separate partition is a very bad idea.
how would partitions be mounted if mount lives unter /usr/bin/?

Actually it's a good example and any problems with it is a bug. mount is /bin/mount not /usr/bin/mount so you just want to make sure you keep /bin, /etc and /sbin in your root device anyway.

As for forcing the installer, just let it install to the root partition and then use the chroot guide from the manual to install grub manually to the boot partition.

Sure if you are installing to a partition and you have a /boot partition then the /boot partition is a sane alternative choice of partition where you might want to install grub. Safe and sane patches welcome Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
na5mOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 17.10.2010, 20:35



Joined: 2010-10-15
Posts: 8
Location: California
Status: Offline
Since there is no solution to this issue, I'll try to contact aptosid's
developers and request that the installer program be modified to include
the ability to choose which partition to install grub into.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 17.10.2010, 20:55



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
in this thread you were talking to 3 of them, including the installer maintainer.
you can also talk to us on #aptosid if you click the IRC button on your desktop.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
na5mOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.10.2010, 07:10



Joined: 2010-10-15
Posts: 8
Location: California
Status: Offline
Excellent! Then I formally request that the ability to install grub
into an arbitrary Linux partition (except swap, of course)
be built into the installer.
Thank you Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio