Rootserver Sponsor

webtropia"

Donations

Please support your operating system's further development:

donate"

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
nsmOffline
Post subject: [solved] dolphin does not launch  PostPosted: 26.09.2015, 17:55



Joined: 2012-03-14
Posts: 17
Location: montreal
Status: Offline
1) Did a du (the first in the last 2 months!) 2 days ago following slh advices and all went well. No problem with kde or gcc transition. Dolphin was working but crashed when I tried to access /home; access to other places were ok. I then checked the location of /home in the dolphin settings and change it to the correct one; then dolphin crashed and I was never able to launch it again.

2) I tried to uninstall dolphin and istall it again but it keeps crashing due to a segmentation fault.

3) I don't know how to fix that; please advise. Thank you.

      Code:

Host/Kernel/OS  "omega" running Linux 4.2.0-0.slh.5-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2013-01 Ἑσπερίδες - kde-lite - (201305050307) ]
CPU Info        4x Intel Core i5-4670K @ 6144 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 1827.765 MHz ]
Videocard       Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller  X.Org 1.17.2  [ 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1200@59.95hz ]
Network cards   Intel I217-V
Processes 178 | Uptime 16min | Memory 805.1/15925.9MB | HDD INTEL SSDSC2BW12,WDC WD2002FAEX-0,WDC WD2002FAEX-0 Size 4120GB (19%used) | Client Shell | Infobash v3.49


      Code:

dmesg | tail
[    2.702249] usbcore: registered new interface driver uas
[    2.990084] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[    2.993505] NET: Registered protocol family 17
[    3.707672] scsi 10:0:0:0: Direct-Access     Generic  Ultra HS-SD/MMC  1.91 PQ: 0 ANSI: 0
[    3.708100] sd 10:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg5 type 0
[    3.715562] sd 10:0:0:0: [sdd] Attached SCSI removable disk
[    5.844544] e1000e: eth0 NIC Link is Up 1000 Mbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: Rx/Tx
[    5.844586] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready

[   57.548027] QXcbEventReader[1164]: segfault at 7fc87504a2f9 ip 00007fc87504a2f9 sp 00007fc872af3d20 error 14 in locale-archive[7fc8750d7000+67e000]
[  149.066023] dolphin[1290]: segfault at c ip 00007fa032759960 sp 00007ffcf1ba5328 error 4 in liblmdb.so.0.0.0[7fa032755000+13000]
[/code]


Last edited by nsm on 27.09.2015, 20:47; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 26.09.2015, 18:20



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 949

Status: Offline
dolphin was upgraded from its KDE4 variant to a new KDE5 port a couple of days ago. This new KDE5 port has a couple of quite questionable traits of behaviour, but does work in general (and yes, it's also a tad crashy, but not all the time).

There are mostly two upgrade issues:
- as you mentioned, KDE4 dolphin needed file:/home/user as starting location, KDE5 dolphin insists in just /home/user (so you'll need to change that in the settings)
- the desktop icon location changed, so you probably need to delete the old icon from the quickstart bar and pull in the new (visually identical) one from the kmenu.

Concerning the crashiness, I haven't really found a pattern yet. For me, it tends working for hours and then it suddenly crashes while browsing totally normal directories (and all restarted windows keep crashing within a couple of seconds as well). It's a weird behaviour, but rebooting might make a difference. One bug tracking this would be #800061.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nsmOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 26.09.2015, 21:08



Joined: 2012-03-14
Posts: 17
Location: montreal
Status: Offline
Thank you for replying so quickly.
Dolphin does not lauch at all.
I almost always launch applications using alt-F2 but no success; trying to lauch it from konsole gets me a _segmentation fault_ message.
There is a glimpse of a window that could be dolphin flashing on the screen.
      Code:

apt-cache policy dolphin                                                                                  Installed:4:15.08.1-1                                                                    Candidate:4:15.08.1-1 
Version table:
*** 4:15.08.1-0                                                                                  500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
    100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


I tried to tweak the configuration by right clicking on the icon in the _K_ launcher (is that the proper name?) and using the _edit application..._ menu but no success there either.
Thanks again.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 26.09.2015, 23:01



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 949

Status: Offline
I'd suggest to create a new user, with an empty profile (home directory) first, maybe it's just some old config interfering. (Trying with a fresh user/ empty $HOME is typically the best way, then one can selectively nuke the problematic config).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nsmOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 27.09.2015, 02:43



Joined: 2012-03-14
Posts: 17
Location: montreal
Status: Offline
Thanks
I create a new user: dolphin launch without problem.
But, _ then one can selectively nuke the problematic config_ is mystery to me. How do we do that?
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 27.09.2015, 07:20



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 949

Status: Offline
I'd suggest to try:
      Code:
~/.local/share/kxmlgui5/dolphin
~/.local/share/dolphin
~/.kde/share/apps/dolphin
~/.kde/share/config/dolphinrc
~/.kde/share/config/session/dolphin_*
~/.config/dolphinrc
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nsmOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 27.09.2015, 14:58



Joined: 2012-03-14
Posts: 17
Location: montreal
Status: Offline
Just to be sure, you mean _removing_ these files (folders), one at a time, going through the list?
Still a lot to learn.
Thank you very much again.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 27.09.2015, 16:39



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 949

Status: Offline
There typically isn't much specific configuration for dolphin, so unless you have a very particular setup that would be hard to replicate, just delete all of them (those only affect dolphin, nothing else).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nsmOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 27.09.2015, 20:52



Joined: 2012-03-14
Posts: 17
Location: montreal
Status: Offline
Problem solved.
After removing the config files as per your (slh) advice, dolphin launch properly.
Funny thing is that it launched with the configuration that I set before the problem arised.

Thank you very much.
Despite difficult times, aptosid is still my distro of choice and I hope that it will live long.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 27.09.2015, 23:26



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 949

Status: Offline
There is a difference, after starting from scratch, there are no KDE4-dolphin configs anymore - which means KDE5-dolphin doesn't try to migrate the configs (and this is one of the more fragile steps) or try to make sense of the old ones anymore.

KDE5 based applications store their configuration and session files in other places than KDE4 based applications do (and the file formats also tend to differ significantly). Many times KDE5 totally ignores previous KDE4 settings and reverts to upstream defaults (e.g. plasma), in other cases there are some limited migration approaches. In quite some cases KDE5 ports of popular KDE4 applications don't share much more than the name with their predecessors (especially for low-level/ basic applications integrating tightly with KDE's guts), in other cases the porting can be much more limited in scope - and often developers took the opportunity to remove vestiges of KDE3 derived code parts and concepts.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nsmOffline
Post subject: RE: dolphin does not lauch  PostPosted: 28.09.2015, 01:10



Joined: 2012-03-14
Posts: 17
Location: montreal
Status: Offline
Very interesting and informative comment; thank you again.

I suspect that the journey with KDE5 will be an interesting one.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio