Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
DavidMorgadoOffline
Post subject: kernel: please enable CONFIG_ZRAM  PostPosted: 16.11.2010, 11:28



Joined: 2010-11-16
Posts: 2
Location: Sintra
Status: Offline
Hello.

Would it be possible to have CONFIG_ZRAM=m and CONFIG_ZRAM_STATS=y enabled in aptosid kernels?

Debian experimental has it enabled on 2.6.36 kernel.


Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: kernel: please enable CONFIG_ZRAM  PostPosted: 16.11.2010, 12:51



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 724

Status: Offline
Not really planned before it gets out of staging and into the proper kernel, but maybe you can present convincing use cases.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DavidMorgadoOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: kernel: please enable CONFIG_ZRAM  PostPosted: 17.11.2010, 00:45



Joined: 2010-11-16
Posts: 2
Location: Sintra
Status: Offline
      slh wrote:
Not really planned before it gets out of staging and into the proper kernel, but maybe you can present convincing use cases.


Well, it is available in Debian experimental but that is really what it is "experimental" since it is in the staging area of the kernel.

My use case is that I run a few virtual machines in Virtualbox and if using a small 256MB zram as swap it helps avoiding getting the virtual machines and the host swap having to compete for the hdd.

The machine has 2GB ram and with 2 VM of 512MB each I tend to get some 200 or so of swap usage. Not very critical but if one VM gets some heavy hdd activity well everything gets sluggish.

But ok you might be right should wait for it to leave staging.

Thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: kernel: please enable CONFIG_ZRAM  PostPosted: 17.11.2010, 00:51



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 724

Status: Offline
Why don't "just" assign enough RAM to your virtual machines instead, and omit the swap partitions alltogether? Overcommiting (backed by the host's swap) and KSM might even help more, than using zram for swap.

swap on a ramdisk (compressed or not) doesn't really sound like a good idea, according (commercial) attempts on windows have been debunked as expensive hoax already. There certainly is a use case for google, but it's a pretty narrow one.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio