Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
aboozarOffline
15 Post subject: Software compilation Error (solved)  PostPosted: 14.11.2010, 15:22



Joined: 2010-10-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
I want to install fatrat with the method inside the file "INSTALL.TXT" :
      Code:
FatRat uses the CMake build system, just like KDE 4.

An example compilation procedure:

cmake . -DWITH_BITTORRENT=ON -DWITH_SFTP=ON
make
make install


I ran it and got an error massage:
      Code:
root@aptosidbox:/home/abz/fatrat/fatrat-1.1.3# cmake . -DWITH_BITTORRENT=ON -DWITH_SFTP=ON
-- Could NOT find Boost
-- Looking for Q_WS_X11
-- Looking for Q_WS_X11 - not found.
-- Looking for Q_WS_WIN
-- Looking for Q_WS_WIN - not found.
-- Looking for Q_WS_QWS
-- Looking for Q_WS_QWS - not found.
-- Looking for Q_WS_MAC
-- Looking for Q_WS_MAC - not found.
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindQt4.cmake:728 (MESSAGE):
  Could NOT find QtCore header
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:13 (find_package)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
root@aptosidbox:/home/abz/fatrat/fatrat-1.1.3#

While I have the package libqtcore4 (Qt 4 core module ) installed on aptosid.


Last edited by aboozar on 15.11.2010, 19:22; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: Software compilation Error  PostPosted: 14.11.2010, 15:27



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
apt-get install fatrat

There is no compiling needed, aptosid is not gentoo!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: RE: Software compilation Error  PostPosted: 14.11.2010, 17:04
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 480

Status: Offline
beside that: Never, never, NEVER EVER compile something as root!

(In general you should be very careful about what you do with root rights)

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
aboozarOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Software compilation Error  PostPosted: 14.11.2010, 18:48



Joined: 2010-10-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
      towo wrote:
apt-get install fatrat

There is no compiling needed, aptosid is not gentoo!


I know. I installed it with apt but the newer version (that has not been included in repositories yet) supports scheduler which I need it. Thats why I wanna compile it(It only has source code and not a deb package)

      Code:
beside that: Never, never, NEVER EVER compile something as root!
I thought only root can do that well! thank you for telling me this.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aboozarOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.11.2010, 18:51



Joined: 2010-10-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
Anyway, I still can not compile it:
      Code:
abz@aptosidbox:~/fatrat/fatrat-1.1.3$ cmake . -DWITH_BITTORRENT=ON -DWITH_SFTP=ON
-- Could NOT find Boost
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindQt4.cmake:728 (MESSAGE):
  Could NOT find QtCore header
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:13 (find_package)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
CMake Error: Unable to open check cache file for write. /home/abz/fatrat/fatrat-1.1.3/CMakeFiles/cmake.check_cache
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
edhunterOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.11.2010, 21:19



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 16

Status: Offline
the error message tells you what you need. obviously you are missing boost and Qt headers. Install Qt4 and boost -dev packages

_________________
My blog
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.11.2010, 22:09
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 480

Status: Offline
      Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install fatrat

The 1.1.3 version which is the latest official upstream version (according to their homepage) and the version you are try to compile is since two weeks in unstable available…

And a great help can it be if you really are faced with an too old package in the debian archives to:
a) report a bug with "reportbug" asking for packaging the new version
b) adding deb-src entries to your sources.list and using "apt-get build-dep" to get at least most of the required build-dependencies (as build-dependencies doesn't change too often, installing the old ones can be a great help)

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
aboozarOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.11.2010, 03:51



Joined: 2010-10-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
      Quote:

The 1.1.3 version which is the latest official upstream version (according to their homepage) and the version you are try to compile is since two weeks in unstable available…
I'll test it.
      Quote:

And a great help can it be if you really are faced with an too old package in the debian archives to:
a) report a bug with "reportbug" asking for packaging the new version
b) adding deb-src entries to your sources.list and using "apt-get build-dep" to get at least most of the required build-dependencies (as build-dependencies doesn't change too often, installing the old ones can be a great help)

I am a newbie but the things you told me are really valuable. I will use them.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aboozarOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.11.2010, 19:22



Joined: 2010-10-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
Thank to your help, I managed to compile it.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.11.2010, 19:31



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
And now you have the same version, as in sid.
So your doing was complete useless and you have installed a software now with bypassing the package management, great job dude.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aboozarOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.11.2010, 19:57



Joined: 2010-10-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
      Quote:

So your doing was complete useless and you have installed a software now with bypassing the package management, great job dude.


Oh! I did not get your meaning. It was a great experiment for me. Although it took long time and effort.
BTW: How can I remove the installed(compiled) software?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.11.2010, 20:16
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 480

Status: Offline
Thats exactly the problem with stuff installed with "make install". The answer varies between "Not at all" and "Cleanly with 'make uninstall' from the directory you installed it"…

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio