Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
dptOffline
Post subject: Running binary executables  PostPosted: 24.11.2010, 20:22



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
I tried to install an important application software from a reliable source. I have installed the W$ version, but I want to run it in Linux (aptosid).
Fortunately, they have a Linux version.

I get this message when I try to run it?

      Quote:
The file file:///media/disk1part5/Downloads/LPCX ... -3.7.5.100 is an executable program. For safety it will not be started.


Thanks

dpt
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: Running binary executables  PostPosted: 24.11.2010, 23:02
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

How did you "try to run" it?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: Running binary executables  PostPosted: 25.11.2010, 06:38



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
I tried to run it by clicking on the download file in Google Chrome.
There I got this message.

Next I opened dolphin using 'kdesu dolphin' and root password.
Clicking did nothing.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
se7enOffline
Post subject: RE: Running binary executables  PostPosted: 25.11.2010, 07:11



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 164

Status: Offline
Installing an application does only work as root.
It would help if you would tell us what kind of file you downloaded ...
So if the file is a *.deb file you should open a root terminal and install it via dpkg -i yourFile.deb.

_________________
Don't mention the war!
Meine Meinung steht fest! Bitte verwirren Sie mich nicht mit Tatsachen!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: Running binary executables  PostPosted: 25.11.2010, 07:53
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
NOT AS ROOT!
Simply do:
      Code:
chmod 0777 LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.7.5.100 && ./LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.7.5.100

Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: Re: RE: Running binary executables  PostPosted: 25.11.2010, 08:05
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      dpt wrote:
I tried to run it by clicking on the download file in Google Chrome.
There I got this message.

Next I opened dolphin using 'kdesu dolphin' and root password.
Clicking did nothing.


So, the message you quoted was by Google Chrome. And I think it was right that it warned you. :)

and since the file is not .deb file meant to install on Debian.
The "executable" may be just executable. (If you want to run it, better not to run as root. Unless you know what exactly the program will be doing.)
Program may not run if dependency is not met. The site of the program may have instruction about it.
If the "executable" is kind of automatic installation program, the site you have downloaded it from should have insttruction how to proceed.

(maybe this blog helps you? http://siliconvalleyredneck.typepad.com ... able.html)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Running binary executables  PostPosted: 25.11.2010, 11:43



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
      Quote:
dpt@acer5542:~$ chmod 0777 LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.7.5.100 && ./LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.7.5.100
dpt@acer5542:~$ chmod 0777 LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.7.5.100 && ./LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.7.5.100
dpt@acer5542:~$


Well, this is what I see. Nothing else.

Here is the information on webpage. Not much, but
I feel that it should run in aptosid.

http://lpcxpresso.code-red-tech.com/LPCXpresso/Linux

I am trying to figure out, but no progress yet.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.11.2010, 12:01
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

maybe it runs. without any output... who knows.
(like... when you are on bash shell, try typing bash<enter> :)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio