Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
agent_pumucklOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: debconf-question  PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 14:54



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
Thank you!
I did as you told me, and I got the new aptosid-kernel and other aptosid-stuff, but no question...

You said that I should not be pointing from my sidux.list to aptosid: Is there now an "aptosid.list"?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
WromeyOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 14:57



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 29

Status: Offline
With me nearly everthing worked out fine, when switching to aptosid. (Thanx a lot for the new start!)
Only my kernel was not upgraded.

In sidux i used siduxcc to update and upgrade the kernel, becaus the kernel was not updated automatically. Is something wrong with my configuration?

Thanx

Wolfgang
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
clubexOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 15:12



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 98

Status: Offline
      x-un-i wrote:
      clubex wrote:
Transition went Ok for me but I can't seem to locate aptosid-kernelhacking ie.

apt-get install aptosid-kernelhacking
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package aptosid-kernelhacking

# Aptosid repository
deb ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/aptosid/debian/ sid main fix.main
# deb-src ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/aptosid/debian/ sid main fix.main


that package was dropped and is no longer in the repository
you don't need it


To quote the manual:

      Quote:

Old kernels can be removed from the system. To do so, you can use the script kernel-remover which is in the package aptosid-kernelhacking. This script must be installed and allows to you nominate which kernels you wish to remove.

apt-get update
apt-get install aptosid-kernelhacking
kernel-remover


I note there is a package called kernel-remover in the repository. So do I presume that this package replaces that previously offered by kernel-hacking and the manual is in error?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gilpierOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 15:18



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 4
Location: São José dos Campos/SP - Brasil
Status: Offline
      slam wrote:
The mirror is still not completely synced, please be patient, or use aptosid.com/debian instead.
Greetings,
Chris


I create, inside /etc/apt/sources.list.d the aptosid.list text archive, and inside them i wrote:
" #aptosid
# Free University Berlin/ spline (Student Project LInux NEtwork), Germany
deb ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/aptosid/debian/ sid main fix.main
#deb-src ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/aptosid/debian/ sid main fix.main".
I also eliminate the sidux.list.

After this, using #apt-get update and #apt-get dist-upgrade, it seems that everything is working well.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 15:27
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      catalinus wrote:


Now it seems something is not right, dist-upgrade wants to install some sidux stuff.. so I guess I'll manually remove the packages in question.

# apt-get dist-upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
aptosid-manual-common aptosid-manual-en
The following packages will be upgraded:
configure-dsl gfxboot-theme-sidux gfxboot-themes-sidux-2010-01-hypnos-core
libdjvulibre-text libdjvulibre21 linux-headers-2.6-sidux-amd64
linux-image-2.6-sidux-amd64 sidux-art-xfce sidux-manual-common
sidux-manual-en sidux-searchplugins
11 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 2,481kB of archives.
After this operation, 209kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?


I don't know the details of transition mechanism, but I'd imagine, normal path for changing the name of package at dist-update is making the new version of old packages, which depends to the new package, and once installed, new package later update with conflict to the old package, to make it removed automatically.

Maybe it's not exact and correct, but in your case, I think it's better leave it to update sidux-* packages, to do the work dev team intends to do.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
heppOffline
Post subject: frickelplatz and nvidia  PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 15:28



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 30
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Status: Offline
I sidux I have earlier used the frickelplatz repository for managing nvidia without any problems. Should/could I add this repo to my apt sources or should it be managed differently now ?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 15:31
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      Wromey wrote:
With me nearly everthing worked out fine, when switching to aptosid. (Thanx a lot for the new start!)
Only my kernel was not upgraded.

In sidux i used siduxcc to update and upgrade the kernel, becaus the kernel was not updated automatically. Is something wrong with my configuration?

Thanx

Wolfgang


check if you have packages named
linux-image-2.6-aptosid-686
linux-headers-2.6-aptosid-686
installed.
# apt-cache policy linux-image-2.6-aptosid-686 linux-headers-2.6-aptosid-686

(if you have 64bit version, change -686 to -amd64 )

If not, installing them will activate installing new kernel at dist-upgrade.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: Re: frickelplatz and nvidia  PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 15:35
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
      hepp wrote:
I sidux I have earlier used the frickelplatz repository for managing nvidia without any problems. Should/could I add this repo to my apt sources or should it be managed differently now ?
For all 3rd party repos please follow the same rules:

Check and re-check them before trusting them;
Enable them just temporary to install single packages;
Disable them after doing so;
Never ever dist-upgrade against them.

If you have an Nividia problem with Debian/sidux, please post a support request instead.

Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
WromeyOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 16:14



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 29

Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:


check if you have packages named
linux-image-2.6-aptosid-686
linux-headers-2.6-aptosid-686
installed.
# apt-cache policy linux-image-2.6-aptosid-686 linux-headers-2.6-aptosid-686

(if you have 64bit version, change -686 to -amd64 )

If not, installing them will activate installing new kernel at dist-upgrade.


The packages were not installed. I thought they would be installed automatically.
I installed them with apt-get, now I am running them. Thanx

Wolfgang
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
johnlittle001Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 16:47



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 15
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Status: Offline
The upgrade went well. I purged all the sidux stuff (using the instructions posted earlier in this thread). When I reboot the log-in screen still has the sidux artwork. Is that what I'm supposed to see? Thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 16:50
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
johnlittle001

new login screen

in konsole

      Code:
sux (password)

dbus-launch systemsettings


advanced > loginmanager > theme > and choose aptosid theme
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
myloOffline
Post subject: Re: debconf-question  PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 16:56



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 116
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline
      agent_pumuckl wrote:
...but I have read that there should be a debconf-question weather one wants to change to aptosid.

I just performed an dist-upgrade, but no question occoured....


I face the same...

_________________
Regards
mylo

Linux 3.1-6.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64[2010-03 Ἀπάτη (201012262151)]
Intel Core2 Duo E6550 @ Cache/Ram 4MB/4GB nVidia G72 7300 nouveau 2*250GB
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
chameleonOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: debconf-question  PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 17:31



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 8
Location: luxembourg
Status: Offline
aptosid installed via a fresh sidux install and dist-upgrade brought up the aptosid option.
Looking fab!
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
doctordruidphdOffline
Post subject: Upgrade worked  PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 20:47



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 22
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Status: Offline
Thanks for the help, I got the upgrade working, though I never did get a debconf question.

1. Removed /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sidux.list

2. Created a new /etc/apt/sources.list.d/aptocid.list
with the following lines:

deb ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/aptosid/debian/ sid main fix.main
#deb-src ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/aptosid/debian/ sid main fix.main


3. apt-get update
apt-get install aptosid-archive-keyring
apt-get dist-upgrade


Thanks, se7en.

All seems well at this point. I did get the aptocid kernel, and the artwork.

(off topic comment)
Still waiting for a new ia32-libs-gtk so i can run firefox again. Probably a sid issue.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: Upgrade worked  PostPosted: 12.09.2010, 20:55
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      Quote:

Still waiting for a new ia32-libs-gtk so i can run firefox again. Probably a sid issue


bug #596437

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio