Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
hyrralOffline
Post subject: 64 bit install  PostPosted: 15.01.2011, 18:10



Joined: 2010-09-16
Posts: 8

Status: Offline
will it break my system if I install 64-bit OS while keeping my existing files?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
myloOffline
Post subject: RE: 64 bit install  PostPosted: 15.01.2011, 18:46



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 116
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline
hyrral,


do you seriously think someone answers here with y or n?

First of all tell about your system HW and SW configs and so on.

Thousands of people have Linux and "other" ""systems"" on a box.

But first of all, come down to earth, relax and tell the forum. Then experts are willing to help you here, I am sure...

_________________
Regards
mylo

Linux 3.1-6.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64[2010-03 Ἀπάτη (201012262151)]
Intel Core2 Duo E6550 @ Cache/Ram 4MB/4GB nVidia G72 7300 nouveau 2*250GB
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
oschiOffline
Post subject: RE: 64 bit install  PostPosted: 15.01.2011, 22:23



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 9
Location: Nürnberg
Status: Offline
i did it 2 weeks ago (changed motherboard, cpu and RAM), and installed a totally new 64-bit. before i had a 32-bit system running. im using the old home-folder, and i found no problems yet.

oschi
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject: Re: 64 bit install  PostPosted: 16.01.2011, 00:00



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
      hyrral wrote:
will it break my system if I install 64-bit OS while keeping my existing files?


If your data are on hard drive partition "x", and you install aptosid on partition "y", then there will be no problem, whether 64-bit or 32-bit. If you install any OS on the partition where your data files are, then they will be gone.

This is not a "64-bit" problem. This is a "where is your data?" problem.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
hyrralOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: 64 bit install  PostPosted: 22.01.2011, 00:17



Joined: 2010-09-16
Posts: 8

Status: Offline
I'm just going to do a clean install, so there won't be any problems
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
edOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: 64 bit install  PostPosted: 04.02.2011, 11:37



Joined: 2010-10-18
Posts: 6

Status: Offline
I have a similar question: I want to "upgrade" from 32bit aptosid to 64bit. If I backup /home and /etc can I just put them back after installing a 64bit version or will it break anything? Also, are there any other directories that might be useful to backup?

I've got everything set up just how I like it, and I'm trying to minimise the amount of work to switch to 64bit!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: 64 bit install  PostPosted: 04.02.2011, 12:32



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 766

Status: Offline
/home/ should work (the biggest problem are likely locally "installed" (browser-) plugins), /etc/ would be a very bad idea; however it is a chance to decruft the configuration as well and I'd suggest to take it.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio