Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
hopimetOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2011, 21:29



Joined: 2010-10-13
Posts: 62
Location: France
Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:
This morning, I could install nvidia-glx/experimental on amd64.
But now on i386, dependency on (<< 2:1.7.7) seems an error.

I think, you should downgrade the Xorg, and wait until they are properly fixed.

      Code:

Architecture: i386
Source: nvidia-graphics-drivers
Version: 260.19.21-1
Provides: nvidia-glx
Depends: libgl1-nvidia-glx (= 260.19.21-1), libglx-nvidia-alternatives, nvidia-kernel-260.19.21, xorg-video-abi-8.0 | xorg-video-abi-6.0 | xserver-xorg-core (<<2>= 2.1.3)
Pre-Depends: dpkg (>= 1.15.7.2)


Thx, I'm on i386 and that could be an explanation.
I have downgraded with the squeeze repositories. I had no other choice.

towo, are you on 64 bits ?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2011, 21:31



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 497
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
On 32bit also no problem:
http://codepad.org/skYn4DJo
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hopimetOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2011, 21:40



Joined: 2010-10-13
Posts: 62
Location: France
Status: Offline
Arf...don't understand why I get this error message.
My nvidia is the 195.36.31-1.
Do you think there could be a link ?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2011, 21:46
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
      cid-baba wrote:
I don't know much about it, but it seems, that's not much work. (Or is it much more difficult as copy & paste?) And maybe its less work than helping everybody who didn't read what apt told him. Or is there a reason why this hasn't happened/won't happen?

Its slightly more work than you think, but more importantly there are other more subtle things broken in unstable currently, so while i am feeling slowly like a broken cd-player repeating the same song again and again: Waiting for the dust to settle is not the worst thing you can do… (beside that current problems result from the remove of the packages from experimental and another upgrade of xorg in unstable which is not build for all arches/mirrors yet and has stricter dependencies)

As you can read, nvidia users will have a problem with no really good solution so far. ffmpeg transition seems to be unfinished on some archs/mirrors. openoffice -> libreoffice isn't finished on all archs/mirrors and not smooth currently in general. Some people have problems with grub-pc updates. And that are only the most prominent problems you can currently experience. My working machine still is at the "very old" 2011-01 release state: I know, i know, i am too conservative… but my machine works at least. I know, making d-u's can become an addiction, but i would recommend a cold withdrawal still…

(to be fair: I have cherry-picked some updates, so its not completely at 2011-01, but that are leaf packages and i [sometimes] know what i do, which everyone has to question himself if he knows enough to act against advices from others)

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2011, 22:10
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

hopimet,

reading towo's link, this command went through on i386
(with non-free of sid and experimental).

      Code:

apt-get install -s -t experimental  nvidia-glx libgl1-nvidia-alternatives libgl1-nvidia-glx libglx-nvidia-alternatives nvidia-kernel-common nvidia-kernel-dkms

(remove -s for real installation)

edit:
now I see, if non-free of stable is not activated,
# apt-get install -t experimental nvidia-glx
fails with the error of hopimet.
but if it's activated, only
# apt-get install -t experimental nvidia-glx
is enough.


Last edited by muchan on 09.02.2011, 22:45; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
cid-babaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2011, 22:42



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 24

Status: Offline
@DonKult: thanks for your explanation - the addicts will have to wait Smile... And sorry for my/our impatience - everyone longed for the unfreeze, and every day more is hard. But there is much work to do, and all here are thankful to the people doing it. And good work needs its time, so we'll wait (and try to moan as little as possible)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2011, 23:46



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
the xorg issue will be fixed in a few hours, all packages were uploaded to sid 1 hour ago
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ankscorekOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 02:00



Joined: 2010-09-29
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
as towo auggested i did and

      Code:
apt-get -t experimental install xserver-xorg-input-evdev xserver-xorg-video-vesa
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
xserver-xorg-input-evdev is already the newest version.
xserver-xorg-input-evdev set to manually installed.
xserver-xorg-video-vesa is already the newest version.
xserver-xorg-video-vesa set to manually installed.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 106 not upgraded.


but i am still unable to do a dist-upgrade as it says xserver packages being removed...

so afer every dist-upgrade i need to
      Code:
apt-get -t experimental install xserver-xorg-input-evdev xserver-xorg-video-vesa
???
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 03:41



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 295

Status: Offline
      devil wrote:
the xorg issue will be fixed in a few hours, all packages were uploaded to sid 1 hour ago


Is it OK now. I just DU (aptosid 64 bit) and everything works.
So problem is solved.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
redsidOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 03:57



Joined: 2011-02-08
Posts: 32
Location: Lake Otsego
Status: Offline
YES, all is well on amd64!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 04:14



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 41

Status: Offline
All is not well on this amd64. Just did DU after xorg upgrade fixed, rebooted and got error: symbol not found: `grub_env_export' , then dumped at grub rescue prompt. What next?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 04:19



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 295

Status: Offline
      mheyes wrote:
All is not well on this amd64. Just did DU after xorg upgrade fixed, rebooted and got error: symbol not found: `grub_env_export' , then dumped at grub rescue prompt. What next?


grub-common is broken. Please wait for advice.

All other users plese put it on hold.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ankscorekOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 04:51



Joined: 2010-09-29
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
ok i did a dist-upgrade and it asked me to remove xserver etc...i clicked yes because i was sure i had towo solution..

after the dist-upgrade i did

      Code:

init 3
apt-get -t experimental install xserver-xorg-input-evdev xserver-xorg-video-vesa


the installation was successful but bump init 5 did not respond

so to get it back i purged all xseerver files and then reinstalled xserver from squeeze repo using

      Code:
apt-get install xserver-xorg


i guess the xserver issues are still there
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 05:27



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 295

Status: Offline
      ankscorek wrote:
i guess the xserver issues are still there


No there is no any xserver problem.
The problem should be from the grub.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
redsidOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 05:32



Joined: 2011-02-08
Posts: 32
Location: Lake Otsego
Status: Offline
Yes, there is still an xorg problem on my 32 bit but I assure you I have (2) amd64 installations updated as of this moment and in perfect working order including grub. You did notice the grub update configuration decision you had to make, didn't you?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio