Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
dptOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.02.2011, 19:41



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
libreoffice amd64 installed.
Got few warnings, last ones listed-


      Quote:
warning, in file '/var/lib/dpkg/updates/0143' near line 5 package 'libreoffice-filter-mobiledev':
missing description
warning, in file '/var/lib/dpkg/updates/0143' near line 5 package 'libreoffice-filter-mobiledev':
missing maintainer
warning, in file '/var/lib/dpkg/updates/0146' near line 5 package 'libreoffice':
missing description
warning, in file '/var/lib/dpkg/updates/0146' near line 5 package 'libreoffice':
missing maintainer
Processing triggers for shared-mime-info ...
Unknown media type in type 'all/all'

Unknown media type in type 'all/allfiles'

Unknown media type in type 'uri/mms'

Unknown media type in type 'uri/mmst'

Unknown media type in type 'uri/mmsu'

Unknown media type in type 'uri/pnm'

Unknown media type in type 'uri/rtspt'

Unknown media type in type 'uri/rtspu'

Unknown media type in type 'fonts/package'

Unknown media type in type 'interface/x-winamp-skin'


EDIT: Starts pretty fast!

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.02.2011, 21:08



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Those warnings are mainly due to missing info in the debian control file that don't affect the package installation. I got those as well and no problems using LO
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.02.2011, 04:22



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
@DeepDayze

Thanks for the info.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
jojiOffline
Post subject: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 12.02.2011, 08:11



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
Am wondering : it is safe now to dist-upgrade. Xorg is OK now?

Last week I lost X on one machine and coud repair by using Debian Squeeze.

Thank you.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hopimetOffline
Post subject: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 12.02.2011, 11:06



Joined: 2010-10-13
Posts: 62
Location: France
Status: Offline
Yes all is OK now. If you are using a nvidia card, maybe you will have to reinstall the new nvidia-glx. See the other thread: http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... mp;start=0
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jojiOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 21:04



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
      hopimet wrote:
Yes all is OK now. If you are using a nvidia card, maybe you will have to reinstall the new nvidia-glx. See the other thread: http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... mp;start=0

Thank you for reply.

Am wondering ... Did a dist-upgrade. But now the only resolutions I can get are 600x800 and lower. So am afraid the xorg problems are not solved ...

Anything I can do?

I have a nvidia card but am not using the nvidia driver.

Thank you for any hint.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hopimetOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 21:19



Joined: 2010-10-13
Posts: 62
Location: France
Status: Offline
I think you should try to install the nvidia driver.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 22:31
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

joji,
currently the solutions for nvidia card with new Xorg are:

1) using Xorg "vesa" driver.

2) using "nv" driver from towo's frickelplatz repository

3) using nvidia driver (as manual says)

(edit: new URL are here:
http://manual.aptosid.com/en/gpu-en.htm
http://manual.aptosid.com/en/nf-firm-en.htm

was:
/* http://manual.aptosid.com/en/hw-dev-hw- ... ive-nv-ati
* but currently, manual is in transition...
* you can read local copy on
* /usr/share/doc/aptosid-manual/en/hw-dev-hw-dri-en.htm
*/
)

and install nvidia-glx from experimental (or from towo's repo)

4) using "nouveau".. currently, aptosid manual does not have a section.
Debian's wiki is here.
http://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsDrivers#Nouveau
(I did not tried/succeeded yet)
I think aptosid manual will soon have entry for installing nouveau driver.

For 600x800 problem, first thing I'd try is "xrandr" command on terminal on X as user.

(edit:
About nvidia drivers with new Xorg, please read/post to threads
"update of nvidia-glx" for non-free "nvidia" driver
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... &t=815
"nv" driver will be removed with new Xorg" for free drivers
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... &t=777
)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jojiOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 12:31



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:
currently the solutions for nvidia card with new Xorg are:
2) using "nv" driver from towo's frickelplatz repository

Thank you for all the info.

Have installed the xserver-xorg-video-nv driver (1:2.1.17-3+c0.frickel.1 ) because I got bad experiences with the nvidia driver and sidux in the past.

But my low resolution problem is still there :
      Code:
# xrandr
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 800 x 600, maximum 800 x 600
default connected 800x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   800x600        61.0*
   640x480        60.0

It appears the xorg configfiles are gone.
How to repair so I get my original settings?

Maybe I should add that I am using the 64 bit distribution.

Thank you.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 14:06
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

This is my current xorg.conf, using frickel's "nv"
      Code:

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Default screen"
#       Driver          "vesa"
        Driver          "nv"
#       BusID           "PCI:5:0:0"
EndSection
# Trailing line to prevent EndSection to be the last line


BusID is commented, but the string PCI:5:0:0 is from the output of
$ lspci | grep VGA
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GT] (rev a1)

here xrandr works properly, and set:
$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1280
VGA1 connected 1280x1024+0+0 338mm x 270mm
1280x1024 60.0*+ 76.0 75.0 67.0
(snip)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jojiOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 17:03



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:
This is my current xorg.conf, using frickel's "nv"
      Code:

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "Default screen"
#       Driver          "vesa"
        Driver          "nv"
#       BusID           "PCI:5:0:0"
EndSection
# Trailing line to prevent EndSection to be the last line


BusID is commented, but the string PCI:5:0:0 is from the output of
$ lspci | grep VGA
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GT] (rev a1)

Wish to thank you very much. You saved me a lot of work. Problem solved.

It appears we have the same videocard but I get as BusID : 01:00.0

Am confident the 'xorg.conf'-file is to be put in /etc/X11/ ?

Once more : thank you very much.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 18:55



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
does the manual say, it goes to /etc/X11/ ?
no, it does not!

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jojiOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 21:31



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
      devil wrote:
does the manual say, it goes to /etc/X11/ ?
no, it does not!

greetz
devil

devil, be so kind to tell me where in the manual I can find the info on where to put the 'xorg.conf' file. Maybe my eyes are not so good as yours ...

What is read was :
      Quote:
Note: An xorg.conf is not generally needed for open source drivers.
and also
      Quote:
Editing an xorg.conf file is entirely at your own risk.


Thank you for your help.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 22:13



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
joiji,
The old way was to put an xorg.conf in /etc/X11
Now, if you read the manual, click on graphic cards and there is something about an xorg conf file.

However, not always things are behaving as you would want to behave (!)
I think personally that installing video drivers could in some cases be very difficult.

In my case, whith nvidia closed source and a NextWindow touchscreen, only one driver is working. I will not tell how and with what configuration...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: dist-upgrade 32 bit  PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 23:19
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

Due to reorganization of manual, it's currently difficult to find the page.
the new link is here:
http://manual.aptosid.com/en/gpu-en.htm

      Quote:

If you have been running proprietary drivers and wish to revert back to opensource drivers, edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/xx-xxxx.conf with an editor with root permissions. Find the section that reads SECTION DEVICE and change the display driver to read nouveau OR radeon OR intel (to name but a few).


(probably first xx of xx-xxxx is, 20, and second xxxx should be the name of driver... "nv", "nouveau" etc. but if I switch the driver by moving #, then I'd use 20-videodriver.conf... ?)

I wonder, if your xrandr problem is also solved.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio