Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
mheyesOffline
Post subject: [Solved] grub-common is broken  PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 15:12



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
I moved this to a new thread since it's not related to the xorg problem where it was posted. That was marked as solved, this is not.

mheyes wrote:
All is not well on this amd64. Just did DU after xorg upgrade fixed, rebooted and got error: symbol not found: `grub_env_export' , then dumped at grub rescue prompt. What next?


snvv wrote: grub-common is broken. Please wait for advice.

All other users plese put it on hold.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 19:40



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
I have the Aptosid LiveCD up, and have setup the chroot environment. Don't have network access on it. I did copy grub-common, grub2 and grub-pc ( all v. 1.98+20100804-14_amd64 ) debs onto a flash drive. These versions should work? But I can't figure out how to copy the files from the flash drive onto the hd. If I can do this, I should be able to install with dpkg and be back up again, right?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 19:56



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
Well, that didn't work either.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 20:54



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
http://bugs.debian.org/612806

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.02.2011, 21:38



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
I did boot from the livecd, setup a chroot env, and downgraded grub-pd, grub-common, and grub2 to those versions using dpkg. Then I did an update-grub, but when I rebooted it still tossed me to grub rescue. I copied those files from a flash drive because I don't have, right now, and easily accessible network connection for the box. What am I missing?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject: It is a good night to have my Super Grub CD!  PostPosted: 11.02.2011, 02:18



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
I had not needed my Super Grub CD for a couple of years, but I needed it today.


      Code:
root@aptosidbox:/home/don# apt-cache policy grub-pc
grub-pc:
  Installed: 1.99~rc1-2
  Candidate: 1.99~rc1-2
  Version table:
 *** 1.99~rc1-2 0
        500 http://cdn.debian.net/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


but, except for that little excitement, the new kernel booted fast and my desktop never looked better.

      Code:
root@aptosidbox:/home/don# infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "aptosidbox" running Linux 2.6.37-0.slh.21-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2010-03 Ἀπάτη - kde-lite - (201012262151) ]
CPU Info        8x Intel Core i7 950 @ 8192 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 1600.000 MHz ]
Videocard       nVidia GF100 [GeForce GTX 480]  X.Org 1.9.4  [ 1920x1200@50.0hz ]
Network cards   Marvell 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
Processes 212 | Uptime 5min | Memory 741.4/5979.1MB | HDD OCZ-REVODRIVE,OCZ-REVODRIVE,KINGSTON SS100S2,WDC WD1002FAEX-0,WDC WD1002FAEX-0 Size 2136GB (2%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce GTX 480/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 4.1.0 NVIDIA 270.18 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.34
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: RE: It is a good night to have my Super Grub CD!  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 19:24



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
I could have used that. I made a mess of things and decided to reinstall the system. But there is a hidden problem that should be made known.

I have an Edimax EW-7128G wireless card that is only supported in non-free. During the fresh install I'm presented with a screen telling me that I have to get non-free to support the hardware, and asks if I want to do this. Of course, I do. The trap is that doing this also brings in the broken grub-pc 1.99+ package. So after everything is installed and I reboot, I of course get the broken grub and grub-rescue prompt.

Since the broken grub-pc package is a known issue, there should be some mention of it during the install. Otherwise, and I'm sure it's happened, others will fall into this.

My .02.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: It is a good night to have my Super Grub CD!  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 20:28
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

But... this "known issue" occured after the latest aptosid release, so installer can't mention it...

And whatever package you need to install after install, you can still hold the grub-common
package with
# echo grub-common hold | dpkg --set-selections
or see http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin- ... -downgrade
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: RE: It is a good night to have my Super Grub CD!  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 20:50



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
So, with the unbootable system, would I boot to the live cd, then set up a chroot environment, and then follow those downgrading instructions using the testing repositories to install the previous, working version of grub-common? Not to sound dense...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: It is a good night to have my Super Grub CD!  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 21:41



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
i even installed the same version and it worked. all it needed was reinstall.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: RE: It is a good night to have my Super Grub CD!  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 21:59



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
Don't know. All I get is a grub_rescue prompt, just like http://bugs.debian.org/612806 . Is the process I described the correct way to downgrade grub-common after another reinstall? Appreciate any help.

Squeeze is still at 2.6.32 and I doesn't load the k10temp module I would like to use.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: It is a good night to have my Super Grub CD!  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 22:13
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

For broken system, I think downgrading and update-grub would recover the grub.

I didn't have problem with upgraded version of grub on 2 system (i386 and amd64).
I don't know what is the condition to be broken...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: RE: It is a good night to have my Super Grub CD!  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 22:33



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 40

Status: Offline
I'll try again in a bit. I have a second hard drive on this system, not sure if this has any bearing on the problem.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
deachOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 14:27



Joined: 2010-09-18
Posts: 31

Status: Offline
OK this is what I did. I don't remember which forum it came from or I'd give credit for it. I'm NOT recommending this however, it did work for me.
      Code:
mount /dev/sdXx /mnt
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/dev
mount -o bind /sys /mnt/sys
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/proc
chroot /mnt

Once at the prompt I reinstall grub:

Code:
grub-install /dev/sda
and then updated grub

Code:
update-grub


The grub-install might have had to be /dev/sdaX I can't remember this happened to me over a week ago the first time.

Again, I'm not "recommending this". However...It worked on all four of my boxes.

Regards,
Deach
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.02.2011, 15:50



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
After I had the problem as reported above, I downgrade the grub-pc version, then waited until yesterday to d-u. It upgraded grub-pc (and many other things), and now it boots fine. Also one of my netbooks which had not been updated for a couple of weeks just got a d-u, and there's no problem there.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio