Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
dptOffline
Post subject: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 12.02.2011, 06:24



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
Obviously source is trusted.
The installation file is executable.

Tried:
ALT-F2
kdesu dolphin

Clicking on the file does nothing.

How to run it? In CLI?

Thanks
dpt

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 12.02.2011, 07:10



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
Well, on clicking on new version download moving forward now but stops, okular opens, some needed plug-in not found.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 16:52



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
Anyone with any solution?
They have W$ version but I want to run this Linux version in aptosid.
Thanks in advance.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 16:53



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 497
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
chmod +x yourfile
./yourfile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 17:01



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
I think I had.
Let me see.
Thanks.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 17:10



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
      Code:
dpt@acer5542:~$ su
Password:
root@acer5542:/home/dpt# chmod +x LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.8.2.129
root@acer5542:/home/dpt#


What next?

Clicking even as root does nothing.
I checked permissions too. Seems Ok.

As root I got MGIC-COOKIE

Next:

dpt@acer5542:~$ ./LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.8.2.129
dpt@acer5542:~$

What next?

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 17:20



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 497
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
sux
./PCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.8.2.129
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: Re: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 17:25
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
      dpt wrote:
Obviously source is trusted....
The source is not trusted at all, we had the discussion about LPCXpresso already in this forum. The "Linux" package is of insane quality, and not adapted to Debian.
Never run Java/Eclipse stuff as root, as normal user simply do:
      Code:
/home/dpt/LPCXpresso-Linux-x86-3.8.2.129

no "clicking in Dolphin" needed.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: Running Binary Executable- How?  PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 17:42



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
You are right slam.

First time the GUI came to install, I clicked on NEXT and aptosid crashed.
Reboot(they asked me to reboot in Linux) it does not run.

Thought that someone nxp recommends shall be trusted.

Those jokers tested in Ubuntu and Fedora only.

Some people in NXP are going to have a bad time now.
I am not sparing them.

Thanks

dpt.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio