Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 20:29



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
Doesn't matter! At this stage, the eventualy overwritten libs are not the problem.
Without the nouveau kernel-module, the nouveau-x-driver can'*t work.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 20:36



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
      ayla wrote:
If nvidia driver was installed before:
have you tried
      Code:
apt-get install --reinstall xserver-xorg-core

to get the libs back nvidia has overwritten?

hth
ayla


No,I haden's tried that. When I try to do it, I get this strange response even though dpkg -l shows it is installed. Is there a special entry in the *.sources file for this?

root@cledus-a:/tmp# apt-get install --reinstall xserver-xorg-core
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Reinstallation of xserver-xorg-core is not possible, it cannot be downloaded.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

arl
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aylaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.02.2011, 06:16



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 50
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
That's strange indeed, they both are in sid/main as you can see.

EDIT:hrm, your network connection was enabled when you've tried the --reinstall?

      Code:
 apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-core
xserver-xorg-core:
  Installiert: 2:1.9.4-3
  Kandidat:    2:1.9.4-3
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 2:1.9.4-3 0
        500 http://cdn.debian.net/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
 apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-nouveau
xserver-xorg-video-nouveau:
  Installiert: (keine)
  Kandidat:    1:0.0.16+git20101210+8bb8231-2
  Versionstabelle:
     1:0.0.16+git20101210+8bb8231-2 0
        500 http://cdn.debian.net/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages


What does the output of both commands say on your system and whats the contents of your /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list?

But towo is right -of course-, somehow your nouveau module is not loaded even though your Xorg.0.log says:

      Code:
 18.114] (==) Matched nouveau as autoconfigured driver 0
[    18.114] (==) Matched nv as autoconfigured driver 1
[    18.114] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 2
[    18.114] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 3
[    18.114] (==) Assigned the driver to the xf86ConfigLayout
[    18.114] (II) LoadModule: "nouveau"
[    18.162] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/nouveau_drv.so
[    18.359] (II) Module nouveau: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[    18.359]    compiled for 1.9.4, module version = 0.0.16
[    18.359]    Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[    18.359]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 8.0

That's far out of my experience, keeping my hands out henceforth.

greets ayla


Last edited by ayla on 25.02.2011, 07:31; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.02.2011, 07:12



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
Xorg does probe all matching drivers, but the log sayes crystal clear that vesa is used.
And the output from modprobe nouveau is very strange for my eyes.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aylaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.02.2011, 07:49



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 50
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
@ towo:

If I remember right I had the very same output in Xorg.0.log when I tried the nouveau driver.
That changed when I reinstalled xserver-xorg-core and after then nouveau was used insteed of the fallback vesa.

But I didn't checked modprobe nouveau.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.02.2011, 07:50



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
The problem is, that nouveau is not loaded, but i have no clue, why.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aylaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.02.2011, 07:54



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 50
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
may it be it can't because of the changed libs?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.02.2011, 09:03



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
No.
The kernel-module must be loaded long before x starts ,because of KMS.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.02.2011, 09:22
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Nouveau is simply not properly installed here, for whatever reason. That's why the automatic hand-over to Vesa takes place.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 02:54



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
I was able to run “apt-get install --reinstall xserver-xorg-core”, as ayla suggested, when I was in console mode. However, the result did not change anything with regard to the problems with nouveau.

I down loaded an aptosid live .iso install disk and booted from it. It shows a full screen view on my monitor. It is still using xserver-xorg-video-nv. If I were to install it and do a dist-upgrade would it also wipe out xserver-xorg-video-nv and end up back using vesa with a small screen as I have now? Is there any way to get a .deb package for xserver-xorg-video-nv that could be used until the nouveou install can be fixed?

arl
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wrenchOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 16:18



Joined: 2010-10-05
Posts: 7
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Status: Offline
While I am no expert on the kernel, I noticed that the kernel configuration file is missing CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU_KMS=y. Could this mean that the nouveau driver won't take effect because KMS is not running?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 16:22



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
From which kernel you are speaking?
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU_KMS=y is set since 2.6.37-0.slh.19.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wrenchOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 16:41



Joined: 2010-10-05
Posts: 7
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Status: Offline
      Quote:

From which kernel you are speaking?
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU_KMS=y is set since 2.6.37-0.slh.19.


2.6.37-2.slh.3-aptosid-amd64. I searched for this in the file /boot/config-2.6.37-2.slh.3-aptosid-amd64, and I did not find it.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 16:59



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
grep -i nouveau /boot/config-2.6.37-2.slh.3-aptosid-amd64
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wrenchOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 17:10



Joined: 2010-10-05
Posts: 7
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Status: Offline
      towo wrote:
grep -i nouveau /boot/config-2.6.37-2.slh.3-aptosid-amd64


      Code:
dan@aptosidbox:~$ grep -i nouveau /boot/config-2.6.37-2.slh.3-aptosid-amd64
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU=m
CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU_BACKLIGHT=y
# CONFIG_DRM_NOUVEAU_DEBUG is not set
dan@aptosidbox:~$
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio