Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
detaosOffline
Post subject: frickelplatz wine  PostPosted: 26.02.2011, 06:23
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 166
Location: floating in the ether
Status: Offline
i just tried to install wine ... didn't realize that frickelplatz had the most recent verion ... result follows:
      Code:
# apt-get install wine
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  binfmt-support
Recommended packages:
  ttf-symbol-replacement winbind ttf-mscorefonts-installer gnome-exe-thumbnailer winetricks wisotool
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  binfmt-support wine
0 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 53 not upgraded.
Need to get 16.9 MB of archives.
After this operation, 91.5 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
Get:1 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid/main binfmt-support amd64 2.0.3 [81.8 kB]
Get:2 http://frickelplatz.de/debian/ sid/main wine amd64 1.3.14-1~frickel.1 [16.8 MB] 
Fetched 16.9 MB in 29s (580 kB/s)                                                                                                                         
Preconfiguring packages ...
Selecting previously deselected package binfmt-support.
(Reading database ... 174695 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking binfmt-support (from .../binfmt-support_2.0.3_amd64.deb) ...
Selecting previously deselected package wine.
Unpacking wine (from .../wine_1.3.14-1~frickel.1_amd64.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils ...
Setting up binfmt-support (2.0.3) ...
Enabling additional executable binary formats: binfmt-support.
Setting up wine (1.3.14-1~frickel.1) ...
/var/lib/dpkg/info/wine.postinst: 36: start: not found
/var/lib/dpkg/info/wine.postinst: 56: start: not found

so far everything seems to be working, but the two error lines at the end sound bad ... *.postinst is important ... googling for it makes it sound like i should install upstart, which is absolutely inane ... and not going to happen ... thoughts?

_________________
#aptosid-art ftw!
(what would cleary do?)
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject: RE: frickelplatz wine  PostPosted: 26.02.2011, 11:42



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 497
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
Next upload will not show those lines anymore.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
belzeOffline
Post subject: RE: frickelplatz wine  PostPosted: 20.09.2011, 13:08



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
I resume this post just because its name sounds ok to me.
There is a new bug in wine packaged by towo (upstream, of course). It is Bug 28348 "Age of Empires 2 rendering broken with OpenGL renderer". In the bug's discussion is marked that a commit solves it so this should be fixed in next version towo will package (thanks again!).
In the same post it is suggested to create a key to override opengl default engine
      Quote:
"With the registry key DirectDrawRenderer=gdi everything works as it should."

Even following what they say about creating a new key (as shown in some images) I could not find a way to get it work.
I am not very able with Regedit, never used on windows side, never on wine too. Can someone help me, please?
Thanks in advice.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: frickelplatz wine  PostPosted: 20.09.2011, 23:46
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
If towos next upload includes commit b9fcf71c714e8587def75742f94759d7eca84ad2 (Fri, 16 Sep 2011 15:23:08 +0000 (17:23 +0200))

This *should fix the problem


* your mileage may vary

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
belzeOffline
Post subject: RE: frickelplatz wine  PostPosted: 21.09.2011, 12:02



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
thank you piper,
anyway id like to be able to understand why I cant apply the new key (in the bug's discussion there is another one person with the same issue: crating a new key, than a new string, and nothing happens).
Can anyone tell my where i am wrong?
Thanks!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
der_budOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 21.09.2011, 13:24



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 17
Location: DE
Status: Offline
Don't know how you tried, but the following normally should work:

- Hit Alt+F2 and enter wine regedit to open RegistryEditor
- In the left folder pane open HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\Direct3D\
- (If Direct3D does not exist create that folder)
- Right click in right pane, create new key, name:DirectDrawRenderer, type:REG_SZ, value:gdi

I got this from http://wiki.winehq.org/UsefulRegistryKeys which is a good short reference I sometimes use.

[Hm, just had a look at the bug reports added picture from the guy where it does not work. Everything there looks like it should... weird]

_________________
Du lachst? Wieso lachst du? Das ist doch oft so, Leute lachen erst und dann sind sie tot.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 21.09.2011, 17:33



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
wine worked fine here a few days back from the standard repos.
The machine does nothing now, old desktop lived its life, so do not know now.
It surely did not die due to wine working well.

dpt

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
belzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.09.2011, 09:07



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
      der_bud wrote:

[Hm, just had a look at the bug reports added picture from the guy where it does not work. Everything there looks like it should... weird]

...and I will not post another screenshot to prove you that i have done exactly what i was supposed to, with the same result: it SHOULD work, it does not.
Well, at this point i think i have to ask upstream.
Thank you guys, and again tanks to towo's work.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio