Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
taxilemiOffline
30 Post subject: radeonhd not availabel  PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 00:02



Joined: 2010-11-14
Posts: 6
Location: München
Status: Offline
Hello,

I'm using a Apostid-Installation an a Gigabyte GA-MA785GT-UDH3 Rev.1.0 (BIOS F9b). This is a GT785-based MB with an ATI HD4200-Chip (=RS880) buildon. Only the radeonhd-project will support this chip since 1.2.5 (http://wiki.x.org/wiki/radeonhd), even the chip works with radeon-driver.

Since the last updates the radeonhd driver ist noch longer availblabe in Synaptic and aptitude. My workauround was - having solved the problem with the Xserver (http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=759) to install the radeonhd-driver manually. Download the radeonhd-driver (1.3.0-4) and install with "dpkg -i" works fine, but some dupates later I got the message, that the upgrade of the Xserver will erase the radeonhd driver. In the past I found on debian package search the versions 1.3.0-4, 1.3.0-3 and the older 1.2.1-2, but the last doesn't support the RS880.

Setting radeonhd on hold avoids upgrading the package xserver-xorg-core. I think, this will cause problems in the future.

Any idea to solve the problem? And why the radeonhd-driver is not longer listed in Synatics/aptitude, but you find it in the debian package search (http://packages.debian.org/search?keywords=xserver-xorg-video-radeonhd), but the newer SID will only install the older package (1.2.1-2)?

Greetings from Munich

Ulrich Lehmkühler
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: radeonhd not availabel  PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 00:12



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 724

Status: Offline
radeonhd is dead (replaced by radeon) and won't come back.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
taxilemiOffline
15 Post subject: Things steps forward  PostPosted: 27.02.2011, 16:40



Joined: 2010-11-14
Posts: 6
Location: München
Status: Offline
Ok, I've made look in the radeon man page - and found the RS880 in the list of the supported chipsets. My other radeon manpages (Opensuse 11.3 and Ubuntu Lucid) don't list the RS880, the list ends with the RS780.

In the future I should care, not to overrun by the rolling release system ...Wink

So I can change back to radeon with a good conscience.

Ulrich Lehmkühler
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
taxilemiOffline
22 Post subject: RE: Things steps forward  PostPosted: 03.03.2011, 00:25



Joined: 2010-11-14
Posts: 6
Location: München
Status: Offline
Changing back to radeon is difficult in Aptosid. First, my two Eizo L568 (17'',1280x1024 resolution) are connected to the both available adapters of the HD42000-Chipset of my GA-MA785GT-UDH3 MB. The hardware doesn't support the simultaneous connection of HDMI and DVI, so I have to use the VGA and the DVI-Port.

The VGA-port of the L568 submits only 1360x768 (16:9!!!) as the highest resolution (1152x864 and 1024x768 are also possible) to radeon- and radeonhd-driver, although the monitor can display up to 1600x1200 with the AMD/ATI-drivers,

This seems to be a problem of the radeon drivers, because Opensuse (11.3) has the same behaviour, but not Ubuntu (Lucid). In Opensuse - and also using the radeonhd driver in Aptosid before - I put two lines in the xinitrc:
      Code:
xrandr --newmode "1280x1204_60"  129.25  1280 1368 1504 1728  1204 1207 1217 1249 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1280x1024_60


The radeonhd-driver will recognize the two lines and gives me the possibility to set up the analog monitor to 1280x1024. Actual the two lines will work only in KDE-Console and now I have the Big Desktop (2560x1024) back, if I create a tiny xorg.conf:
      Code:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"                                   
Device "Configured Video Device"
Default Depth 24                                           
    SubSection "Display"
         Depth24                                                 
         Virtual 3840 1200
    EndSubSection                                             
EndSection

I 've not found any other possibility to define a virtual desktop size, because it has to defined an startup of the X-Server. For newbies: The virtual desktop size can be bigger, but not smaller as needed. And without this xorg.conf my virtual desktop is limited to the highest available resolution: 1360x1360 Confused

Ok, if the /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc is in the combination of Aptosid/radeon-driver not the right file, where I have to put the two xrandr-codelines?

Ulrich Lehmkühler
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio