Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
apogarteOffline
Post subject: system freeze on live startup (acer 3100 64x2 AMD 4600+)  PostPosted: 08.03.2011, 00:15



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
hello

sorry if this is not considered a bug but on first trial of aptosid kde lite 2011-01 AND xfce 2011-01 (both i386 not AMD64)from a freshly burned cd i get a black screen instead of x starting on both systems,
and i have to reboot manually (no keyboard control at all)

same computer works fine with a live cd of debian squeeze...(i386)

same cds works fine on other machines (i386)

i have tried no acpi and safe settings no change

well if somebody may pass suggestions... thanks !
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: system freeze on live startup (acer 3100 64x2 AMD 4600+)  PostPosted: 08.03.2011, 00:37



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
could we have some hardware specs?
output of
      Code:
infobash -v3
will do for a start

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: system freeze on live startup (acer 3100 64x2 AMD 46  PostPosted: 08.03.2011, 09:02



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
      devil wrote:
could we have some hardware specs?
output of
      Code:
infobash -v3
will do for a start

greetz
devil


hello devil

i will have to boot from debian then cause aptosid won't
(may be must i try an older version ? is infobash existing on debian ?

since this is a machine i access from far to far (a friend
not too close from my home) i'll give you these infos later on (hum allow me to come back round 2 pm paris time if i can or tonight maybe)

can you tell me what other infos i can grab for you ?)

thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: system freeze on live startup (acer 3100 64x2 AM  PostPosted: 08.03.2011, 10:47



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
well, my guess is, this problem is due to the graphics card. if you know which one is in the box, that might be enough already.
you can boot to init 3 and do all needed commands there, like infobash -v3.
to get to init 3, when booting, do: when grub screen comes, hit 'e'. that will take you to grub editor. now you see a few lines, one of them being the kernel line (ending with 'quiet'. move there and apend a '3'. then hit ctrl-x to boot. in init 3, logon as root and do, besides infobash -v3:
      Code:
aptosid-paste -s codepad -c "cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log"

This will return a URL that you can paste here, so we can look at the logfile.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.03.2011, 11:22
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

...but if it is not yet installed, live-mode in init 3,
then there will be no /var/log/Xorg.0.log... not yet created... 8(
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.03.2011, 12:42



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
hello

i will try to get more infos next time i'll visit my friends wich may be a litle later than planed and i will post the result here from this machine

thanks a lot for your help again i really appreciate
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio